19 Reviews

As a gluten intolerant who used to love oatmeal, this is one of my favourite recipes and I am remiss in not reviewing it earlier. I usually double it so I don't need to make from scratch everyday and reheat in the micro. I also add extra dried fruit such as Goji and blue berries and sometimes also add fresh fruit at the end such as banana. I have made this in my rice cooker without fuss for years, but am now experimenting with a saucepan to avoid replacing the deceased rice cooker and I find it needs a lot more attention paid when cooking on the stove. Adding a tablespoon of coconut oil helps me get my daily quota in, and stops the porridge from sticking to the saucepan so easily. I also find the millet cooks to a nicer consistency if I put the ingredients together the night before and let the grain soak before turning the heat on in the morning while I am getting ready for work. Thanks very much for sharing this recipe Jenny.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberrys&Cream April 24, 2011

Excellent instructions. This cooks up so nicely and cooking time is spot on 25 minutes. A keeper for anyone who loves hot cooked cereal. (It was easy eating both servings myself!) Used soy beverage and maple syrup. Cornelia, thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues October 08, 2003

Very nice and creamy hot cereal. Way too easy to eat! I practically ate both servings myself. I substituted water for the milk (didn't have any) and omitted the raisins and put in a little coconut instead. When cooked I added a bit of stevia to sweeten it up and then just a drizzle of maple syrup. Thanks for a delicious way to eat millet, Cornelia! I'll be making this often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi August 27, 2003

Very nice recipe. It smelled great while cooking and tasted delicious. I doubled the amount of raisins and cinnamon, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Thanks a lot for this excellent breakfast idea, I will definitely make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest January 30, 2010

I was glad to find this recipe because my DH can't eat gluten and we used to have oat porridge twice a week. Doubling the recipe, I mixed up all the dry ingredients including a half cup of skim milk powder and a tablespoon of brown sugar then added two and a half cups of boiling water and the vanilla. Then I put it in the microwave, uncovered, for six minutes, took it out and let stand until cool. The next morning it only takes a few minutes in the microwave to heat up. I prefer this method because it is quick. We're glad to have our porridge again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yankiwi August 05, 2009

I am guilty of not reveiwing this earlier. It tastes wonderful. I use nut milk in place of regular milk. Since it is so easy to digest, I served this to my daughters when they were nausous at those early months of pregnancy. That's how I knew my daughter was pregnant with her second; she kept asking me to make this. The grandkid loves it also. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flower #2 September 11, 2008

Wow this is so good! I have never made millet before and I was looking for something new for breakfast. Love the that you can make this in rice cooker and its delicious. Prefect, I made exactly as written but added frozen blueberries instead of raisin, personal preference. Thanks for sharing, this will now be a regular in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PennyG February 15, 2016

Yum, this was the perfect millet porridge! Creamy and very satisfying. I adjusted the cook time a bit because my millet is mushy within 15 minutes, but that was easy. Liquid amount is still right, it just cooks up more quickly (I have had another variety of millet which needs 25 minutes indeed, but not the one I had on hand for this). Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany May 01, 2014

I used golden raisins and a few chopped dates. I added a little extra milk and cooked for about 45 minutes because I like millet a little more tender. Healthy breakfast dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez March 20, 2010

This porridge is delicious! Instructions are indeed excellent and the reviews bring a lot of nice ideas for alternations to this meal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swiss Miss January 04, 2010
Millet Porridge