52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome. Being a single person who rarely has milk or eggs on hand these were fantastic. The only things I did different is less water and omitted the sugar since I was using syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley D. September 12, 2014

batter's pretty thin by my experience with other recipes but good enough for an eggless milkless recipe and therefore an acceptable backup when Im out of milk and eggs...I *did* make changes but they did not affect the basic chemistry of the recipe...changes I made are as follows...1tb extra sugar as I prefer a sweeter batter, 3tb oil instead of margarine as I feel oil works better, eliminated water substitute indicated for egg although next time I may decrease the primary water ingredient as well for a thicker batter...thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas August 13, 2014

Perfect pancakes, perfect waffles!!! I make these even if I have eggs, because You don't even miss the eggs. Thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Here4goodrecipes August 13, 2014

Loved this recipe. I added fresh strawberries and strawberry glaze and they turned out amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittaneytreadway July 02, 2014

I ran out of milk this morning and started looking up milk-free pancakes. I browsed through a few before finding this recipe. Success! I made minor changes as suggested by other reviewers - I used cinnamon sugar for one of the tablespoons of sugar, and I added a splash of vanilla. They smelled like churros when they were cooking! They are not overly sweet despite the sugar. My kids ate them plain (and ate almost the whole batch!) This recipe is definitely a keeper for my family, especially since my husband is lactose-intolerant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jentastic June 06, 2014

so I wasn't to sure on the reviews and I'm not the best cook, and this recipe came out amazing major props.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elijah1997quarles April 02, 2014

I made this today and it was fantastic! It was very fluffy and delicious!! I didn't have much butter/margarine at home, so i substituted it for oil and it came out perfect! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skyler Jones November 08, 2013

Promised pancakes - out of milk. Selected this recipe because of the great reviews, and was not disappointed! I used butter (I don't buy margarine), and I did add an egg instead of the extra water. I also took the advice of many reviewers and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract (and subtracted a teaspoon of water, not that it would have mattered). They tasted a little cakey to me, but I loved them and so did the children. Thanks for an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I try! October 13, 2013

My husband and I agree - this was one of the best pancake recipes, dairy free or not! I used rice milk instead of water and then also a flax egg because my son is allergic to dairy and egg. Very light and fluffy. We will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaktrip September 01, 2013

Wow, these really surprised me! I found myself without milk in fridge & two hungry kids wanting pancakes this morning. I substituted the margine for butter & used the egg. These came out with a beautiful texture! They were on the sweet side (my usual recipe makes 3x as much with half the sugar.) Obviously, the kids had no complaints though. I'm excited to make these again & try some of the other substitutions people have used (wheat flour etc.) Thank you for sharing this recipe. Note: I read some of the other reviews about these being flat or dense. Probably need to check your baking powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaMom33 July 31, 2013
Milk-Free, Egg-Free Pancakes