Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Millionaires Shortbread or Creamy Caramel and Oat Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Millionaires Shortbread or Creamy Caramel and Oat Squares

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2013

      I made a batch of these late last night (along with another treat), to take to a holiday party this evening. It appears that I will have to make more today... (it seems as though the "gremlins" must have found them over night). When reading the prior reviews, I decided that I could sub brown sugar for the Muscovado, and it worked just fine. Mine don't look nearly as pretty as some pics posted on this recipe, but they do taste wonderful! Well, I'm off to make my next batch (and this time I will hide them). Thanks for posting. "Happy Holidays". (Made for PRMR)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This is a great cookie. I used brown sugar in place of muscovado. I also appreciate all the info from other reviewers. It was really helpful. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Excellent squares!! I used brown sugar as well, and baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. Watch your caramel - it turns dark super quick! Mine was salvagable, with a luscious creme caramel flavour. I absolutely love the crust on this bar, it's divine and had us running to the kitchen well before the squares had set! Thanks for posting this favourite, Noo! Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I made this for the DS to take it to his music recreation group and they loved it. I used brown sugar in place of muscovado and baked the base at 170C in a fan forced oven for 23 minutes. Thank you Noo, made for PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Loved the blend of flavours and textures in these three layers. So easy to make and so much more delicious than various caramel slices I've bought from several different upmarket patissieries. Really appreciated the tip in step 5. When a recipe is this yummy, I know that I'll be making it again. I took these to work for a morning tea and they were scoffed down so quickly, with several requests for the recipe. I used top quality chocolate for the topping and really do recommend doing that. Next time I make these, I'm planning to add some slivered almonds to the base. Thanks for another super recipe, Noo. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      These were so good. And they were pretty easy to make (thanks to a previous reviewer who provided American measuring equivalents). I made them for a bake sale, but I will consider these for a homemade treat for other occasions as well. Thanks Noo. Made for "Please Review My Recipe" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Noo - these are fantastic bar cookies! I made them for a local school event and the plate was cleaned off before I could go through line. Everyone stated how wonderful they were and just such a treat. Conversions I used: 7 tbls butter; 4 tbls dark brown sugar, 1.2 cups flour; 1/2 cup rolled oats --- 1 oz butter = 2 tbls. -- 1 oz brown sugar = 2.25 tbls. and 3.5 oz chocolate is about a 1/2 cup. With these conversions they set up well and sliced easily. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for 123 Hits

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      GREAT MUNCHIES! Was going to do these before Yuletide, but got too busy, so they ended up being a wonderful after-holiday treat, especially with the dark chocolate! Am definitely wanting to make these again! Thanks for posting a keeper recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Delicious! Crisp, like shortbread, with the flavor of oatmeal cookies. Topped with caramel and the chocolate of course, tops it as well as putting this bar cookie over the top!!! My chocolate stayed a little wet but that's not a big issue- other kinds of chocolate such as morsels, may work better to help dry that for stacking the cookies. Easy to make, if not a little time consuming, but nice to spend with family making holiday sweets on a Saturday afternoon! Thanks much for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      These are delicious treats and the directions are spot on (except I had no idea what "bake at Gas mark 4" was so I baked at 350F). I used light brown sugar for the muscovado and lined our 8x8 pan with foil to make the bar easy to remove and it also provided easy clean up. We got 9 squares. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Simple and delicious! I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan. The caramel layer is yummy - I'm tempted to make it a bit thicker next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Millionaires Shortbread or Creamy Caramel and Oat Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.6
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    50%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 30.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 94.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    75%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites