66 Reviews

This recipe is outstanding! There were 10 of us at lunch yesterday, I made enough of this for 15, and there's hardly any leftovers! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, craisins instead of the currants, and added a large chopped onion while I was browning the chicken. I also substituted some Moroccan harissa for the salsa, it made it a little more authentic in our eyes. If you do use harissa, don't substitute it one for one with the amount of salsa called for in the recipe, harissa is a gazillion times spicier, use caution. Our guests' youngest son was especially fond of this meal. I asked him how many stars I should give this recipe, and he answered, "63!" I wish I could give you 63 stars, Martha, but I'll have to settle for 5. This Million Dollar Chicken is worth every penny!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj February 09, 2003

This was great. I also used chicken thighs which I believe give a richer taste. Substituting a couple of tablesponns of harissa paste for the salsa is a must - just add some more water to make up for the lack of liquid from the salsa. I will make this one again! I agree with the previous reviewer that it works well to add an onion at the start. I also added a can of chick peas at step 7 which adds a little variety and authenticity. (Stole that idea from another Morroccan chicken recipe!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baz June 15, 2003

Delicious! This is a new family favorite. Very easy to make. I used raisins instead of currants and butter instead of oil. I only used 4 thighs, I don't think this recipe would make enough sauce for 8 thighs. Also, I think it would be great to double the sauce recipe and mix it with already cooked bite-sized pieces of chicken or lamb for a stew, and serve that over rice or couscous. Will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig September 06, 2009

I reviewed this but erased it to write a fresh one. I've made this about 8x now. It's delicious. For best results, I make sure the pan is good n' hot before browning the chicken. The garlic sticks to the chicken while its browning and adds wonderful flavor. Avoid putting too many thighs in one pan or the browning/sealing of juices effect doesn't work well. Use two pans, if you don't have a large enough frying pan, so the chicken has a little space. Brown those puppies good; takes at least 15 to brown both sides. Onc it's all simmering with the rest of the ingredients, I put the toasted, slivered almonds in the sauce The slivered almonds get tender and the dish goes great with brown rice. Everything else is the same.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrrrea February 18, 2009

Truly delicious and deserving of a million dollar prize. I used bone in thighs but did remove the skin - used HOT salsa, more garlic than is called for here and craisins...made a bit more sauce and cooked it for much longer than 20 minutes - more like 2 hours! A marvelous combination of flavors. My husband, who isn't fond of chicken or cinnamon, ate 3 servings and said it was the best chicken he's ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libidess March 06, 2010

So, this is my second Morrocan-inspired dish to date. In the first, I decided I didn't care for raisins in my entrees. I realize that this certain affects flavor. However, despite omitting the almonds and raisins, the sauce was still delicious! I put the mixture in flour tortillas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen April 06, 2009

This is my go-to recipe for a special meal for company. The flavors are very complex with a variety of textures. Try different salsas to compliment the flavor profiles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Char S. May 19, 2015

Delicious! A great way to use up leftover salsa and I loved the fact that this was all made in one pan. I used boneless chicken breasts and omitted the raisins and almonds. The only change I would make next time would be to double the sauce, as mine cooked down quite a bit and I wanted more! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC November 19, 2012

This was easy and since I did the prep work the night before, it was pretty quick. I used more salsa (just used the whole jar) and I would actually recommend doubling the sauce recipe. I did not add the garlic when I first put the chicken in, I did not want it to burn. I put all over quinoa. It was an enjoyable dinner and nice leftovers the next day. I would recommend this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee March 15, 2012

This doesn't really need another 5-star review but it absolutely is a fantastic recipe because it yields such tasty results for such little effort! I do recommend doubling or tripling the sauce ingredient and adding some spice. I have a little pot of harissa spice mix and I put in several teaspoons of this - the salsa I used was mild. It needs the heat -- without it, it's tasty but a little too tame.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK February 29, 2012
Million Dollar Chicken - Moroccan Style