Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Minestrone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minestrone

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2002

      This soup was delicious. The only change I made was to substitute fresh green beans (2 cups sliced)for the cabbbage. The addition of the dry white wine was a real plus, and added a depth to the flavor of the broth. Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      25 reviews and no photos?! Sad... I'll fix that. :) Excellent recipe! I doubled the kidney beans and tomatoes. Added a little extra wine. Didn't have celery, so I increased the amount of carrots. Ommitted the garbanzoes and spinach. Added fresh green beans. I'm freezing the leftovers, so I cooked the pasta (mini shells) seperately. Will add when serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      this sounds very similar to Olive Gardens recipe. But hint to everyone, don't add pasta till ready to serve, but it needs to be cooked pasta. otherwise, soup will be thick. (I worked at OG for 4 yeasr and have amde the soup numerous times, but have forgotten the specific recipe ,< )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Outstanding! I too traded the garbanzo beans for Great Northern, and I cut the recipe in half. I also opted to cook the pasta separately, then add as served. Easy prep work too. Have been looking for a good Minestrone for a long time. I'm done looking! Thank You Joy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      This soup hit the spot tonight. It made a ton, I'm hoping it freezes well. I added some fresh green beans, mushrooms and left out the chickpeas. It was filling and satisfying. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      Excellent. I added more carrots, celery and used some fresh tomatoes in place of the canned (which I was a little short on). Also, cooked a lot longer at a simmer and didn't add the cooked pasta (I used Ditalini) until serving. I cooked the pasta separate and tossed in olive oil so it wouldn't stick together. I also added some balsamic vinegar to my own bowl. This came together nicely and used up a lot of the veggies from the garden. This makes a lot, I plan on freezing half of it for a rainy day. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      This is a forgiving recipe, i had turnip, no cabbage, and collard green no spinach, and did not add pasta, and it was tasty, if you use turnip gr. remove stem as they are tough. I will add pasta next time as it stretches out the servings, this cld. easily be halved - will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

    • on August 04, 2009

      This is delicious. I've made it many times, which is a testament to how good it is. Usually, I follow the recipe, only cooking the pasta separate. When I once ran out of pasta, I threw some couscous in at the last moment, and that was really good too. Also saves the step of cooking the pasta separately to keep it from getting mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Hi Joy, I love Olive Garden's minestrone soup. This is very similar and my family enjoyed your recipe. I forgot to add the pasta and didn't realize it until I was serving it to my family. Even without the pasta, I didn't feel like the soup was missing anything! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

    • on October 05, 2008

      For 20 + years now I have been looking for a recipe that tasted like this one, tried many and was never able to duplicate my old neighbors soup and this was it! The only thing I did different (due to what I had on hand) was use two bags of Wegmans Minestrone Veggies, precut (I prob wont use them again though since there were potatoes in it) and I didn't have any tomato juice so I skipped that, but I think it would have been a good addition and wish I had it. Fabulous recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This is fabulous! Makes a lot though. I have enough to freeze for another meal. Because of this I didn't add the pasta to all of the soup but split the soup in two and froze 1/2 without pasta. Will add the pasta when I reheat the frozen soup. I used butter beans in place of the garbanzo beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This was so easy & soooooo tasty!!!! I am vegetarian so used veget. stock & will add a cup more vegetable stock next time. I would also only cook for a further 15mins. after adding pasta. Well worth making, TASTY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Made this today and it was very good. I will be serving at my family christmas party on the 14th and I am sure it will be a total success. Thank you. Glo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I first made this recipe months ago and didn't rate it. I have made this so many times. My husband likes beans and ham. The next day I use the remains for the minestrone soup. I always vary the veggys, but it doesn't matter... the soup is always terrific. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      I made this a few weeks ago and it turned out wonderful. I added a couple of diced turkey sausages while sauteeing the onions and that gave it a nice flavor. I also added some green beans. I only used 1/2 cup of wine since that's all I had on hand. I am watching my carb intake so I left out the pasta. Thanks for sharing your recipe. The soup was very satisfying. I am looking forward to making it again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I scaled it back some as the recipe makes a huge amount and used a combination of kale, cabbage and green beans for the cabbage. I was divine. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Fantastic! Used green beans instead of cabbage and apple juice instead of white wine. I put it in the crockpot and let it simmer - wonderful smell and the soup was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      This smelled so good cooking. I cooked it at work right in my nesco. The smelled went through out the building. I made one small change and used great northern beans instead of the garbonzo beans (had the northern on hand). Followed everything else to a tee. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Minestrone

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.8
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    11%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 794.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes