Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Buttery Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Buttery Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      Great recipe. I use it for biscuits and gravy. I "knead" mine via my stand mixer. Then I pat it into a 9 X 9 pan or 11 X 7, depending on how thick you want the biscuits. This is quick, easy and eliminates the need for rolling, cutting, etc. Bake and then cut in 9 - 12 squares. Serve hot, split open and pour sausage gravy over the biscuits. For the gravy: If you don't want to take the time to make gravy from scratch, you can buy a package mix at the grocery store called "Williams". It comes as a plain gravy or with meat added. This is a recipe the men like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I make biscuits often and did not like these as they were terribly crumbly. Even Bisquick makes better ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Ok so I made them and it was soo much easier than I was expecting, they even taste good (this was my first bread-ish venture) they are a lot like the biscuits from cracker barrel, but a little less buttery. My only qualm is that I can't figure out how to get 15 biscuits that are 1 1/2 inch thick, mine are all much smaller as a result and I still only got 12 out of the batch. Good recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      What caught my eye was that beautiful picture of biscuits.... but I have to say this wasn't my favorite biscuit recipe.

      I didn't have enough butter so I used shortening. For me it was just too much baking powder, 4 Tablespoons and the flavor was too salty for me plus it crumbled a bit.

      I did get my pretty biscuits though, although I would've rather had a yummy tasting biscuit.

      Next time I would decrease the baking powder, salt and shortening to keep from crumbling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Very good biscuits. I have tried many different recipes and these biscuits are definitely more tender than others I have attempted. I mixed my dough by pulsing in the food processor. My only negative comment is that I thought they were too salty. I used margarine because it was what I had on hand but will use unsalted butter next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      ABSOLUTLEY SUPERB!!! I have made 100 different biscuits in my life and this one was amazing! I used this recipe on top of a chicken pot pie dish and my family loved it (esp the biscuits) Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Delicious, flaky, buttery....YUM! Best part was putting a left over biscuit in the toaster oven topped with butter and jelly! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I have made a few other biscuit recipes from this site. This is the best. It is quick and easy and pretty much idiot proof!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I had a craving to make breakfast for dinner tonight and didn't have any biscuts on hand. I found this recipe and decided to give them a try. They turned out fabulous. Very easy and taste great. I had never even made homemade biscuits before! I will definitely make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly and these biscuits are by far the best i have ever come across. Do yourself a favor and try these, they are outstanding!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      I know it's late but I had to write. These biscuits are phenomenal. Per reviews, I reduced baking powder by 1 TBS, combined in food processor (added approx. 3/4 cup flour), and baked in 7X11 Pyrex. I did heat oven to warm and let dough rise in oven for 10-15 min. while I made venison SOS. They melted in our mouths--light, fluffy, flavorful. Melted butter on top does make a beautiful crust

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Buttery Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.6
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    48%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 97.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1155.7 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites