Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mimi's Sour Cream Twists Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mimi's Sour Cream Twists

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2009

      We loved this recipe. I have made this twice already and this last time I made it my twists came out perfect. After spreading the cinnamon/sugar combo on the rectangle I folded the dough once as indicated in the recipe. I cut the strips and then I folded each strip in half again and twisted on both ends, gently pulling to stretch. I also only used 1 tsp of butter on top of the dough. Otherwise, followed as written. This time around I made an orange glaze to put on top of the baked twists. I mixed 2 cups of powdered sugar with 1/4 cup orange juice and added zest to the mixture. Loved the result. Thanks mini for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      These are heavenly! I shared my freshly-baked batch with neighbors who loved them just as we did. I stopped at 2 3/4 cups flour and later formed fourteen extra-large twists which were baked on two cookie sheets. Next time I'll bake the twists on parchment paper to keep them very light on the bottom. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      My grandchildren always ask me to make these when they come over to stay. I have to agree with them, they are delish! For variation, sometimes I mix in chopped nuts with the glaze. Great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I dont know why I have such a love/hate relationship with yeast doughs. I seem to really want to try to master them but I usually fail. This time I did A-OK with not killing the yeast and rising ability/patience in the dough. I had to add A LOT more flour, like at least a cup more, my dough was just ridiculously sticky and gooey. I don't know if this affected the flavor, as I am sure it did, but the flavor just wasn't there for me. I felt it was a lot of work for something I felt I could have gotten from frozen bread dough. The kids enjoyed them and they kept well on a recent camping trip I had made them for to bring for breakfast addition. I WILL attempt to make again however because when it comes to yeast doughs, I am a masochist ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      I prefer this recipe over the ones that call for shortening butter, less sour cream and more eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      What a great recipe! I have made this many, many times and every time I get the best compliments! I make these into mini twists that about finger length and they are great at parties - just the right size for carrying around. I am helping a friend with her mother's 80th birthday party later this month and will make these twists - some with sultanas, some with grated apple, some with chopped pecans and some just as the recipe states. Definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

    • on July 17, 2009

      Breakfast time couldn't be better when your having one of these with a nice cup of ice coffee! Soft, and sweet and everything you are looking for to wake you up and put a smile on your face! Yum Te Dum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      These are right at the top of my list to make again soon. They are a surefire favorite at my house already! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I saw this and knew I HAD to make them and soon! What a great idea for breakfast for DH and I. We loved them so much that DH asked me to please make up a batch to bring into the office for the girls to try out! I guess you know that's a compliment coming from him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      These were SO good! I had company and wanted to make something good for brunch. These fit the bill and were totally enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      The whole family went bonkers for these! What a great treat these were!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      These are true pleasure to our taste buds Mimi! My DD's informed me that I can make them a couple of times a week! I guess you know how much they loved them! I have to agree they are awesome! I loved the tenderness of the dough and the sweetness of the glaze along with the cinnamon. These are going in my favorites to be made again and again and enjoyed each time too! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Don't laugh at me but I couldn't do the twists :( I tried and tried. They kept unrolling themselves and stretch out of porpotion. I gave up so I just made them into cinnamon rolls instead. I baked them at 375 for 20 minutes. OMG!!! the bread is so tender, soft and just so good. This is a keeper recipe. I will do it again and the next time, I will attempt the twist again. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. And if you have any tips on how to successful make them into twists, I would appreciate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      These are a special sweet treat that was enjoyed by every member of my household! We had them for breakfast, but they would be good any time of day. These are great to make when company is coming for the weekend, or for the holidays when you want something a little special to serve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Excellent! We enjoyed every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      These are wonderful! Soft and flavorful and very cute. The dough was easy to work with and the glaze is really good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Just excellent! I too could not get all the flour in I had to stop at about 2 3/4 cups of flour. Personally, I cannot see how anyone could over bake these, It was all I could do to just wait for them go the alloted time of 12 minutes. They are so soft and so good. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      These are terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mimi's Sour Cream Twists

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    30%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 133.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites