Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Milk Rice (Gossi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Milk Rice (Gossi)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2008

      This came out nice and creamy! I used honey in place of the sugar and added equal amounts. My husband loves rice pudding, so thank you! Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      My sweet tooth got in the way here and I really felt it needed to be sweeter. I subbed honey for the sugar in equal quantity. My son loved it. I can see myself making it this way again but I would use sugar as per the recipe and perhaps a bit of butter. It would be quicker than my rice pudding which takes a few hours in the oven. I did add a bit of cinnamon to add some flavour. It did smell lovely while cooking. This was made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      My kitchen smells wonderful from the simmering vanilla! This reminds me a little of my mom's rice pudding. I used arborio rice and replaced the sugar with honey (for the ZWT African dessert challenge). I was afraid to use skim or lowfat milk so I used whole. Great success! The amount of milk listed worked out perfectly for me; no extra was needed. And it really is good warm or cold. Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Very tasty, perfect for a cool night or breakfast! We used Grade B maple syrup instead of sugar (6 TBSP) and also let each person pick a spice to put on their bowl -full (cinnamon and nutmeg are both great choices!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      More applause from me. I did add the grating of nutmeg another reviewer mentioned. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Simple, easy and delicious. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Comfort food at its best is right! We loved this! Thanks Nan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Mercy, mercy - comfort food! Perfect texture & sweetness. I grated a little nutmeg on top but otherwise made just by your instructions. Defintely one I'll make again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Memories of childhood, that is what this recipe brought to mind. The directions were perfect and the rice was done in time specified. I served it hot with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Total comfort food! Kinda like a dessert risotto lol. I halved the recipe because my poor fridge is already stuffed with leftovers from my ZWT cooking frenzy. I used whole milk, which made this so nice and creamy, and I didn't need to add any extra milk, either. I used blueberry honey instead of the sugar, but I added one extra spoonful to make it a bit sweeter. I also sprinkled it with some cinnamon because I adore cinnamon with most sweet stuff. This was good at any temperature, but I was especially partial to warm. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Great Recipe! I also added cinnamon (cinnamon sugar actually) to the top. I had never had rice like this before and really enjoyed it! Thanks Nan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      mmm I added some raisins and used it as a dessert.lovely for winter, served hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Another delicious – and quick and easy – African recipe! I followed Rita’s advice and added a cinnamon stick. I have been eating this for breakfasts with a dollop of Greek yoghurt and a sliced banana on top. Scrumptious, healthy and very sustaining! It would also be great as a dessert, and served cold, with any fruits, particularly after eating dishes fairly heavy in meats, or with rich sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I added a cinnamon stick to the rice aong with the vanilla. Comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Milk Rice (Gossi)

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.0
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    15%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 24.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 115.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites