Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Milk Gravy (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Milk Gravy (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2010

      great gravy....so simple and yet tasty. I used white pepper, and 1.5tsp salt. & 2% milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This is a good base, but you'll need to add meat and spice. What you wind up with here is essentially a milk roux. I like using a half package of bacon, but you can put any meat (sausage, etc.) in. First pour your olive oil in a cast-iron frying pan, then add two peppers (pasilla or anaheim), two shallots, and half the package of bacon. Fry till the bacon's done on medium high. Add the flour and stir into a roux. Add the milk, and stir until thick. This goes best on top of chicken breaded with italian bread crumbs and spices baked in the oven and vermicelli. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      The amount of pepper in this is WAY too much. If i were to make this again, I'd add the pepper after it thickened -- to taste. It's a simple recipe. Needed a bit more nuance for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's so awesome we love it. My brother and I are cooking for the whole family with meat and rice and we needed something to boost the flavor. We're only teens and moving close to high school and we think it's a great meal side that you can do with younger kids with elderly supervision. Way to go milk gravy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Worked like a charm and tasted great!!! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Easy and yummy. I used some bacon fat as someone else suggested. About 2 tbsp (eyeballed it) and 3 tbsp of flour. Should have used less flour...maybe 2 tbsp. Started with 1 1/4 cup milk and then poured in more. Came out rather thick. Next time less flour and more milk. Still very yummy and I like thick gravy. In addition to salt & pepper I also put in a bit of seasoning salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I made this to cover hash browns along with some cheese and onions. It was just what I was looking for and tasted great! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This is so easy to make and it tastes very rich. I used some bacon drippings and added a bit of seasoned salt. I was worried that it might not thicken up, but I shouldn't have because it did- perfectly. Thank you Kim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This was great! I added chopped up sausage and used the grease from cooking my sausage patties. It was wonderful! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      This was my first experience with milk gravy. I had enough milk nearing expiration for a half-recipe, so I went ahead and used the higher amount of oil (I'm vegetarian, so no meat drippings) and Penzey's 4/S seasoned salt instead of plain. I had it on jonnycake for dinner and it was great, although all those carbs sent me to sleep pretty fast! Morningstar Farms has really good veg sausage patties, so I think I'll incorporate some into my next batch. Also, my milk was from Jerseys, so the gravy was a rich, creamy yellow from all that butterfat. :) Good one, Kim D; thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      We liked this gravy, but felt that it needed a little something more, not sure what though. Thank you for posting Kim. Made for Cookbook Alphabet Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This reminds me so much of home; I could just drink it. (Hey, at leasts I'd die happy!) I served this with fried venison and mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Great recipe!! Good ol' milk gravy just like I remember from when I was little! :) YUMMMM. This recipe is easy to do and the taste is scrumptuous. Thanks for sharing this Kim D. :) ~~ Chef mamma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      We had this gravy for breakfast this morning. Delicious! I used 2 T. of drippings from sausage and it worked great. We crumbled up a piece of the cooked sausage and placed in on top of our biscuit; then poured over the gravy! Can't wait to make this for my dad next summer when we go camping :) Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Very good gravy... like most paulas recipes its not the most healthy but its oh so good. I used the "left over" goodies from the fried pork chops the help season this sauce. Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I made some changes and ended up with a milk gravy that tasted almost like my dear Gramma's! I cut the recipe in half, and didn't have drippings because I baked the chicken for a healthier alternative to fried. So here's what I did: I used 1 tablespoon canola oil and 1 tablespoon butter, to which I added 1 chicken bouillon cube for flavor. Then I added 2 tablespoons flour, as the other reviewer said, my Granny used equal parts fat to flour. Allowed that to cook for 2 minutes to cook the flour. Then added 1 12-oz. can evaporated milk. It got pretty thick, so I thinned it down with some milk to make the right consistency. Very close to my Gram's though without the drippings and browned bits. Thanks for posting this recipe! Made for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This is a good recipe, although to make 3 cups of gravy, my grandma would say you should use 6 tablespoons of the fat, and 6 tablespoons of flour. To dress it up "for company," substitute a can of evaporated milk for a cup of the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      YES! This is the gravy we here in the South grew up on. Great if you use the "grease" from the sausage or bacon or chicken or fried steak but really good using just oil or shortning. Have patience, it will thicken, do not turn the heat too hight to speed it along, nothing good will result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Milk Gravy (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (781 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.2
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    49%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 492.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes