Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Millet Porridge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Millet Porridge

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2011

      As a gluten intolerant who used to love oatmeal, this is one of my favourite recipes and I am remiss in not reviewing it earlier. I usually double it so I don't need to make from scratch everyday and reheat in the micro. I also add extra dried fruit such as Goji and blue berries and sometimes also add fresh fruit at the end such as banana. I have made this in my rice cooker without fuss for years, but am now experimenting with a saucepan to avoid replacing the deceased rice cooker and I find it needs a lot more attention paid when cooking on the stove. Adding a tablespoon of coconut oil helps me get my daily quota in, and stops the porridge from sticking to the saucepan so easily. I also find the millet cooks to a nicer consistency if I put the ingredients together the night before and let the grain soak before turning the heat on in the morning while I am getting ready for work. Thanks very much for sharing this recipe Jenny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      Excellent instructions. This cooks up so nicely and cooking time is spot on 25 minutes. A keeper for anyone who loves hot cooked cereal. (It was easy eating both servings myself!) Used soy beverage and maple syrup. Cornelia, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      Very nice and creamy hot cereal. Way too easy to eat! I practically ate both servings myself. I substituted water for the milk (didn't have any) and omitted the raisins and put in a little coconut instead. When cooked I added a bit of stevia to sweeten it up and then just a drizzle of maple syrup. Thanks for a delicious way to eat millet, Cornelia! I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Very nice recipe. It smelled great while cooking and tasted delicious. I doubled the amount of raisins and cinnamon, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Thanks a lot for this excellent breakfast idea, I will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I was glad to find this recipe because my DH can't eat gluten and we used to have oat porridge twice a week. Doubling the recipe, I mixed up all the dry ingredients including a half cup of skim milk powder and a tablespoon of brown sugar then added two and a half cups of boiling water and the vanilla. Then I put it in the microwave, uncovered, for six minutes, took it out and let stand until cool. The next morning it only takes a few minutes in the microwave to heat up. I prefer this method because it is quick. We're glad to have our porridge again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I am guilty of not reveiwing this earlier. It tastes wonderful. I use nut milk in place of regular milk. Since it is so easy to digest, I served this to my daughters when they were nausous at those early months of pregnancy. That's how I knew my daughter was pregnant with her second; she kept asking me to make this. The grandkid loves it also. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Yum, this was the perfect millet porridge! Creamy and very satisfying. I adjusted the cook time a bit because my millet is mushy within 15 minutes, but that was easy. Liquid amount is still right, it just cooks up more quickly (I have had another variety of millet which needs 25 minutes indeed, but not the one I had on hand for this). Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I used golden raisins and a few chopped dates. I added a little extra milk and cooked for about 45 minutes because I like millet a little more tender. Healthy breakfast dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This porridge is delicious! Instructions are indeed excellent and the reviews bring a lot of nice ideas for alternations to this meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Truly delicious. Substituted chopped prunes for the raisins (chopped dates, many dried fruits - including cranberries, cherries, blueberries -- would work well, too), and poured a little maple syrup on top when finished. This will be a regular in my home for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Loved this! I threw everything in my rice cooker and it cooked itself. Smelled great while cooking and tasted delicious. Very filling too. THanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was a nice change to the usual oatmeal. The millet took 20 minutes to soak up the liquid. It seems to retain some shape and texture after it is cooked. I knew millet was good for you, but didn't want to put it in bread (DH won't eat anything crunchy in his bread.) This was a good compromise for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      A great leisurely morning breakfast. Millet does take a while to cook...usually 40-45 minutes in the rice cooker. After a few minutes, the kitchen starts to smell like cinnamon rolls! I like to add coconut, coconut milk and rice milk to add more flavor. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      This turned out really nice! I used almond milk instead of soy or regular because that's what I had on hand, and I really like the taste of it. Other than that, I just added a little milk afterward and a drizzle of maple syrup and it was amazing! Finally, a use for millet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This made a great change from regular oatmeal. I omitted the raisins and ate it with brown sugar because I don't like them, but I wouldn't change anything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      I have made this several times now and using different equipment. A small Zojirushi rice cooker gives me the best results. The millet was incredibly fluffy and almost double the amount that I would get from the stove top method. When I used a bigger Zojirushi ricer to make one serving it came out very crude. I have found that the dried fruit adds just enough sweetness for me. More than raisins I use dried apricots, cranberries or unsweetened coconut shavings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Mine still came out crunchy, but I don't own a rice cooker. I don't know if that's what texture it's supposed to be or not. I did like the flavor when I added some soy milk and maple syrup substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      I cooked this in my rice cooker. Since Karl and I are hearty eaters at breakfast, I doubled the recipe, and we ate it all up, no problem. This was my first time cooking millet, and I think I prefer oatmeal, but this will make a nice change once in a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Millet Porridge

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.0
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    85%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites