Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ming's Perfectly Simple Coconut Sorbet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ming's Perfectly Simple Coconut Sorbet

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2011

      Opinion of recipe: Fairly tasty, though for me it is a bit too sweet and there is too much shredded coconut. WIth the given proportions the mouth feel is very much the shredded coconut - I prefer a smoother sorbet with some coconut in it.

      Technique: Two simplifcations for getting the temp down:
      1) Cook the sugar and shredded coconut with only 1 can of coconut milk. After the sugar is melted and incorporated and the shredded coconut has absorbed some liquid, remove from the heat and then add the second can. This will help bring the temp down.
      2) Assuming you have high quality cookware that can handle it (or lousy cookwear that you dont mind warping), place the pot in an icewater bath and stir occassionally until cool. This is much faster than putting it in the fridge and doesnt heat up the refridgerator (which endangers the other food in the fridge.)

      Two additional notes:
      1) I tested the liquid with a refractometer and got a reading of almost 30 degrees brix (aka 30% sugar.) [Note that there are issues using my refractometer with opaque liquids.] Thus, the sugar can be reduced significantly without impacting crystal formation.
      2) Remember to shake your cans of coconut milk before using in this recipe to thoroughly mix the "cream" into the more liquid part of the milk. [For many Thai recipies you would NOT want to do this as you often want the cream and liquid separate.]

      Optional modification: For an additional twist, add sweet basil seeds (soaked in water). These are available at Thai grocery stores. They add an interesting surprise look and feel to the white coconut sorbet.

      MrAndrew

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      For someone who doesn't like coconut - man this was great! We followed the recipe to the letter, but used moist flaked coconut so the texture was great for us. Off to lick the icream maker bowl again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Lovely coconut flavor. I only had one can of coconut so used half and half for the other one. Very easy to do and went great with our Asian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      so easy and delicous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Very good!! Coconut lovers will enjoy this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Delicious and decadent! I followed the directions to the letter, and the result was perfection. (BTW: this recipe yielded almost a quart, rather than a pint.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This was good but we thought it was a little rich. I think next time we will try to add some water so it has a little more of a sorbet feel to it. We also only added 1/4 cup of coconut and next time probably will leave that out. It was really good with fresh strawberries on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I halved this recipe and used half and half for the coconut milk, and also did not heat the mixture. Since we do not have an ice cream maker, I sealed up all the ingredients into a quart size zip lock bag, then put that into a gallon size bag filled with ice and ice cream salt. I then shook the bag for about 20 minutes, and had instant ice cream. The flavor of the coconut is grand! Next up.... Coconut Popsicles! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I love this sorbet! It couldn't be simpler. I added some chunks of mango as the mixture started to thicken in the ice cream maker. Served Cinnamon Wontons alongside. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      MMMMM really good! I'm lazy so I just dissolved the sugar in the coconut milk without heating. It worked fine. I also added some lime juice from 3 large limes, about 2/3 cup, and it turned out really well. There might be a tad too much shredded coconut, but might just be my taste ... definitely recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I made this sorbet for our church ice cream social (which was rained out and thus cancelled). So, our family enjoyed every last bit of it. We loved it. This time, I'm going to add 1/4 cup of lime juice to a double batch. I know it'll be scrumptious. Thanks for a great recipe for our lactose free family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Fabulous!!! Light, creamy, and SO SIMPLE!! Tried this with blue Ginger Aisan Banana Split (recipe 170450). Great stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ming's Perfectly Simple Coconut Sorbet

    Serving Size: 1 (1162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4537.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1705
    37%
    Total Fat 189.5 g
    291%
    Saturated Fat 176.7 g
    883%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 676.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 723.2 g
    241%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 701.9 g
    2807%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes