Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mimi's Cafe Buttermilk Spice Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mimi's Cafe Buttermilk Spice Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2002

      Miller, these were wonderful muffins!!! The recipe made 12 (standard size pan) huge muffins! The crowns were really big--the best I've ever made! They were light, moist, and fluffy, and the topping was a really nice addition. The spices were a great combo, and I'm thinking that you could add chopped apples, or blueberries. This is the kind of muffin I always TRY to make, but the other "bakery style" recipes don't cut it! Thanks for sharing! If you have any others like this, please share those, as well!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      Due to the fact that I was able to read leeannr’s glowing review of these muffins just before I made them myself I had an opportunity to experiment a wee bit with the tin size. My 12-c. tins are rather ancient and have a somewhat smaller capacity than is currently ‘fashionable’. I had mental images of tops flowing together and making the muffins almost impossible to get out of my all to likely to stick (as opposed to non stick)tins. The resulting mess would hardly suitable for guest fare. I used two six-celled popover tins and still the muffins filled them amply, without loosing that oh-so-desirable peaked top. The muffins themselves were moist and light and the texture and flavour were excellent. With the addition of the topping they were definitely decadent. Unfortunately i will not be able to comment as to whether they remain moist when stored for a day or two...I will be lucky if they last the day. Thank you Miller,I'm looking forward to making this recipe time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      These muffins were nice. They had a lovely, light texture and a crunchy, toasted nut topping.I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans instead and increased the cinnamon to 1 teas. I found that despite the fact they were light and moist, they were still lacking something. I think next time I'll add 1/8 teaspoon of ginger and cloves and some raisins to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Mine were a bit dry, too, but I overcooked them. I think. They still had wonderful flavor =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I just made these & they really are very good. Mine were a little dry so I cooked my 2nd batch a couple of minutes less made it 19mins I haven't tried them yet but I will let you know

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Very good muffins, though mine were a bit dry after only 18 minutes in the oven, so I would suggest watching the time (I made regular-sized muffins). The tops were wonderful, as other reviewers have noted, but the muffin itself was not quite sweet or spicy enough for my taste. Still a great recipe and a must if you are not a sugar addict like me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Okay, I've made these muffins 3 times now, and feel I finally perfected them with some tweaking. I had the same experience as others with muffins being dry, dense, and not sweet enough when baking exactly as recipe calls for. What I did was reduce flour to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 c sugar more, rounded the measurements of spices for more flavor, plus added 1 tsp of vanilla. I made sure to add wet ingredients to dry and just gently hand-mixed. I baked for 5 mins. at 420 then reduced heat to 375 for 20 mins. more. I used quick oats instead of walnuts in the topping and brushed them with a bit of egg white to help keep the topping from coming off all over during baking. Came out delicious!! Light, moist, airy, fluffy with shiny, slightly browned, sweet tops. Fantastic!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Loved them ...just like mimi's cafe. Next time I'll make half of the topping cuz I had way too much left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This was exactly Mimi's - I was blown away and so was my family. I did change the nuts as I don't like walnuts and I used pecans instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      The tops were plenty sweet but it seemed like the inside of the muffin wasn't as sweet as Mimi's. As far as flavor they turned out great, just the right amount of spice. I didn't have any walnuts for the topping so I replace them with 1 cup of quick oats which gave a nice texture to the top. Next time I may increase the sugar to 1 1/2 cups or 1 cup white, 1/2 cup brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      These muffins taste just like the ones served at Mimi's cafe! They are best served warm with a little butter. Yes, they are full of calories but they're worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      just like mimi's! me and my husband loved these at the restaurant and were so excited to see the recipe posted. however, next time I will use a rounded teaspoon of nutmeg to give it more of th spice that mimi's have. But thank you so much for the recipe...we will be making them time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      We make these every holiday season and the whole family just begs for them! They have always come out light and fluffy unless they are overcooked...And the house really does smell just amazing when they are cooking. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I made these for breakfast for some friends. They were pretty good. A little dry for me. However, we really liked the topping. I think everyone else liked them, because they disappeared fast. Thank you very much for posting this recipe. I may try adding some kind of fruit to it in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I just made these and I am so disappointed. They do not taste like Mimi's to me. They are coarse, not light. I am going to make another batch tomorrow and see if I can figure out what happened.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I made these for a work retreat and everyone loved them. Very moist and as good as the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      I used whole wheat flour instead, of all purpose. I am looking forward to trying them with apple like leeannr suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mimi's Cafe Buttermilk Spice Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.9
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    40%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 134.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 493.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 52.3 g
    209%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes