Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2007

      it was reli reli nice .. i ate it with jam n butter.. however, i did haf to add a bit more flour bout 1/2 a cup or slightly less.. its still nice though.. i will definitely make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      These were superb! I used butter flavored shortening and also brushed on a little melted butter after they came out of the oven. I patted them out and cut with knife as suggested by another reviewer. I think the sugar in them was fine. :) Thanks, Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I liked this biscuits a lot. The only thing I would change is for my personal tastes I would leave the sugar out altogether. I reduced it to 1 tbsp and still thought it was too much. I couldnt imagine using 1/4 cup. you might as well be making cupcakes! :-) The taste was very good and I used butter-flavored Crisco in mine. I will make again but without added sugar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      No stars, just wanted to say: do not try to substitute margarine for the shortening. I went to make these, and had the dry ingredients already mixed before I realized that my shortening had gone bad. So, I tried to sub margarine-- no good. They came out very flat and with a funky taste. So, that's obviously not the recipe's fault, but I thought maybe I could save someone else from the same mistake by commenting. I do plan to try this again sometime using the right ingredients! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Absolutely perfect biscuit recipe! I used this recipe for Chicken and Biscuits and only put 1 tsp. of sugar as I did not want the biscuits to be sweet. They were just right. When I make strawberry shortcake, I use the full amount of sugar and am very happy with those results. Also - no need to roll the dough as this can make them tough. Just pat the dough down and cut to desired size. These biscuits are so versatile. They are flaky and so good.This recipe is easy to follow and accurate in all steps. Thanks for that!!!!! You will not be sorry when trying this biscuit recipe. Its perfect!!!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I have never made biscuits before but have always wanted to. I didn't have shortening so used butter. I had the same problem as others with the dough being too wet to handle. I added an extra handful of flour, pressed it gently onto a pan and lightly scored the surace to make squares. I was concerned at first they were not rising and was worried I'd handled the dough too much, but even with all my mucking about with the dough - they were huge! Next time I will press out a bit more and add some cheese and herbs perhaps. Found the inside quite crumbly, but not sure if this was my sub of butter for shortening being the culprit. Siilar to what I'd call a scone really with a rougher more bread-like texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      My wife always made biscuits out of a box, so when i saw this recipe and all the good comments, I said try these. Wow, were we impressed. Will never by a box of biscuit dough again... Took them to a pot luck dinner and people were so excited they were asking ME for the recipe (which of course my wife said was mine).....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      These were great. They were easy to make and they had great flavor. They cooked up moist and fluffy. The only issue I had was that my dough was too moist to form a ball and I had to add additional flour to get it to the right consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      These were awesome. I followed the recipe exactly except I brushed some butter over the top before I baked them. Very Very good, light, fluffy biscuits. I will have this recipe on hand at all times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Mmmm..These are the best biscuits I have ever made! The texture, the taste, presentation, they're all five stars. We made these for breakfast one day, and had plenty left over, so we froze them. These biscuits freeze and reheat in a microwave very nicely, and they retain their texture and taste. I'll be making these often! Thanks for the great recipe Mysterygirl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      **My 5 stars didn't show up!** I needed a good recipe for biscuits to go with my homemade chili tonight, and this recipe was awesome. I usually hate biscuits, but DH loves them. They are too dry and floury to me, but these are moist and delicious! The only problem I had was that the recipe called for too much milk. I only added 1 cup and it was still too much milk. I had to add about a cup more of flour. I thought the added flour, and messing with the dough too much, (by adding more flour) that the biscuits would be too hard, but they turned out wonderful. The recipe made 12 biscuits with my vintage biscuit cutter. Even with the problem of too much milk, I'll be making these babies again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I forgot I was making biscuits and not bread. :P So I mixed everything together at once. It took alot of flour to get the dough to knead after doing that. They still came out fine and rose just fine. Next time I will make sure to read and follow the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      My first time making biscuits and the result was prety good. I had a hard time cutting in the shorting, and then when i added the milk the dough got really sticky. Lol, I had a huge mess on the countertop with stuck on dough. Instead of cutting them into shapes I used a knife to cut squares, but without actually cutting through, just so they'd pull apart easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      These are the best biscuits I've ever made! I, too, cut back on the sugar and used only half; I wanted to make these for biscuits and gravy and worried they'd be too sweet. Turned out perfect! They were so delish that we ended up slathering them with butter and homemade strawberry freezer jam too. My dh and I have 5 kids and the 7 of us have over-stuffed tummys tonight, but oooh the biscuits were devine! The search for a perfect biscuit recipe is finally over. And believe me, I've searched a long time. Thanks for sharing Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I like sweet biscuits and these were fantastic. Easy to put together. I used butter instead of shortening. I am very happy with the recipe, there are a lot of biscuit recipes, but this recipe makes a delicious biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Good and light. A little too sweet. Took only 10 min. to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Oh!!! My Grandma would be thankful I can finally make biscuits. With her it was an art form to make "light bread", and if I don't make them everyday, they don't come out right with that special taste. But HERE is a recipe that I can use occasionally and know the biscuits will come out perfect. I do use King Arthur's new Mellow Blend flour for them, and my DH thinks he has died and gone to heaven. I also do not like sweet biscuits, so just tinker with that one ingredient. Congrats Mysterygirl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Very tasty! I'm no biscuit maker, but I managed to impress myself with these. Next time I will hunt down a cutter, since I ended up with 15 different sized biscuits. No matter though, they were all done at the same time (11 minutes) and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I almost put three stars but since I would never like to eat these again I had to stick with two. They had a suprisingly tender texture but they were just too sweet- but definitely not sweet enough to call cake so it was sort of an ugh flavor to combine with sausage gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      These are the first homemade biscuits I've ever made. Nice, easy recipe. I used a knife to cut square biscuits because I don't have a biscuit cutter. These brown quite a bit, but are tender, fluffy, and delicious. I spread them with peanut butter and honey. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites