Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Million Dollar Chicken - Moroccan Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Million Dollar Chicken - Moroccan Style

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2003

      This recipe is outstanding! There were 10 of us at lunch yesterday, I made enough of this for 15, and there's hardly any leftovers! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, craisins instead of the currants, and added a large chopped onion while I was browning the chicken. I also substituted some Moroccan harissa for the salsa, it made it a little more authentic in our eyes. If you do use harissa, don't substitute it one for one with the amount of salsa called for in the recipe, harissa is a gazillion times spicier, use caution. Our guests' youngest son was especially fond of this meal. I asked him how many stars I should give this recipe, and he answered, "63!" I wish I could give you 63 stars, Martha, but I'll have to settle for 5. This Million Dollar Chicken is worth every penny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      This was great. I also used chicken thighs which I believe give a richer taste. Substituting a couple of tablesponns of harissa paste for the salsa is a must - just add some more water to make up for the lack of liquid from the salsa. I will make this one again! I agree with the previous reviewer that it works well to add an onion at the start. I also added a can of chick peas at step 7 which adds a little variety and authenticity. (Stole that idea from another Morroccan chicken recipe!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Delicious! This is a new family favorite. Very easy to make. I used raisins instead of currants and butter instead of oil. I only used 4 thighs, I don't think this recipe would make enough sauce for 8 thighs. Also, I think it would be great to double the sauce recipe and mix it with already cooked bite-sized pieces of chicken or lamb for a stew, and serve that over rice or couscous. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I reviewed this but erased it to write a fresh one. I've made this about 8x now. It's delicious. For best results, I make sure the pan is good n' hot before browning the chicken. The garlic sticks to the chicken while its browning and adds wonderful flavor. Avoid putting too many thighs in one pan or the browning/sealing of juices effect doesn't work well. Use two pans, if you don't have a large enough frying pan, so the chicken has a little space. Brown those puppies good; takes at least 15 to brown both sides. Onc it's all simmering with the rest of the ingredients, I put the toasted, slivered almonds in the sauce The slivered almonds get tender and the dish goes great with brown rice. Everything else is the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Truly delicious and deserving of a million dollar prize. I used bone in thighs but did remove the skin - used HOT salsa, more garlic than is called for here and craisins...made a bit more sauce and cooked it for much longer than 20 minutes - more like 2 hours! A marvelous combination of flavors. My husband, who isn't fond of chicken or cinnamon, ate 3 servings and said it was the best chicken he's ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      So, this is my second Morrocan-inspired dish to date. In the first, I decided I didn't care for raisins in my entrees. I realize that this certain affects flavor. However, despite omitting the almonds and raisins, the sauce was still delicious! I put the mixture in flour tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Delicious! A great way to use up leftover salsa and I loved the fact that this was all made in one pan. I used boneless chicken breasts and omitted the raisins and almonds. The only change I would make next time would be to double the sauce, as mine cooked down quite a bit and I wanted more! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      This was easy and since I did the prep work the night before, it was pretty quick. I used more salsa (just used the whole jar) and I would actually recommend doubling the sauce recipe. I did not add the garlic when I first put the chicken in, I did not want it to burn. I put all over quinoa. It was an enjoyable dinner and nice leftovers the next day. I would recommend this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      This doesn't really need another 5-star review but it absolutely is a fantastic recipe because it yields such tasty results for such little effort! I do recommend doubling or tripling the sauce ingredient and adding some spice. I have a little pot of harissa spice mix and I put in several teaspoons of this - the salsa I used was mild. It needs the heat -- without it, it's tasty but a little too tame.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      The title says it all! Wow, this is wonderful and my husband agrees! It was also incredibly easy!! I used bone-in thighs and just removed the skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Delicious flavors! I definitely recommend making more sauce since the chicken is bland w/o it. Also, next time I would try seasoning the chicken w/ salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder before browning. I made few changes. I had sliced almonds and since they were thin, I decided to brown them in a separate pan w/ very little olive oil. I figured it would be hard to scoop them out w a slotted spoon. And since I had a whole chicken, I cut it up into parts and left the skin on and bones in. I also added a chopped onion to the garlic and chicken when browning in a large All-Clad pot. However, since the garlic and onions started to burn before the chicken browned, I took the garlic and onions out and browned the chicken parts by themselves. I had to throw away the burnt garlic and onions. After browning the chicken (which I split into two batches in order to brown them w/o crowding the pot), I took the chicken out and then browned a new batch of garlic and onions. Once browned, I added the chicken back to the pot. I didn't measure but just eyeballed everything and substituted dry cranberries for the currants b/c that's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      This is very good. I made this using skinless chicken thights (bone-in) and adjusted the baking time and they turned out wonderful. We really liked the sweet flavor with these, something different then we are used to. I served this with some flavored couscous and we were in heaven. Great summer meal, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      It took me a moment to get used to the sweet flavor. But my husband LOVED this dish, and devoured the majority of the dish himself. In one sitting. Anyways, I subbed dates in, and it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This definitely tastes like a million dollars. Thanks for posting, Just Call Me Martha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Very flavorful recepie. The almonds really add a nice touch. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      It's an easy recipe, but I'm not sure we would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      I must admit - after seeing that it won $1 million prize - I was expecting to taste nirvana. And it wasn't even close. It's a nice and easy dish but I was not overwhelmed. I'll see if the flavors improve overnight and try it again for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

    • on April 06, 2010

      Loved it! Planning on making this dish for a family gathering in the next few days. My siblings are great cooks and I will be proud to share this one with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This was such an easy recipe and so delicious. I made it for my husband when we first got married and he LOVED it -so did I. It is now one of our favorite meal and I make it when I'm short on time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Million Dollar Chicken - Moroccan Style

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 660.1
     
    Calories from Fat 332
    50%
    Total Fat 36.9 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 568.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 40.1 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites