15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found these to be quite good and tempered what I did based on other reviews. Using 5 whole eggs worked out fine. In fact just enough - Someone said that 2 tbls. of chives was too strong so I only used 1 tblsp. Next time I will use 2 tblsps. - I may have used a "generous" 1/8 tsp. of thyme and found it to be a bit much. Maybe I will I will make it a scant 1/8 tsp. next time. -- I think my pan was on the large side and it only took 15 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam, late bloomer chef October 20, 2012

These are so quick to make once you have prepared the ingredients (dicing & chopping). I used parsley in place of the chives. Made these with 4 eggs in place of the whites and I got 24 mini frittatas. I took these to a meeting and they were devoured, at room temp, in quick time :) Another keeper for me :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T February 18, 2010

My kids loved them. I did need to cook them a bit longer. I used 5 eggs, and I left out the thyme, and they were very good. Great for quick breakfasts. We only liked them hot, though. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessicak61 June 19, 2008

These are DELICIOUS! I made these the night before, took to the office early morning and some ate them cold, some heated them in microwave-all loved them! Some trays included tomatoes, jalapenos, chorizo-so easy to make them your own. Thank you, Dancer^, for a great recipe. Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack October 27, 2008

These were great and used up some extra egg whites I had. I used deli ham and just ripped it up instead of chopping it. I think in the future I will experiment with other ingredients such as bacon or tomatoes. I didn't have fresh chives so I used some dried ones. I found that I could have used even less for the chives as they were a little overwhelming in some of the mini frittitas. All in all these were a great bite size snack that my family enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer October 11, 2008

This was really good. I used 8 eggs, 1 cup onion, 1 cup cheese, 6 slices of bacon finely chopped, 6 mushrooms (cooked with the onions) finely chopped, and some cooked broccoli. Made it in the large muffin containers and baked them for about 30 min. Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. August 21, 2008

These were really good. I used the egg whites. Will be making these again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 02, 2008

I made these to take with us out of town for the holiday weekend. They were wonderful. I used a whole onion, diced, left out the chives and thyme, added garlic powder and more cheese, to some I added some fresh diced jalapeno. I used 7 whole eggs and made these in standard muffin tins. I made 12 and after my PICKY step daughter ate one (picking around the onion) she asked me to make some just for her with the onions left out, now that is high praise! This recipe is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tmisen2980 July 05, 2006

These are easy to make and full of good flavor. Because of personal taste preferences, I omitted the onion, chives, and thyme. I added some salt and used canadian bacon instead of ham (basically the same thing, though). As well as for breakfast, they are lovely to keep in the freezer for an after-work snack. I had to double the recipe to get 24 of them, but maybe I fill my muffin tins fuller than most people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily hauer March 15, 2006

These are delicious! I also used whole eggs, and ended up making them in regular sized muffing tins. We all enjoyed them so much. Thanks for posting Dancer!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ October 15, 2005
Mini Frittatas With Ham & Cheese