Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Milky Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Milky Carrots

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2008

      These were really tasty carrots! The carrots made the milk slightly sweet and it tasted so creamy! Usually recipes warn you not to curdle the milk, but I think the effect on this recipe was appropriate. I used 2% milk and baby carrots, and added a couple of minutes to the cooking time. I recommend that you be diligent about mixing on a regular basis, particularly with baby carrots. The outcome was great! I served this as a side dish to a (sightly salty) tofu recipe so I was grateful that there was no extra salt in this recipe. Thanks so much! Great job.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Not so good. No flavor. Not worth the effort. Steamed carrots have more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      This was a fine recipe. It was tasty and innovative, but I personally prefer steamed carrots with a little bit of butter. However, it was fun to try something foreign!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Looking at this I was trying to figure out what made the carrots so special. Even with my skim milk and light butter, these were so silky and decadent tasting. I bet the full fat versions are just out of this world. This recipe is just wonderful and a breeze to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      When the carrots were almost done ,I added a little cornstarch mixed with cold water to thicken the leftover milk.Added 1/2 tsp salt and a dash of black pepper,made a nice sauce with the carrots and onions. The carrots were nice and sweet onions turned out to be pretty mild cooked in milk. Recommended way to cook carrots...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Very tasty carrots! I added a little salt and little sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. Nummy! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      I tried this recipe on very short notice and upon KeyWee's recommendation -- thank you, KeyWee! This is a fine side dish and a good, different approach to cooked carrots. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of salt which notably boosted the flavor but is not absolutely necessary. More people should try this dish -- I must confess, I would not have were it not for the fact that I was under the gun for a fast side dish and I took KeyWee at her word. I'm so glad that I did! And thank you, Maite G, for your super carrot recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This is an excellent way to make plain old carrots! I was skeptical when I read it, but this recipe really brings out the sweet carrot flavor. This goes in my "veggie keepers" file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      I did not care for these carrots, but I am giving this 5*'s because DH and the neighbors loved them! The majority rules! The neighbors carried the small amount that was left over home with them! LOL! They love being my guinea pigs! It is very easy to prepare and I love easy recipes! Thanks Maite G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      I followed what sharon123 did and used 2 carrots and halved the rest of the ingredients! Your mum is a culinary genius!!! These were so good!!! Thank you Maïté G. for a wonderful side dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This is a delicious way to prepare carrots. Even my picky 5 year old loved them! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      A very unusual and delicious recipe for carrots. The milk liquids evaporated some during the simmer time, and this thickened the sauce to make a creamy/buttery coating. It seemed to bring out the sweetness of the carrots, too. Very yummy! I'm so glad you posted this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I used low fat milk and some deliciously sweet baby carrots, and I added 3 cloves of finely chopped garlic. This is a very simple and easy way to cook carrots, and they were totally scrumptious cooked this way. Because my greengrocer always has such delicious baby carrots, I’ll be cooking them this way a lot in future, with fond memories of both the 2005 Zaar World Tour, and the 2005 Pick a Chef! Thank you, Maïté, for another fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      The carrots came out excellant. excellant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      I thought these were really good. They were creamy and soft. I used one large carrot and halved the rest of the ingredients. Thanks Maite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Milky Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.3
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    62%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 58.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes