Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Milk Tart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Milk Tart

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2007

      I made this tart for Easter dinner and it was easy to make and delicious. I halved the recipe and used a single 10 inch springform pan. After coming to room temp, I placed the tart in the fridge for an hour. The fridge helped firm up the tart and I was surprised how nicely it sliced. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      I made this a couple of nights ago and forgot to post a review. It was a way for me to get rid of an excess of milk that I had in the cooler, and I think they turned out quite nice. I kept expecting the filling to firm up a little more, but it really didn't do that..after reading other reviews I found that it was to be a little "messy". My friends loved the taste, and I too thought that it was very similar to rice pudding. I added a little nutmeg on top with the cinnamon, and omitted the sugar topping. My friend mentioned that it tasted similar to an Afghani pudding that had cardamom in it. I will try that next time. Thanks Evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      I can't comment on the crust, because I used a store-bought one, but I love the filling. For some reason it reminds me a lot of rice pudding, very much comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      This was a really easy recipe to make. I would probably add some pumpkin pie spice next time. It was a little too simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This is so good! My two toddlers just loved it. The crust is a bit cookie-like, and smells so good while it's baking. The filling is very creamy and light. The sprinkling of cinnamon sugar looks wonderful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

    • on July 28, 2009

      Friends of mine asked me to cook African for them so I decided to make milktart for dessert. Unfortunatley I left my cookbooks in RSA when I moved here. This recipe is just like the one I remember and tastes wonderful. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      simple and yummy!! kids liked too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Made a scaled down version and used smaller serving size 'tart pans' - wish that I could have added a photo! The crust easy and a delicious shell for the filling. Filling went together so well - nothing like the whisks and heavy bottomed pots we have these days for the making of puddings! Perfect for the cool and chilly June days we had last week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I agreed with another post that this would taste good without the crust. Great flavor though; had a bit of trouble getting the custard to "set-up" like I envisioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Made this Sunday and it was fantastic!!! I cheated a bit Ev, I used a ready made pie shell, baked it first and used your filling...and wow, yum, yum and yum....easy to make too!!! Will definitely be making this again..thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Very good, my kids loved it! I don't care for milk much, so the taste wasn't enjoyable to me. I used a premade crust. The main problem I had was that it did not thicken up enough. I stirred it over heat for at least 10-15 minutes and it did thicken up, but upon cooling, it was not thick enough to slice. I decided to freeze it, but it was then too solid to cut. So, I thawed it and it finally was cuttable. All in all, it made a great snack for the kiddos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was creamy and delicious. It's true it has a flavor reminiscent of rice pudding, I loved the creamy texture combined with the flakey crust. Thanks, Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I've made this South African milk tart to satisfy one of the many Zaar World Tour 2 challenges. This is a recipe I would never have picked otherwise and it turned out much nicer than expected. I would have found it helpful to know the size of the pie plate, in particular as I don't have one and I had to substitute with a springform. The dough turned out too sticky - possibly because of the humidity. However, I got the tip from a friend to add a little bit more flour. I was disappointed that the sides of the dough came down during the baking and feared I wouldn't have enough room for the filling. I was wrong, as there was just enough space. I loved the cinnamon on top. As others said already - this tart is comfort food. I took it with me to a barbecue where it was well-received. It wasn't possible to serve elegant slices, as the filling is wobbly, but it tasted lovely. BF and I ate some of the tart for breakfast the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This reminded me of custard pie, I am not fond of it but enjoyed this milk tart. Used store bought regular pie shells, not deep dish, and added freshly ground nutmeg to the cinnamon sugar topping. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      This you have to try. Very easy to make. My only comment it you need to watch the milk and sugar. My DH was suppose to watch it but he turned his back and the milk went all over. I had to make another batch. This came out better than I thought it would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      My kids enjoyed this with whipped cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      This was wonderful. I only made the filling and used a store bought pie crust. The filling tastes just like rice pudding and the filling recipe would be great to use on its own as a nice hot custard. I mixed the eggs, flour, corn flour, vanilla in a bowl then slowly poured the hot milk/butter mixture into the flour/egg mix while mixxing it. mixing it this way is easier because it does not form lumps. Then I put it all back in the saucepan and thickened the custard. Thankyou for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Delicious! It's custard-like, but on the milky side. I made half the recipe, substituted half of the sugar for brown sugar, and swirled the cinnamon sugar on top. Excellent recipe to use up extra milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      This was very simple to make and it turned out tasty. I liked the crisp feeling to the sugar/spice mixture placed on top of the tart at the end. Next time I will make this in ramekins rather than in a pie crust. I felt that the filling was outstanding and did not need the added crust for any reason.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Milk Tart

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.1
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    41%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 133.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 236.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    93%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites