Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mimi's Whoopie Pie Filled Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mimi's Whoopie Pie Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2010

      OH MY GOODNESS! I am a treat snob and generally pooh pooh what I find, but this recipe can't be beat. I even registered on Food.com just to review this recipe! These are the very, very best cupcakes I have ever made or even tasted. I had heard legend of the cooked milk whoopie pie filling, but couldn't grasp what I was hearing. What, no Fluff? Why bother? I was sooooo wrong. Now that I've had this, I will never go back. I feel about this filling as I feel about getting air conditioning in a car, or a dog that doesn't shed. This cream filling is to die for, the cakes themselves are moist and chocolatey. THIS is a great recipe, a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Sooooo good! This recipe was very easy to follow and turned out great. These look like a lot more time went into them than actually did. I followed the recipe exactly, even though I was a little leery of the coffee. I had the sugar and shortening mixing while I stirred the milk and flour (which took about 9 minutes to form the paste). The cream really tasted like the Hostess Cupcake filling, but was a little thinner, but this might have been because I didn't know exactly how thick my paste should be. I even made a batch of mini cupcakes with the left over batter, and I cooked them about 7 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Super tasty! I used butter in place of the shortening but kept the rest as written and they turned out GREAT! Neither the cake nor the icing is too sweet, and they come together nicely. Even my husband, who is not a big fan of icing, liked them. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I have been making these for a while now and I am finally getting around to rating the recipe. They are a huge hit at our house. I bake the cupcakes and let the kids fill them, they love it. But usually after filling one or two, they have to stop and eat one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I was hesitant about the coffee, like the other reviewers, making the batter runny but it turned out fine. I doubled the filling recipe and smeared the top of the cupcakes with it. Eat them fast because they go stale quick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Yum, yum, yum...these were great! Can't wait to take them somewhere to share. I made my filling with butter because I don't like Crisco and it was so fluffy and wonderful! Some who prefer very sweet icing may like it sweeter or may prefer to add chocolate icing to the top of the cupcake to make it like a hostess (but better, of course). For me, who doesn't like sickeningly sweet icing, it was perfect! Thanks for the great recipe : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Mimi, I loved your Woopie Pie recipe and at your request I made these to try too, as you said they were so good. Well, you were right! They are darn good :) My kids snached them up every time they came into the kitchen, and they were gone in no time flat! Thanks for the tip for this recipe. They went over big in my house and I will be making these and your Woopie Pies often, as we loved them both!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Yummmm! These were so good. The batter seems very thin but the cupcakes bake up just the way I like them, dark chocolate and very moist. Mine baked just right at 15 mins. I found out it was easier to fill them if you put them back in the cupcake tins that way they don't move around on you. The kids are going to love these. Thanks Mimi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      LOVED these! Very good just like that named brand cupcake! My daughters loved filling them and watching them "crack"!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      i must admitt when i added the coffee in the recipe i feared it was ruined. but it turned out great. yum!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      As is I'd give this recipe 3 stars, but I really like the idea. The filling I refused to make because all shortening and no butter always yields and off frosting to me. I made my own based on my mom's old whoopie pie recipe. The chocolate cake is really moist, but needs more salt. It's VERY bland. Next time I'll add a measurable amount of salt 1/4 - 1/2 tsp. would likely bring out the chocolate flavor much more. All in all a good starting point, but I think it needed a little tweeking. Thanks for sharing... I like the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Sigh...these are dreamy!!!! I used my Pamered Chef Easy Accent decorater to fill the cupcakes. They were a hit at our girls' night in! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      The chocolate cupcake was great. Light and airy, just like a cupcake should be. But the filling....sorry but I had one taste and got rid of it. I iced the cupcakes with chocolate frosting instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      These were wonderful! Tasted like a little whoopie pie! The batter was a lot runnier than I thought it would be, but then it baked up nicely in about 12 minutes (my oven runs hot). My whole family loved these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      cake is wonderful, but the taste of the filling wasn't what I expected. Texture was great, smooth and creamy but flavor just wasn't it. I will try again but maybe with a little flavor tweek to the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, so moist, and delightful. Sonja Long-Lambie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Five stars plus! The addition of coffee was new to me too but these are outstanding cupcakes; a hit with everyone who's tried them. I'll be doing quite often judging by how fast they went. TFS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Fabulous!!! I made them and shared with our neighbors who also thought they were great. I think they taste like hoho's. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      These were a hit! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mimi's Whoopie Pie Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 26

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.0
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    45%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 16.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 138.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 23.1 g
    92%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites