8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did an experiment using brown rice for one batch and white rice for the other and detected no difference in taste, texture or even the color. The only difference with using brown rice is that it is healthier. In the soaking water with the rice I also added 2 heaping tablespoons of slivered almonds. When ready to pour the horchata in drinking glasses I would strongly recommend using a small sieve to catch any bits of rice that may have not been sieved out. Each batch had 1/3 cup of unbleached sugar and about 1 whole tablespoon of grated piloncillo. We enjoy the sprinkle of cinnamon on top. Instead of evaporated milk I opted to use Evaporated Milk for an easy homemade version. Very delicious and much, much better and fresher tasting than any horchata I've had in a restaurant. I think next time I might use jasmine or basmati rice for a different flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 30, 2005

Really delicious! I've never made this before, but I was craving it ever since I had a really good batch of it at a local mexican restaurant. I used fat free evaporated milk, and used the 12oz. can, other than that I didn't make any alterations to the recipe. I didn't have a sieve, or cheesecloth, but I had a french press for coffee, and that worked BEAUTIFULLY! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eminson957 August 28, 2009

This was delicious! did follow the advice of another reviewer and used a clean panty hose to rid the drink of as much "grittiness" as possible. It turned out YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Zamudio August 06, 2009

This was rather good! I have never liked Horchata. Store bought or resturant style, it was always really gritty and way too sweet. But this was perfect. I used a strainer with a fine mess lined with a cheese cloth to drain the rice. It was good, I really liked it. The only sub I used was whole milk instead of skim because that's what I had on hand. Hubby liked it, even my mom and that's saying a lot because she usually wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole. This will be our new drink at the breakfast table. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 August 02, 2009

I made this using all skim milk because I was out of evaporated milk. It tasted very good, but I don't think I strained it enough because it was still a little gritty. I think I will use a new clean nylon stocking next time! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough April 29, 2008

Hi there! Also you can add crushed strawberry, maybe you will enjoy it, as i do! Thanks Rosie for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Horchatita December 15, 2006

have this all the time at home love this drink

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxsand July 07, 2006

Delicious!!! I love horchata, but I've never tried making it at home until now. I followed the directions exactly, using a 12 oz. can of evaporated milk and a full 1 cup of sugar. It turned out a little sweeter than I'm used to, but I liked the results! I like ordering horchata at my favorite Mexican restaurant, but this recipe is MUCH better than theirs! Thanks Mexi-Rosie for sharing your recipe, I'll be making this recipe often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 18, 2005
Milk-rice Horchata