Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Millionaires Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Millionaires Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2014

      I make this recipe for my family and friends all the time. They love it. As I mentioned in the previous review I tried covering it with white chocolate and drizzling dark on top of it. It was a great success. I also did the base using my gluten free flour mix and the shortbread was the best ever. Thank you to Kittycatmon for the orgininal recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Very bad experience. Cooked caramel per directions. Should have asked for a temp reading-not a color. It is as hard as a rock. Am disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      5++++ Ohhhh my goodness, these are easy, rich, and delicious. Saving these to my Bake Sale Cookbook so we can sell these at our Holiday Faire this year, I know we will make be able to sell a bunch of these. Everyone has just gotta try these, if you make the caramel exactly as in the recipe you will have no problems at all, and I live at 3200 plus feet above sea level and it came out perfect! Thank you for a great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I buy this every time i'm in scotland, but shortbread here isn't as good.. so I am so glad you posted this.. tastes like we get in Glasgow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      I also saw this on the Food Network and it looked like something that I may like so I made them the next day. I didn't like them, I LOVED them! I followed the recipe, and for the chocolate I used a bag of milk chocolate chips. When I make them again I will use a semi-sweet chocolate chip instead because they are so rich - a little goes a long way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I watched the same show and had to try it myself. I was impressed! I think it tastes similar to a twix candy bar! Thanks for posting! Oh also- I made mine in a 9x13 pan and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Kitty - I am just not talented when it comes to making caramel layers. I think I'll try this again by melting caramel squares instead of trying to make my own. Until I do I'm not going to leave stars... it was definitely me this time. After my catastrophe I did try the shortbread with some of the chocolate and it was divine! Tried this recipe for your win in Summer Spectacular event in the cooking tag forum June 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      The DS took this to his recreation music group and I'm only sorry now that I scaled it back to a half batch, for I should have doubled it, it was so popular and so many recipes went out the door that day between staff and clients (adults with intellectual and or physical challenges). Thank you diner524, looks like this will be made in a lot of households downunder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      good recipe! i saw this on tv a couple of weekends ago and was glad to find someone had already posted it on here. this is a very rich bar but super yummy! the only reason i'm knocking off a star is because it took me 45 minutes of stirring to get the s.c. milk to turn to a caramel color....i thought my arm was going to fall off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This recipe was a calamity of errors on my part but even so it turned out absolutely fabulous. I should have been smart enough to half the recipe but it didn't even occur to me until it was too late. I cut in the butter the old fashioned way, no processor required. I only have one 8x11 pan so I decided to use a large pan instead. I used a 13x11 pan and increased my cooking time by about 7 minutes to make up the difference. Then I realized I didn't add in the salt which in the end didn't make a difference. After cooking only one can of sweetened condensed milk with the full amount of butter for the caramel I realized that the recipe called for two. The shortbread had already cooked, the caramel already on the stove. So I decided to just go ahead with the one can and spread a rather thin layer over the shortbread. Topped that with the chocolate and let it cool. Upon taking a bite it was decadent and melt-in-my mouth delicious. I even wonder if the two cans of milk would have been too sweet. Next time I'll just cut the recipe in half, lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Millionaires Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (1753 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.7
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    44%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 163.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites