10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

By itself, the loaf is decent, and adding mushroom gravy really made it wonderful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl March 16, 2013

Texture reminded me of dressing. As an omnivore I found it reasonably edible (though it really needs the gravy). The only real changes I made was I added a roasted sunflower and pumpkin seed mix I had on hand (which added a nice chewiness) and I used gravy recipe 226004 because it used ingredients I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis March 04, 2014

This was okay. It needed something to help it out, and I can't do the gravy, too many allergens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdnerd July 31, 2010

My family happily ate millet! That is an accomplishment. I used this for my first gluten-free OAMC cooking attempt and it worked great. I moved it from freezer to refrig. about 10 hours before cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kana April 30, 2009

I liked this very much! I thought it had a good texture, especially with the sunflower seeds added. This is one of the better veggie loaves I've made. Next time I make this, I will probably add more spice and salt. Also, I added a sprinkling of nutritional yeast to one of the loaves, and I enjoyed the extra flavor this gave it. Thanks for posting this recipe...it's going to make a nice packed lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie January 31, 2009

We liked this as a main dish, but I think we might enjoy it more as a side dish. A half recipe packed in nicely to form one full loaf, feeding two people for a meal. We aren't really into gravy, but I would suggest having some kind of sauce with it (I had Goddess dressing and lemon with mine, DH had melted jack cheese and BBQ sauce with his). This was our first time trying millet, and we really liked it, it was a lot like couscous. Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 03, 2008

This loaf was delicious and I'd take it any day over a meatloaf. I've been wanting to try millet for a while since it's 16-22% protein! I tried it with gravy as suggested the first time and then in Savory Asparagus Bread Pudding. I wish I had made two loaves instead of a half recipe because slices would be good to take for lunch - this really is a meal in itself. For me, this came out shaped like a meatloaf, not only half an inch high as another reviewer experienced. Made with yellow millet for "A Taste of Yellow for Livestrong Day".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen May 21, 2008

This made a good portable vegan lunch! I made a couple of changes to the flavor profile and I had a couple of problems with proportions, but I'll know next time. I halved the recipe for a single loaf and added 1 cup of cooked-to-mush lentils, cooking everything in chickenless broth for a richer flavor. If I hadn't added the lentils, the loaf would only have been 1 1/2 inches high in an 8-inch loaf pan. Though I drained and drained it, the mixture was very wet going into the pan and it took about 2 hours of baking for it to set. But now that I know how it works, I'll make it again -- there aren't many healthy vegan portable make-ahead recipes in my repertoire!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffernutter February 19, 2008

This was good and very filling. Its subtle flavor is a great way to really enjoy gravy. Like another reviewer, we added mushrooms, and they worked very well here. We used our leftover millet loaf in place of bread in a savoury bread pudding, which worked great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark December 19, 2007

This was excellent! I made it for Christmas dinner and everyone - including the meat eaters in the family - liked it! I added some finely chopped mushrooms and sage to the recipe but other than that, I followed it exactly. It cuts really nice as well - just let it sit for a few minutes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmilee December 30, 2006
Millet Loaf