19 Reviews

OH MY GOODNESS! I am a treat snob and generally pooh pooh what I find, but this recipe can't be beat. I even registered on Food.com just to review this recipe! These are the very, very best cupcakes I have ever made or even tasted. I had heard legend of the cooked milk whoopie pie filling, but couldn't grasp what I was hearing. What, no Fluff? Why bother? I was sooooo wrong. Now that I've had this, I will never go back. I feel about this filling as I feel about getting air conditioning in a car, or a dog that doesn't shed. This cream filling is to die for, the cakes themselves are moist and chocolatey. THIS is a great recipe, a real keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa August 29, 2010

Sooooo good! This recipe was very easy to follow and turned out great. These look like a lot more time went into them than actually did. I followed the recipe exactly, even though I was a little leery of the coffee. I had the sugar and shortening mixing while I stirred the milk and flour (which took about 9 minutes to form the paste). The cream really tasted like the Hostess Cupcake filling, but was a little thinner, but this might have been because I didn't know exactly how thick my paste should be. I even made a batch of mini cupcakes with the left over batter, and I cooked them about 7 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Milocat March 02, 2010

Super tasty! I used butter in place of the shortening but kept the rest as written and they turned out GREAT! Neither the cake nor the icing is too sweet, and they come together nicely. Even my husband, who is not a big fan of icing, liked them. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Shimmy Cook June 06, 2008

I have been making these for a while now and I am finally getting around to rating the recipe. They are a huge hit at our house. I bake the cupcakes and let the kids fill them, they love it. But usually after filling one or two, they have to stop and eat one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop August 19, 2012

I was hesitant about the coffee, like the other reviewers, making the batter runny but it turned out fine. I doubled the filling recipe and smeared the top of the cupcakes with it. Eat them fast because they go stale quick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2redheads #2 September 08, 2008

Yum, yum, yum...these were great! Can't wait to take them somewhere to share. I made my filling with butter because I don't like Crisco and it was so fluffy and wonderful! Some who prefer very sweet icing may like it sweeter or may prefer to add chocolate icing to the top of the cupcake to make it like a hostess (but better, of course). For me, who doesn't like sickeningly sweet icing, it was perfect! Thanks for the great recipe : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pondinthecountry June 08, 2008

Mimi, I loved your Woopie Pie recipe and at your request I made these to try too, as you said they were so good. Well, you were right! They are darn good :) My kids snached them up every time they came into the kitchen, and they were gone in no time flat! Thanks for the tip for this recipe. They went over big in my house and I will be making these and your Woopie Pies often, as we loved them both!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids May 09, 2008

Yummmm! These were so good. The batter seems very thin but the cupcakes bake up just the way I like them, dark chocolate and very moist. Mine baked just right at 15 mins. I found out it was easier to fill them if you put them back in the cupcake tins that way they don't move around on you. The kids are going to love these. Thanks Mimi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilysmom March 10, 2008

LOVED these! Very good just like that named brand cupcake! My daughters loved filling them and watching them "crack"!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Oneredcent March 09, 2008

i must admitt when i added the coffee in the recipe i feared it was ruined. but it turned out great. yum!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sayhitnrun June 03, 2005
Mimi's Whoopie Pie Filled Chocolate Cupcakes