8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for our neighborhood Christmas cookie gift exchange this past year. They turned our pretty good and got ok reviews. The recipe doubled easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerena January 18, 2012

I won't make these again...not worth the time and effort. If I were to make them again, I would make sure to heat the margarine and condensed milk over medium to medium low heat; I heated it on medium high and the milk mixture burned on the bottom and sides of my saucepan (even though I stirred constantly). I salvaged what I could and continued on with the instructions. The entire dish took several hours to set up in the fridge, and even though I pre-cut the squares prior to refrigerating, they were rock-hard when I finally got one out of the baking dish (I had an awful time getting them out without breaking them/the layers separating, even though I greased the dish very well). The only thing I can think of that I did wrong (aside from burning the condensed milk) was that I missed the temp in the instructions, and preheated my oven to 350 instead of 325 for a glass baking dish. Unfortunately these will be thrown out, as my kids don't care much for the taste/texture. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada March 08, 2009

What a winner, loved the toffee pieces on top of the chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.a.c.k. December 15, 2008

I made this for a teachers' luncheon and several people asked for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimee.broussard May 07, 2008

I did not take a previous chef's warning about making sure my pan was well greased- I did use baking spray but it wasn't quite enough and I had a hard time getting my bars out of the pan. I had some other technical difficulties too- the chocolate layer never seemed to cool and get firm... cutting was messy. So I firmed it up in the fridge and then it was all rock hard. Making bar type goodies never seems to be my thing. The flavor of these was well worth all the personal bakign issues that I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta November 26, 2006

I just finished making these. I was rushing around the kitchen and totally missed step 10 and put the chocolate chips directly on the filling before it was baked. I decided to continue on with the recipe and see if they would be edible. Well, the completed product didn't look quite like the picture since the baked chocolate chips would not spread, but I could not keep my family out of them! (I'm starting on my Thanksgiving baking.) Even with my mess up they were awesome! I will definitely make these again (but I will follow the directions next time!!) Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madrek3 November 15, 2006

I received this as part of a bake exchange. These are delicious and they freeze well. It was nice to see this recipe already posted, thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 14, 2005

Wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! These are incredibly rich and delicious. After I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top of the caramel layer, I did not put it back in the oven. Just let it sit a few minutes and then spread the melted chocolate with the back of a spoon. Also, I had bought Heath Bar Bits instead of the Skor Bits, by mistake, but they worked perfectly. One word of advise for anyone else, be sure to grease your baking pan well, I failed to do that and they were difficult to get out of the pan. But that was my error. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas January 01, 2005
Milk Chocolate Toffee Bars