Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Millet Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Millet Loaf

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      By itself, the loaf is decent, and adding mushroom gravy really made it wonderful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Texture reminded me of dressing. As an omnivore I found it reasonably edible (though it really needs the gravy). The only real changes I made was I added a roasted sunflower and pumpkin seed mix I had on hand (which added a nice chewiness) and I used gravy recipe 226004 because it used ingredients I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      This was okay. It needed something to help it out, and I can't do the gravy, too many allergens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      My family happily ate millet! That is an accomplishment. I used this for my first gluten-free OAMC cooking attempt and it worked great. I moved it from freezer to refrig. about 10 hours before cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I liked this very much! I thought it had a good texture, especially with the sunflower seeds added. This is one of the better veggie loaves I've made. Next time I make this, I will probably add more spice and salt. Also, I added a sprinkling of nutritional yeast to one of the loaves, and I enjoyed the extra flavor this gave it. Thanks for posting this recipe...it's going to make a nice packed lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      We liked this as a main dish, but I think we might enjoy it more as a side dish. A half recipe packed in nicely to form one full loaf, feeding two people for a meal. We aren't really into gravy, but I would suggest having some kind of sauce with it (I had Goddess dressing and lemon with mine, DH had melted jack cheese and BBQ sauce with his). This was our first time trying millet, and we really liked it, it was a lot like couscous. Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This loaf was delicious and I'd take it any day over a meatloaf. I've been wanting to try millet for a while since it's 16-22% protein! I tried it with gravy as suggested the first time and then in Savory Asparagus Bread Pudding. I wish I had made two loaves instead of a half recipe because slices would be good to take for lunch - this really is a meal in itself. For me, this came out shaped like a meatloaf, not only half an inch high as another reviewer experienced. Made with yellow millet for "A Taste of Yellow for Livestrong Day".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This made a good portable vegan lunch! I made a couple of changes to the flavor profile and I had a couple of problems with proportions, but I'll know next time. I halved the recipe for a single loaf and added 1 cup of cooked-to-mush lentils, cooking everything in chickenless broth for a richer flavor. If I hadn't added the lentils, the loaf would only have been 1 1/2 inches high in an 8-inch loaf pan. Though I drained and drained it, the mixture was very wet going into the pan and it took about 2 hours of baking for it to set. But now that I know how it works, I'll make it again -- there aren't many healthy vegan portable make-ahead recipes in my repertoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was good and very filling. Its subtle flavor is a great way to really enjoy gravy. Like another reviewer, we added mushrooms, and they worked very well here. We used our leftover millet loaf in place of bread in a savoury bread pudding, which worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      This was excellent! I made it for Christmas dinner and everyone - including the meat eaters in the family - liked it! I added some finely chopped mushrooms and sage to the recipe but other than that, I followed it exactly. It cuts really nice as well - just let it sit for a few minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Millet Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.8
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    16%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 142.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites