Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mini-Meatballs in Cranberry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mini-Meatballs in Cranberry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2001

      These were the most popular appetizer at Thanksgiving! We were having some vegetarians at our Thanksgiving feast, so I made an extra batch of the cranberry sauce and put in the vegetarian (soy) meatballs from Trader Joe's, and that way everyone was happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2001

      We really enjoyed this recipe. the sauce has a sweeter taste different than a tomato based recipe, but that was what I was looking for. Excellent flavor and easy to make. I made the meatballs and cooked them the day before. Then, when they cooled, I put them in a baggie in the fridge until the next day. They were wonderful and the leftovers reheated well in the microwave. In fact, they just keep getting tastier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2001

      YUM. These were a big hit for our Christmas gathering (so festive!). Used fresh cranberry sauce, and less catsup than was called for (because I didn't have enough) but it worked out fine. Only thing was I didn't realize it called for a crockpot, so I just put it in the oven on low for 20 minutes (until we couldn't wait any longer). They would definately benefit from a slow sit in the sauce though. Thank goodness I got a crockpot for Christmas!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      Absolutely delicious - they all disappeared within seconds. I must say though that I was feeling lazy when I prepared them, so I just prepared the sauce in a large pot, added 2 cups of water and cooked the meatballs directly in the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      My family really enjoyed these meatballs. I did make a mistake because I cut the recipe in half thinking that I would have made too many. Silly me next time I won't make the same mistake..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Although I didn't love these, my guests and husband certainly did! Here's my big caveat on the recipe: 1 1/2 cups of ketchup makes the sauce WAY too ketchup-y! To correct the "error" once I'd already added in the ketchup, I added some cayenne pepper (that gave an extra kick that was good) and also some cranberry relish I had in the fridge. In future, I'd definitely do chili sauce instead of ketchup. Otherwise, the meatballs themselves were delicious and I think I'll make them on their own--or into a meatloaf--another night this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      These were amazing!!! I like everything spicy so I added some red pepper flakes! Yum yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Very good sauce. I used frozen meatballs and everyone loved this. (I put the frozen meatballs right into the crockpot with this sauce and they were ready in 4-5 hours on low.) I had to travel with the ingredients so I omitted the brown sugar and lemon juice. It worked fine, but I'd like to try them sometime to see how it adds to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was a big hit for our mid-day snacks on Christmas. I baked the meatballs about a week in advance and flash-froze. I let them thaw overnight in the refrigerator. In the morning, I mixed the meatballs and sauce, and set the crock-pot on low. They were at a perfect temperature after about 3 hours. I used regular breadcrumbs and dried herbs instead of fresh, and the meatballs were still great, although I may add some salt to the meat mixture next time. We served 9 people for midday snacks, and there were only a few cups of meatballs and sauce left. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I will be making this one all the time. Everyone was fighting over the last few!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I have been making these little gems for years. We call them "Bubby's Meatballs" She has passed away and I am left with her recipes. The only difference is instead of 1 cup of halla, I put in a package of Matzo Ball mixture and a package of onion soup. I also add water by filling the chili sauce bottle to get out all the dregs. Holidays wouldn't be complete without these meatballs on white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I made this for an interior design firm's grand opening. Every one loved them. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Made the sauce for some store bought vegetarian meatballs (needed a quick dinner!) Loved it! Terrific for dipping tatertots in too! Next time I'll use homemade "meatballs" with the seasonings stated but even with shortcuts this was VERY good! Froze half the sauce for next time. Thanks Mirj! UPDATE - Just wanted to say that I took the frozen leftover sauce and (in an emergency) used it for baked chicken - FABULOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I made this for our X-mas appy table. We liked these very much. I used the whole berry sauce and added my homemade chili sauce. My guests liked it and kept going back for more. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

      The meatball recipe is awesome, and with this sauce, you got a winner! I took these to a women's meeting and the recipe was requested by many. Hey, thanks for making a mediocre cook look so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Just used the recipe for the sauce, it was outstanding. Deliciously sweet meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      These were definitely a huge hit at holidays parties! Everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This was very good although I'll have to admit I did make a few changes. I skipped the parsley in the meatballs and replaced the challah breadcrumbs with quick oats (I've generally found oats make the meatballs moister). For the sauce I only used 1C of cocktail sauce. But otherwise this was GREAT! Made the meatballs the night before & then threw it all in the crock that AM. Everyone enjoyed it at our party. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

    • on December 27, 2007

      Used pre-made meatballs and the sauce. No one really raved or commented on them. My husband really did not like them at all. I thought they were just "OK". I used the chili sauce and lemon juice. I most likely will not fix these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mini-Meatballs in Cranberry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2001 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.5
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    30%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 16.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 106.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    challah bread crumbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites