14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This came out nice and creamy! I used honey in place of the sugar and added equal amounts. My husband loves rice pudding, so thank you! Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 26, 2008

My sweet tooth got in the way here and I really felt it needed to be sweeter. I subbed honey for the sugar in equal quantity. My son loved it. I can see myself making it this way again but I would use sugar as per the recipe and perhaps a bit of butter. It would be quicker than my rice pudding which takes a few hours in the oven. I did add a bit of cinnamon to add some flavour. It did smell lovely while cooking. This was made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 20, 2008

My kitchen smells wonderful from the simmering vanilla! This reminds me a little of my mom's rice pudding. I used arborio rice and replaced the sugar with honey (for the ZWT African dessert challenge). I was afraid to use skim or lowfat milk so I used whole. Great success! The amount of milk listed worked out perfectly for me; no extra was needed. And it really is good warm or cold. Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 19, 2008

Very tasty, perfect for a cool night or breakfast! We used Grade B maple syrup instead of sugar (6 TBSP) and also let each person pick a spice to put on their bowl -full (cinnamon and nutmeg are both great choices!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional December 25, 2007

More applause from me. I did add the grating of nutmeg another reviewer mentioned. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 30, 2006

Simple, easy and delicious. thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ June 30, 2006

Comfort food at its best is right! We loved this! Thanks Nan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 30, 2006

Mercy, mercy - comfort food! Perfect texture & sweetness. I grated a little nutmeg on top but otherwise made just by your instructions. Defintely one I'll make again! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 27, 2006

Memories of childhood, that is what this recipe brought to mind. The directions were perfect and the rice was done in time specified. I served it hot with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 26, 2006

Total comfort food! Kinda like a dessert risotto lol. I halved the recipe because my poor fridge is already stuffed with leftovers from my ZWT cooking frenzy. I used whole milk, which made this so nice and creamy, and I didn't need to add any extra milk, either. I used blueberry honey instead of the sugar, but I added one extra spoonful to make it a bit sweeter. I also sprinkled it with some cinnamon because I adore cinnamon with most sweet stuff. This was good at any temperature, but I was especially partial to warm. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 30, 2008
Milk Rice (Gossi)