21 Reviews

I made this tart for Easter dinner and it was easy to make and delicious. I halved the recipe and used a single 10 inch springform pan. After coming to room temp, I placed the tart in the fridge for an hour. The fridge helped firm up the tart and I was surprised how nicely it sliced. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scotthuntington April 08, 2007

I made this a couple of nights ago and forgot to post a review. It was a way for me to get rid of an excess of milk that I had in the cooler, and I think they turned out quite nice. I kept expecting the filling to firm up a little more, but it really didn't do that..after reading other reviews I found that it was to be a little "messy". My friends loved the taste, and I too thought that it was very similar to rice pudding. I added a little nutmeg on top with the cinnamon, and omitted the sugar topping. My friend mentioned that it tasted similar to an Afghani pudding that had cardamom in it. I will try that next time. Thanks Evelyn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 February 13, 2007

Delicious! It's custard-like, but on the milky side. I made half the recipe, substituted half of the sugar for brown sugar, and swirled the cinnamon sugar on top. Excellent recipe to use up extra milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystella June 15, 2005

exactly the way we make it back home in SA! my sisters used to make it all the time, only difference is that we sprinkle nutmeg instead of cinammon on the top. it tastes great all the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood June 29, 2004

I can't comment on the crust, because I used a store-bought one, but I love the filling. For some reason it reminds me a lot of rice pudding, very much comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville November 21, 2003

This was a really easy recipe to make. I would probably add some pumpkin pie spice next time. It was a little too simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen1971 November 06, 2003

This is so good! My two toddlers just loved it. The crust is a bit cookie-like, and smells so good while it's baking. The filling is very creamy and light. The sprinkling of cinnamon sugar looks wonderful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae June 25, 2003

Friends of mine asked me to cook African for them so I decided to make milktart for dessert. Unfortunatley I left my cookbooks in RSA when I moved here. This recipe is just like the one I remember and tastes wonderful. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#823189 July 28, 2009

simple and yummy!! kids liked too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009
Milk Tart