Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Crispy Bacon and Onion Bread - Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Crispy Bacon and Onion Bread - Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2009

      This makes a lovely bread and to be honest, I thought it was even better the next day. (Makes a delicious sandwich with good ol' scrambled eggs, by the way!) Didn't have Mixed Herbs, so used Italian Herbs as a sub. Made the dough in the bread machine and then popped it in the oven at 175°C for 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      This bread rose so high it stuck to the lid of my breadmaker! However, apart from the fact the top sunk, it was a delicious and flavoursome bread. I used dried oregano and a little basil as the herbs but followed the rest of the instructions as written. I toasted the remainder the next day and made ham sandwiches with lettuce and mayonnaise. They were a treat! Highly recommended for sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was so good! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! My husband LOVED the bread he was so sad when we ran out of eggs and he couldn't make an egg sandwhich, so we made grilled cheese sandwhiches adn they were wonderful!! My husband has requested this bread be in the house at all times! Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Oh my, Oh my, O my. This is sooo good. As per others, I used bacon pieces from Costco (really good) I warmed them in a frying pan and added the red onion just as directed. Used 2 1/2 teas yeast. I used Herbs of Provence and white bread flour. I will use less salt, it could be that the bacon was too salty. I did have a problem with the amount of flour. I used 3 1/2 c of flour but it was too wet so added extra. I just kept adding until it started to combine, probably about an additional 1/4 c.. I also used regular milk instead of water and dry milk. DELICIOUS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This bread is DELICIOUS! I followed recipe exactly w/ perfect results. Thank you, French Tart, for a great recipe! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      mine caved in a little. how much is 7g of yeast anyway? I used about 2 1/2 tbsp. great taste though. would try partially whole wheat next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was a fantastic bread. I used whole wheat flour but cooked it the same as called for in the recipe with the exception of adding 2 1/2 teaspoons of yeast. I also used real bacon pieces already packaged because I was feeling lazy and it was great with less of the grease. I served this with Cabbage Potato Soup and it was the perfect compliment. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This bread was a real winner at my house we had my bf's dad over for fathers day and he took the rest home with him and made me promise next time he was over that I make it again. The bread was very moist and was so yummy. I was half devoured before i could take pics :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Made it last night for this morning's breakfast. Used 1 1/2 cups water, 3 1/2 cups bread flour, and 2 1/2 tsps yeast and set my Breadman for a 1 1/2 lb loaf with a light crust. It did rise very high and smelled so very good while baking. We all enjoyed it toasted. TFS FT, made this for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This really did rise a mile high! I actually had some issues with the metric to US conversion. It said to use 19 7/8 ounces of flour, which I calculated to be 2 1/2 cups. This was far too little, and it ended up kinda soupy while it was kneading. I took out the dough and kneaded in about another cup of flour by hand, then put it back in the bread machine. I was so nervous that I had messed this up. It came out great though! I cooked it as 1.5 lb loaf, but it rose to the size that my 2 lb loaves normally are. I loved the flavor of this, and it was really moist. Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Entered this in my Local Annual Show and took second prize at my first attempt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I thought this was a very good bread. It went well with my scrambled eggs for breakfast. I mix this up in my bread machine then baked it in the oven, just a personal preference of my families!! When I do make this again (which I will) I am going to try adding cheddar cheese to it. Bacon, onion and cheese Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Crispy Bacon and Onion Bread - Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.7
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    16%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 898.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 113.4 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lardons

    mixed herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites