15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fabulous recipe. I used all dark brown sugar and substituted all butter for shortening. I used one bag of m&ms in the dough and then pressed m&ms from a second bag onto the tops of the cookies before baking. Made them turn out very pretty. Watch carefully they are easy to overbake but if watched they are delicious and this batch makes a lot! Pictures of my cookies are at the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolagran April 13, 2010

This recipe had great reviews and I had mini m&ms so I figured I would try it. I followed this recipe almost exactly, just used a little less flour since the consistency was very thick and dry. The cookies were very thick and doughy almost like scones or something. Using all shortening in this recipe gave the cookies a fake, chemical- like taste. They were not very sweet and definitely not indulgent. Chocolate Chip Cookies are a classic that everyone enjoys and these cookies completely miss the mark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2ligirl March 31, 2013

What an easy, excellent recipe! And it makes a ton of cookies. Have to watch and take them out as soon as the edges begin to turn brown. They don't look done but after a minute on the cookie sheet they are!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelergirl2 September 05, 2012

Made these for my son, who lives 3000 km from home. I liked the idea of not using butter, that way they travel better. The addition of m&m's is an added bonus for him. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama September 28, 2010

Loved these!!! Easy and delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo May 07, 2010

Just like the ones you buy at the bakery. I used 1/2 c butter and 1 c shortening, and regular m&ms. My oven cooks hot so they took 9 mins on 350.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom October 29, 2009

My newest favorite cookies recipes! I used large m&ms, and it was good! Next time, i will be using chocolate chips

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hessa September 20, 2008

instant favorites. we made it for members of our family who are away at camp this year! the second time around we substituted 1/2 of the amount of shortening with unsalted butter, and they turned out great. we also used bittersweet chocolate chips AND m&ms for an extra-chocolatey kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3calbears August 10, 2008

I've made this twice now and didn't realize that I hadn't reviewed it yet. This is a great recipe! It makes a lot and I love that because I can freeze some for later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom August 04, 2008

This recipe was overall pretty good. I didn't think it was too sweet like some said, I actually added about 1/4 cup more white sugar and didn't add the last 1/4 cup flour to the dough. They baked evenly and I even got creative on the last batch and added reese's pieces! They taste great! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! August 07, 2007
Mini M&M's (Or Chocolate Chip) Cookies