18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry I had to rate it 3 stars...I made them and they just won't WOW like the other reviewers stated. I expected a WoW and only got a 'meh'. Good recipe thou, they were cripsy on the outside and soft on the inside but def. didn't taste like naan but still was alright with my biryani.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qiyama1 August 18, 2010

I took these to a friend's BBQ along with a crockpot full of chicken tikka masala. Everyone really enjoyed it! It doesn't taste exactly like naan but it's still really yummy! They were all gone by the end of the evening! Thank you for the great recipe. We'll be making these again for sure. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Monkey August 17, 2009

Naan is a great flatbread to serve with any Indian/Middleeastern dish and this one is really good with the garlic! I plan to make this any time I am cooking and Indian dish at my house! I made half a batch and ended up freezing some to have with another meal. We give this 5 stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittanywigginnh April 01, 2009

Made this tonight to go with some Indian food. Fantastic recipe. I subbed the regular flour with whole wheat flour and it tasted just as good. Definitely saving this one for later!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unkie Noid March 24, 2009

i scaled this back to a 16 serve for 4 of us and they were delicious. I didn't use the herbs as we don't like cilantro/coriander and I had no parsley but was considering oregano and sweet basil but it was pouring down rain and I was in too much pain to go pick it. Went with the plain garlic and used the ghee but would consider adding garlic to the dough to bring the garlic flavour out more. Thank you for a great recipe tigerduck, made for the Incredible India tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 17, 2009

Made for Incredible India Tag game. These were fun to make and delicious.I just have a hard time converting metric to Imperial as I still bake in Imperial.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal March 13, 2009

We really enjoyed these, but it didn't really taste like Naan to us. It was a DELICIOUS flat bread though! :-) I melted the butter in the microwave and removed some of the foam on the top before using it. Ghee is not something I normally stock in the house so I am very glad the option not to use it was there. Mine had to bake much longer than 8 minutes, I am honestly not sure how long but I am thinking closer to 15 minutes. I put the cilantro on after 8 minutes (I forgot it) but it is a good thing because I believe it might have burned if it were in there for 15 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I will make it again when I make Chicken Tikka Masala

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy April 21, 2008

This is a great recipe! I had to guesstimate on the ml of water and found a good amount that worked for me (needed it converted to cups). I used butter instead of ghee and it turned out very, very good. Instead of kneading it for step 6, I used my Kitchen Aid and it didn’t take as long, although I kneaded it by hand after it doubled. I found that baking it at 400 degrees worked better for me – got nice and golden brown without having to stay in too long (it took more than 8 minutes for me as well). It was simple to make, and having the option to use butter instead of ghee makes it a recipe where I would normally have all the ingredients on hand. And the taste was excellent! Thanks tigerduck!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dEbBiE_oTaVa March 08, 2008

We had these for dinner and passed out the leftovers to my son's teenage friends who came to visit. Everyone loved them! I left off the minced parsley and coriander, but did sprinkle them with salt before baking. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 April 30, 2007

I will be trying these again and reviewing with stars, because I have a feeling it wouldn't be fair to do so yet- I completely destroyed the recipe! I used part atta flour (isnt' that supposed to be good for flatbreads?) and a little soy flour, which unfortunately was too heavy and stopped them rising much. I alsodidn't have the yogurt or coriander. Though they were were nothing like naan- more like garlic scones- they were really good! (How do you figure 32? I got 13 small "scones"!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child March 18, 2007
Mini Garlic Naan