Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mimi's Raspberry Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mimi's Raspberry Scones

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2011

      Excellent scones, and chock full of berries mmm! I used fresh picked and washed raspberries in these scones which at first seemed like it might have been a mistake (I had frozen raspberries in the freezer but opted for fresh as I had just picked them that morning!) The dough was a little sticky at first, but after moving it to the cutting board I pressed in extra flour around the disc until it firmed up. To my surprise, they came out perfect! Be sure to try one warm from the oven, so delicious. Still tasty the next day but a little more cakey after the berries have had time to rest. Thank you, Mimi! [Made for The All You Can Cook Buffet]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      I've been testing scone recipes for the past few months, and this one is the best yet! I used whole wheat flour, frozen raspberries and added orange zest to the batter and sprinkled a bit of white sugar on top of the glaze. These are literally the best scones I've made%u2014and I've made a lot! I can't wait to make tweaks and try other berries and flours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I followed the recipe as given, but I did sprinkle a little sugar on the tops of the scones after adding the egg wash. I really like the texture, and the scones cooked up to a beautiful golden brown. Although I liked the taste overall, I felt it needed to be sweeter. I'd definately make these again, but I'll try adding a bit more sugar to the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      These were absolutely some of the best tasting scones I have ever made! I have always steered clear of raspberry scones in the past.....for some reason I thought they would be difficult because of the fragility of the raspberries. I read the other reviews before making these and made a few little changes based on the reviews. I added about 1-2 T. extra sugar and 1 T. of orange zest. I also made a little glaze that I drizzled over them after they came out of the oven with 1/2 c. of confectioners sugar and a little juice from the orange. I baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.They were phenomenal. One thing I would note is that the dough was very wet but this did not affect the outcome of the scone. Just more wet than I am used to working with when making scones. I will be making these often. In fact, I am making another slight variation of them today. I did not have raspberries so I used 1 cup of blueberries and lemon zest instead of orange. I also added just a little lemon juice to my cream. I just sprinkled the top with a little sugar and some cinnamon. They are in the oven right now and I would be shocked if they weren't also delicious. The dough wasn't nearly as wet but more of a consistency that I am use to working with when making scones. I baked them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes as well.<br/>Well, delicious as suspected! Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      For the love of scones, don't double the sugar... they turned out way too sweet and formlessly crumbly, even with extra wet ingredients. ;_;
      A few strawberries were added in, since I could only get a handful of raspberries from my garden, and canned milk was substituted for cream, so that no doubt changed things. But they were a hit with my family otherwise. Just follow the recipe exactly. (Yeah, that's obvious.) XD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      These scones have entirely too much baking powder. I reduced by half and it was plenty. The sugar needs to be doubled. Tasteless without more sugar. Also, no need to knead. :) Mix all gently and thoroughly and drop by large spoonfuls onto baking sheet. Makes 12.
      Also, great idea for the double baking pans to avoid over browning on bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      A little extra butter doesn't hurt and try some orange zest too for a slightly added tang. Awesome Mimi, thanks.
      Edmonton, Alberta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I made this with half whole wheat flour, yogurt instead of cream, and blackberries. So far so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I loved these. I was concerned that the fresh raspberries would end up mush, but I folded carefully and they held up well. I followed the recipe to a "T" which is really rare for me. ;) I did sprinkle with a little sugar after the egg wash because I like the sweet crunch on top. I can't wait until I pick blueberries so I can try them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Fantastic!! Great use of the fresh berries overflowing in my garden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      meh. :-/ they were okay, but kinda dry and bland. Maybe I'm not a fan of scones, and didn't realize it until I tried this recipe. They just tasted like a big giant lump of white flour to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These turned out really good, despite the fact that I should have followed directions better. The problem I had was with cutting them on the pan and not separating them before baking. (And that's not what the directions said to do, but of course I knew better. lol.) So I did have to bake them longer and they were still a little gushy in the middle. That's fine! Just cut out the middle! (Or follow directions!) I did use milk instead of cream and 1/2 raspberries and 1/2 blueberries because that was all the raspberries I had. Really good and my somewhat-picky 5yo said, "make these again, Mom." Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Great! - made it with frozen blackberries (don't let them thaw)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I was drooling when I took these out of the oven and couldnt wait to dig in. Smothered with butter, these are really yummy and made us a great change for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Full of berries and simply delicious! Breakfast is fast becoming more enjoyable with these scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Your right Mimi, they ARE delicious! I made them the first time with raspberries, but have since made them with blueberries and blackberries too. My whole family looks forward to me making them, and I love them too! Thank you for another great breakfast recipe for my family and I!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      After finding this recipe DH and I couldn't wait to try these, so I made them for Christmas morning. You want to talk about good, these are great!!! Hands down a new favorite around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Mmmmm....these are fabulous! I made them today, as I had some whipping cream to use up. I love the addition of the vanilla. I also did not use the egg wash and just sprinkled with turbinado sugar. I baked them in a 400 degree oven for about 18 minutes. Perfect and absolutely delicious! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      These are so good they have you hitting the dish more than once! What an awesome breakfast we had! I never had made scones before and this is the recipe I chose to try try them out. You can bet your bottom dollar they will be made for many moons to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Mimi you ROCK!! these are fabulous!! I love the fact that there are endless possibilities to them....I made a black raspberry white chocolate scone and have a cinnamon chip with struesel topping baking in the oven right now. the customers at my work are going to go nuts over them...my neighbors sure did! thank you so very much for sharing your recipe!!! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mimi's Raspberry Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.3
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    49%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 92.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 228.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites