21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this tart for Easter dinner and it was easy to make and delicious. I halved the recipe and used a single 10 inch springform pan. After coming to room temp, I placed the tart in the fridge for an hour. The fridge helped firm up the tart and I was surprised how nicely it sliced. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scotthuntington April 08, 2007

I made this a couple of nights ago and forgot to post a review. It was a way for me to get rid of an excess of milk that I had in the cooler, and I think they turned out quite nice. I kept expecting the filling to firm up a little more, but it really didn't do that..after reading other reviews I found that it was to be a little "messy". My friends loved the taste, and I too thought that it was very similar to rice pudding. I added a little nutmeg on top with the cinnamon, and omitted the sugar topping. My friend mentioned that it tasted similar to an Afghani pudding that had cardamom in it. I will try that next time. Thanks Evelyn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 February 13, 2007

I can't comment on the crust, because I used a store-bought one, but I love the filling. For some reason it reminds me a lot of rice pudding, very much comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville November 21, 2003

This was a really easy recipe to make. I would probably add some pumpkin pie spice next time. It was a little too simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen1971 November 06, 2003

This is so good! My two toddlers just loved it. The crust is a bit cookie-like, and smells so good while it's baking. The filling is very creamy and light. The sprinkling of cinnamon sugar looks wonderful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae June 25, 2003

Friends of mine asked me to cook African for them so I decided to make milktart for dessert. Unfortunatley I left my cookbooks in RSA when I moved here. This recipe is just like the one I remember and tastes wonderful. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#823189 July 28, 2009

simple and yummy!! kids liked too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009

Made a scaled down version and used smaller serving size 'tart pans' - wish that I could have added a photo! The crust easy and a delicious shell for the filling. Filling went together so well - nothing like the whisks and heavy bottomed pots we have these days for the making of puddings! Perfect for the cool and chilly June days we had last week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry June 30, 2008

I agreed with another post that this would taste good without the crust. Great flavor though; had a bit of trouble getting the custard to "set-up" like I envisioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ June 17, 2008
Milk Tart