Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2008

      These were nice and tender biscuits, but I found that the 1/4c sugar was too much. The biscuits had a very pronounced sweet taste. I would cut the sugar in half at least, and use butter flavored shortening next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Cheers for Mysterygirl and this absolutely marvelous biscuit recipe! We loved them - so light, tender, and flakey! Because my husband is a diabetic, I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and that put them over the top! Because I had half a cup of sour cream begging to be used, I put it in along with the milk, but I only added 3/4 c. milk. When mixing the egg and milk, I instantly knew THIS was one blue ribbon recipe! You can just tell by the appearance of the dough and how it feels when you knead it. Instead of rolling the dough out, I just pinched some of the dough off and rolled the dough in my hands like my Mom always did when she could see to make biscuits. She's now 92 years young and legally blind. I am going some to the retirement center for Mom and her dining partners. Thanks Mystergirl for this easy to make and great tasting biscuit recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      A very nice recipe, came out beautifully. For personal taste next time I will use butter flavored shortening.But overall a very easy recipe. Just perfect. Thanks for a great recipe, I will definately be keeping this as my biscuit recipe. Thanks a bunch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I made these for dinner and to us there was not much flavor. The texture was perfect, but I think if I were to make these again, I would definately have to add garlic or some kind of seasoning to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

    • on December 31, 2007

      My first attempt at making biscuits. Very good. I was nervous, but the recipe is so easy that its almost fail-proof. Thank you for giving me the ability to make bicuits...LOL. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Heavenly!!! This recipe was so easy and quick. I also patted the dough into a rectangle and cut into squares. This saved time and they were soooo good!! I will be using this many times over. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I thought these looked great. I followed he recipe excatly yet my dough was sooooooo wet i had to add at least another 1/2 cup of flour. Once cooked they were nice with a soft taste. I may try again adding less milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I am always on the lookout for a "new" biscuit recipe, hoping to stumble upon the "perfect" one for us... With all the great reviews, I thought this might be the one... however, the taste of the biscuits was good, but the texture was a little crumbly for us. I followed the directions precisely but instead of rolling out the dough and then cutting them into biscuits, I just patted it out into a rectangle and scored it. I brushed the tops with a little cream before baking and they did turn out very nicely browned on top. The texture was just not what I was looking for... Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      These were wonderful! So light and fluffy and i can't believe how easy they were. I accidentally added too much cream of tartar and they were slightly crumbly, I wonder if that is why? We loved them and I will make them again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I just made these for Thanksgiving and am absolutely in love with the outcome. The biscuits are extremely soft and yummy. Super easy to make for a beginner like myself. I also brushed one beaten egg on top of the biscuits before putting them in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Made these for thanksgiving dinner. They were much easier to make than rolls, and simply delicious! Will keepthis recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Here comes the real test........back home in the south I made the best biscuits ever.But,since moving 1,100 miles north I haven't made an edible one yet.I have been so disappointed about this, that I started using canned biscuits,yuk. Anyway,I am going to try these today to go with the great apple cinnamon jelly I just made 31 jars of for Christmas baskets. I can't wait to review and let you know how these turn out,mg. Finally got a good biscuit.I've made these several times now and they are really good.Thank you so much mg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I am eating one as i speak! They are so GOOD! The quickest thing i have baked that turned out so perfect! I did decrease the sugar as some suggested, personal preference. I should also mention that i have never baked biscuits before! I think people should think of the dough as pie pastry...less handling the better. I also dropped the batter by the spoon (laziness on my part) and they were just perfect! Can't say enough! I'm hooked! For all those Canadians hooked on Tim Hortons breakfast sandwiched.....this is for you! (Not many Timmy's in the US) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Five star Biscuits, for sure! Delicious I omitted the Cream of Tartar, as I did not have any. Substituted butter for shortening and Buttermilk for regular milk. I also used my pizza cutter to cut rectangular biscuits rather than a round cookie cutter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Perfect biscuits... and mine really were a "mile high". I only used a small amount of sugar (not 1/4 cup) and also only about 1/2 tsp. of salt. Thank goodness I only put in 1 cup of milk to begin with because the dough was plenty wet. I ended up having to add about another quarter cup of flour so that I could work with it. But these ARE delicious and beautiful biscuits, even if I did do the slight modifications. I'll make these over and over. Thanks Mysterygirl for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I have such mixed feelings about these biscuits, and have struggled over rating them. I love the texture, and they looked beautiful. I rolled them by hand with a touch extra flour for each biscuit, because the dough was way too wet to knead. I've never made a biscuit with an egg, but I wouldn't say I'm altogether against it. My biggest problem was with the sugar. I made these to go with fried pork chops, and they were WAY too sweet. I don't think they'd be good with sausage gravy either. The leftovers were good with jelly, honey, syrup, etc...sweet fillings. So I do think the biscuits are good, just not all purpose like I expected them to be. I will try these again with no sugar, and possibly using baking soda instead of cream of tartar...and will probably use butter milk instead of plain milk. I think the tweaking is all just a matter of personal preference, what you are serving them with, and what you have grown up eating. I think these would make INCREDIBLE cinnamon biscuits too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      We loved these biscuits. I will make them again. And again. I just love how fluffy they are

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

    • on September 26, 2007

      Mysterygirl: Thanks for a great biscuit recipe.I've tossed all my other biscuit recipes to the trash. Phil

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites