Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Miller's Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Miller's Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2002

      Excellent! I didn't pay attention to the vegetable measurements, just threw in what I had on hand, including orange and yellow bell peppers and even a handful of cooked chickpeas. I used a mild salsa and served the rice with some chicken breasts grilled with the same salsa. The rice could use a bit more cumin, in my opinion, but the rest of the family doesn't have my spicy tastebuds and thought it was just fine. Thanks Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      I must applaud, Miller! I took this in my brown bag today and gobbled every morsel of it. I didn't have peas at hand, so I skipped it. I also used all green peppers, because that's all we get here. I used a medium salsa and was a bit afraid it might be too spicy for me (sadly, I'm rather a wuss when it comes to spicy food), but it was just right! I will definitely make this often, and next time, WITH the peas. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      This rice was excellent for a mexican dinner party. I served it with guacamole, salsa, and spicy black bean chili. Easy enough to make for a weeknight and great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      This is an excellent dish. I was a bit wary about cooking the rice in the salsa, I thought it wouldn't cook in all that tomato sauce , however it was perfect. I used basmati rice which I soaked for twenty minutes first in hot water. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2002

      We had this as a side dish with taco boats for dinner tonight. I added some cilantro and left out the peas, only because I would hate to see hubby picking out every single blessed pea and leaving them on his plate! I had never had rice done like this before, but I certainly will again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I made this last night with Streamlined Chimichangas #16371 and it was excellent. I used Jasmine Rice and although I was a little worried it wasn't going to cook up properly, it turned out great. You have to watch it doesn't start to burn on the bottom of the pot and I added a tiny bit more water about 10 mins before it was done. Hubby gave it a thumbs up and it's now a keeper in my file for our Mexican themed nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This was yummy. I used long grain brown rice and a medium salsa and served it with some grilled chicken. Really a wonderful combination of flavors and perfect little side dish for whatever you're grilling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

    • on June 18, 2003

      This is a keeper in more ways than one. Let me tell you my tale of woe. Followed the recipe exactly as written except for using all red bell peppers and freezer burn peas (you gotta do what you gotta do) I did not saute the peas as in step 1, just ran them under water to defrost and threw them in under step 2. Well we were good to go but dinner was delayed for almost 4 hours. Nuked the rice, fluffed with a fork and it was excellent. You cant mess this one up. God knows I tried to. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      I can't rave enough about this rice dish. I served it with beef enchiladas and it was the perfect side dish. The vegetables were in just the right proportion. I used medium salsa so the heat was not intense but the flavor was not bland either. I could taste the cumin, which I love, but it was not overpowering. I thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      Turned out great! Added 1 1/2/ chicken breasts the last 25 min. to steam. They were wonderfully moist and delicious. Used them for tacos with salsa verde.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Excellent. Wanted it more like a main dish, and since I had leftover taco meat on hand, I just threw that in right before sliding the pan into the oven. Delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This was a great recipe but it turned out a little sticky. That was probably my own fault, though! I'd like to try it again. My fiancee loved it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I was so excited with this recipe because I finally made rice that actually turned out right! Yay me! The kids all liked it, even though it was packed full of veggies. I did not add the green pepper, just because picky DH is, well, picky. I used a little more red pepper instead. I also went with the can of Rotel as another reviewer suggested, and it worked out quite well. I just sorta eyeballed everything instead of measuring, which you'd think would be a disaster when cooking rice, but it still turned out quite well. I didn't like the carrots, and I will leave them out next time. Overall, this was a fabulous dish. It's quite beautiful to see, and we all feast with our eyes before our mouths. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      My partner loved this rice and almost cried when he dropped the leftovers on the floor. I wasn't a huge fan but if he and the kids loved it then its a winner in my books. Definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Rice is one of my favorites, and I am always looking for good recipes to try. I am thrilled I came across this winner right here! Boy, is it good! Just the right amount of everything. I didn't make any substitutions, and even my picky DD had some and liked it! That is a first with rice! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies in place of the salsa and it worked out fine. I too had to add more water while making. We enjoyed every mouthful along with our Chicken Enchiladas, Chicken Enchiladas With Ancho Chile Cream Sauce. Thanks Miller for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I made this tonight for a change from the usual rice I make. At first I thought there was something wrong with it. Then I realized it didn't taste like the boxed Spanish rice I usually made. I could actually taste the individual ingredients blended into a great tasting rice. I used mild salsa and all red pepper as I had no green left. I also used brown rice and added a little more water. Also, there is very little salt in it. (I'm on a low salt diet) I will me making this frequently. Thanks, Miller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Yummy! This was a perfect side to Simpy's Carnitas, Simpy's Carnitas and all the ingredients, we had on hand. I added a little corn for richness and green pepper gives it a little zing. So moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Miller's Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.8
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 276.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes