213 Reviews

These were super good, only I think you should have put in the ingredients that the shortening should be cold. Also, next time I'll be putting some butter in them because they lacked that buttery biscuit flavor. However, very, very good recipe. Also, extremely easy for homemade biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittneyHope November 17, 2010

This was my first time to make homemade biscuits and it won't be the last. They were so easy and tasted great. I followed the recipe exactly only had to adjust the cooking time down to 8 minutes. Super Yummy! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Txveggiemama October 25, 2010

did these for supper with my 9 yr old guest... we just could not stop eating them at the table... wonderful will be making again and again... thanks for such a wonderful recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brini 1314 October 24, 2010

I have made these before but never left a review. Made them a few nights ago and they were very very good. Even my dh asks if I made them from scratch and said they were the best yet. I even halfed because that's all the flour I had so I was kinda worried about that. I'm sure I will make these again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn September 20, 2010

delicious!!! flaky, crispy, yummy! dough is a bit wet, just used lots of flour on my workspace for the kneed. thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiRenee September 11, 2010

Too much liquid, ended-up making drop biscuits. Taste is fine,they tast like biscuits, I just prefer cut biscuits, I'm not fond of drop biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lococolily July 09, 2010

I noticed that the dough was a bit wet, even though I did not pour in all the liquid to incorporate, so I made these as drop biscuits and they turned out very well. I also used only 3 tbsp of sugar instead of 1/4 cup. It's an interesting change of pace to make biscuits on the sweet side. Thanks for a good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinAnn June 26, 2010

I got a little distracted and forgot to knead my dough, however, the biscuits were very good! They were just "1/2 a mile high". Next time I will knead to get higher results. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tasty Buds May 12, 2010

Well, I have to join the ranks of the admirers. I used my food processor to mix together all the dry ingredients and shortening. After that I transferred it to a bowl and added the wet ingredients. Here's why it didn't get 5 stars - the dough was WAY too wet. I did end up having to add another cup of flour to make it something I could knead out. That being said, this is the ONLY time I have ever been able to make anything other than drop biscuits. And they DID come out mile high! I don't know about the too sweet comments from other people because I've only had them with strawberry jam. But wow, these are amazing!!!! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonsbeka May 09, 2010

I can't tell you how many biscuit recipes I have tried...this is my favorite! This is a huge moment for me because I thought I would never be able to make great biscuits for my family and I've been trying for years (until now, only a recipe containing Bisquick even came close but it was really just a doctored-up mix!) This recipe is idiot proof and it produces just the most beautiful, moist, tasty biscuits. THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE!!!!!!! These biscuits do brown quite a bit on top so don't be tempted to take them out too early or they won't be completely done inside. But having said that, these are SO GOOD and so easy to make. I thought you had to have buttermilk in the recipe to produce biscuits this good but I stand corrected. Don't know if it's the egg or the amount of baking powder...but whatever the magic ingredient is, it works!!! GIVE THESE A TRY...YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious April 17, 2010
Mile High Biscuits