Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mini Garlic Naan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mini Garlic Naan

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2010

      I'm sorry I had to rate it 3 stars...I made them and they just won't WOW like the other reviewers stated. I expected a WoW and only got a 'meh'. Good recipe thou, they were cripsy on the outside and soft on the inside but def. didn't taste like naan but still was alright with my biryani.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I took these to a friend's BBQ along with a crockpot full of chicken tikka masala. Everyone really enjoyed it! It doesn't taste exactly like naan but it's still really yummy! They were all gone by the end of the evening! Thank you for the great recipe. We'll be making these again for sure. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Naan is a great flatbread to serve with any Indian/Middleeastern dish and this one is really good with the garlic! I plan to make this any time I am cooking and Indian dish at my house! I made half a batch and ended up freezing some to have with another meal. We give this 5 stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Made this tonight to go with some Indian food. Fantastic recipe. I subbed the regular flour with whole wheat flour and it tasted just as good. Definitely saving this one for later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      i scaled this back to a 16 serve for 4 of us and they were delicious. I didn't use the herbs as we don't like cilantro/coriander and I had no parsley but was considering oregano and sweet basil but it was pouring down rain and I was in too much pain to go pick it. Went with the plain garlic and used the ghee but would consider adding garlic to the dough to bring the garlic flavour out more. Thank you for a great recipe tigerduck, made for the Incredible India tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Made for Incredible India Tag game. These were fun to make and delicious.I just have a hard time converting metric to Imperial as I still bake in Imperial.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      We really enjoyed these, but it didn't really taste like Naan to us. It was a DELICIOUS flat bread though! :-) I melted the butter in the microwave and removed some of the foam on the top before using it. Ghee is not something I normally stock in the house so I am very glad the option not to use it was there. Mine had to bake much longer than 8 minutes, I am honestly not sure how long but I am thinking closer to 15 minutes. I put the cilantro on after 8 minutes (I forgot it) but it is a good thing because I believe it might have burned if it were in there for 15 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I will make it again when I make Chicken Tikka Masala

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I had to guesstimate on the ml of water and found a good amount that worked for me (needed it converted to cups). I used butter instead of ghee and it turned out very, very good. Instead of kneading it for step 6, I used my Kitchen Aid and it didn’t take as long, although I kneaded it by hand after it doubled. I found that baking it at 400 degrees worked better for me – got nice and golden brown without having to stay in too long (it took more than 8 minutes for me as well). It was simple to make, and having the option to use butter instead of ghee makes it a recipe where I would normally have all the ingredients on hand. And the taste was excellent! Thanks tigerduck!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      We had these for dinner and passed out the leftovers to my son's teenage friends who came to visit. Everyone loved them! I left off the minced parsley and coriander, but did sprinkle them with salt before baking. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I will be trying these again and reviewing with stars, because I have a feeling it wouldn't be fair to do so yet- I completely destroyed the recipe! I used part atta flour (isnt' that supposed to be good for flatbreads?) and a little soy flour, which unfortunately was too heavy and stopped them rising much. I alsodidn't have the yogurt or coriander. Though they were were nothing like naan- more like garlic scones- they were really good! (How do you figure 32? I got 13 small "scones"!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      All I can say is awsome, had a little trouble with Grams vs cups and ML vs oz but I figured it out, we had this with butter chicken. Wow it is a keeper. we will have this with every indian dish. Thank you Mark

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      this was my first time to make naan - actually my first time to make bread of any kind- and it turned out great! wohoo! Will definately make this recipe again =) Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Oh, Duck, I love these! I too had to fiddle with the amount of flour--but I do not believe it is the recipe--I think Stormy is right--the flour is different from place to place. But all it required was a little extra kneading, sprinkling flour in until the dough felt right. I put the garlic, the parsley and the cilantro into a mini processor and ended up with a lovely fine chop which I mixed into the melted butter. I also sprinkled some kosher salt over the tops of the naas just before putting them in the oven. Really a great recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Mmmm, warm bread, melted butter, garlic, cilantro... These are sooo yummy!! I had the exact opposite problem than most: there was too much flour. The thing is, the amount of gluten in flour varies across the globe, and this is particularly relevant with yeast recipes - so I suggest you always start with a little less than called for: you can always add, but taking away is far more difficult! 375 g flour, for me, resulted in a tougher dough that I would have liked, but it was entirely my fault - I've known the flour thing for ages and just wasn't thinking!! :-) Still, these little garlicky bites turned out delicious!! I'm going to make such a pig of myself tonight... Best get going, they're still warm! Thank you so much for the recipe duck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      I found I had to add about 1 cup more of flour to make the dough. Could be an error in calulating us to metric :) They came out warm and fluffy in the inside but I only got about 10 patties..not 32. Perhaps my were too big? I used the extra butter and garlic to dip them in when baked Well at any any rate they were good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      These are great! I too used my bread machine on dough cycle. Also found that mine did not brown in 5-8 minutes, so I experimented and finally found that 375 degrees for 8 minutes was about right. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This is a great recipe. No matter how many times I tried to botch the batch of naan is still came out delicious. My first mistake was cutting the recipe in half. I used my bread machine dough cycle and when it beeped I had the soupiest mess. But I was persistent and added more flour and let it sit for about 20 minutes. The ball did not seem to grow so I cut the dough into 6 pieces and decided to try it anyway. After sitting for 20 minutes they doubled in size. I baked them for about 15 minutes.... and was SHOCKED to see that my efforts to salvage the recipe worked! This produced some really great tasting Naan. They were light and fluffy on the inside and had a tiny crisp to the outside.... So, for me, this recipe is a 5 because no matter how many times I tried to ruin it.... the end result was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      This was simply great, but I found it much easier when I got to stage 6 to put it in my bread machine and let it do the needing for me! it took a bit longer than stated to cook but the results were lovely - I did divide the dough into two lots and added Garam Masala to one batch, that was great too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mini Garlic Naan

    Serving Size: 1 (727 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    42%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 8.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 73.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites