Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mimi's Cornmeal English Muffin Bread--For Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mimi's Cornmeal English Muffin Bread--For Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2010

      Outstanding bread. I love the taste and the texture. I did sub an extra 1/2 cup of cornmeal like one reviewer proposed and it worked fine. It rose to the top of my machine and I thought it was going to raise the lid but fortunately it didn't. I will definately make again. I'm looking forward to toast in the morning made with this bread. Thanks Mimi, for this great bread recipe, it's a keeper.

      UP-DATE~~~~ I used this bread for toast every day since I made it and it is the best toast I've ever eaten. In the past I've always eaten my toast dry because I don't care for soggy toast, now I can eat it with butter and have the crispiest, crunchiest toast ever. It's absolutely delicious. Please try Mimi's english muffin bread, you won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Wonderful bread. I wanted something with a little more corn flavor; I might swap an additional 1/2 cup of corn meal for flour next time. I made it in the Kitchen-Aid; I just mixed it all together then let it knead for about 5 minutes. I let it rise, punched it down, let it rise again, formed it into a boule, let it rise again, then baked it at 350F for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I made the large loaf on the dough cycle of my bread machine then baked @375 35 min in my oven. Turned out perfectly. I used yellow cornmeal and it tasted superior to english muffin bread that I had purchased previously. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I have an Oster bread machine. I made this to the letter and checked the dough during the process. I noticed my bread was obviously too wet as it was almost a batter consistency and the blade was swirling, but not much kneading going on. I started adding cornmeal a tablespoon at a time, ended up adding about 8 more tablespoons. My end product on my dough cycle was still slightly wet, but "doable". I added a little flour and into the pan it went to rise for an hour and then baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. In the end, my husband (big muffin bread lover) loves the bread and is looking forward to toast and peanut butter in the morning! Thanks for an awesome recipe and I'll continue tweaking until it is just right for my machine. ;)<br/><br/><br/>Update: I made this again using 1 1/4 cups of water and it turned out beautifully! My husband is completely thrilled that we are now making his favorite - english muffin bread. I have an Oster Bread Machine with 1.5 and 2.0 loaf options, but we are baking the large loaf in the oven at 350 after letting it rise in the loaf pan for one hour. This recipe makes a single (large) loaf. Make this and you will be glad you did!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      I tried the medium loaf and had the same problem as others - too runny. I added about a half cup more of cornmeal.<br/><br/>My wife doesn't like this - says it might need sugar - but for my taste, this is what cornbread should taste like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Just gotta give this 5 stars! Made it to go with a pot of soup - it was the perfect match - a firm bread with lots of flavor that stood up to sopping up the broth. Toasted it the next morning and Wow! It was excellent toasted :) We'll be making this again Mimi from Maine - Thanks! (Update - realized that I had reviewed but not rated this so came back and added 5 stars for an excellent recipe).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Excellent tasting bread and even better toasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      I'm not going to rate this because something went seriously wrong when I made this recipe and it may have been my own fault. First, I made it in my bread machine on the dough setting. When the cycle was finished, I didn't have dough but batter. It was runny like a cake batter. I had to add quite a bit of flour before it could be handled. ( Nothing was said about the dough being runny in the directions, so I assume it's supposed to be more like the average dough.) I then baked it in a 350 oven for 30 min. and while it turned out ok, it lacked some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Love this bread! it's better than english muffins. The corn meal makes it a tad sweeter and best part of all even after toasted and buttered it stays crunchy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Followed the recipe and it turned our wonderfully. The only thing I would change I made the large loaf and it was a little too big for my bread machine. Oh and I did throw it into my KitchenAid and let it to all the kneading for me. DH just had a toasted piece with a poached egg on it for breakfast, he says excellent! Yes, no comparison to the store bought bread as Chef426229 stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      I made the "medium" loaf and loved it! I have a bread machine that makes the traditional shape loaf of bread and it turned out beautifully. I had to use white cornmeal too since it's all I had on hand. Just wonderful - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      First, I must tell you I'm so pleased to be the first one to make and review this recipe. I made this on 7/20/08.The recipe was made as it was written for the large loaf.It was a very easy recipe to follow, I did however have to use white cornmeal instead of the yellow, since that's all I had.But I don't think it affected the taste or texture at all. But next time this is made I'm going to just use the dough cycle and then finish it off in the oven. I didn't care for the shape of the bread after it came out of the machine. I toasted a couple of slices , and added some margarine and jam. It was a very good and hearty bread, and will be made again. Thank you for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mimi's Cornmeal English Muffin Bread--For Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.2
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    20%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 269.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites