212 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was a bit skeptical when I saw how much sugar the recipe called for, but these taste the bomb digity and then some, they weren't too sweet as I assumed they would be. These are about as sweet as the refrigerated Pillsbury Grand biscuits just to give those who are contemplating trying this recipe.

I did only use 1 cup of milk after reading the comments and the dough wasn't "wet" that I had to make drop biscuits.

They taste delicious with or without your favorite jelly or jam. I will be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DORANDLEEKOUS February 24, 2012

Wow-- these are SO good. They are so soft and fluffy. They are a bit sweet, though, so if you are making them for biscuits and gravy or something savory like that (as opposed to being served with jam) I would recommend reducing the sugar by at least half. These were excellent! My new go-to biscuit recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Frosting February 05, 2012

I'm a retired chef Not a baker. We recently moved to a rural area and, on a Sunday morning, I realized I had no bread. These sounded just right. What a disaster. I followed the recipe explicitly. The FIRST batch did not rise more than a 1/2 inch and were similar to sweet crackers. Not to be outdone I threw them out and began again... horrible. Yes I'm a southern girl so I've a few biscuits. With 1/2 the baking powder, some butter and some semi sweet chocolate chips these would make mediocre cookies. I (and my family) was so disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grandie1 January 16, 2012

I was very apprehensive, as when I took the dough out of the bowl to knead it was very gooey still, and I didn't see how it would roll out. I added some flour when kneading, and rolling out. I ended up using a pizza cutter to make the biscuits, and baked them for the 12 minutes. When I saw them I again was worried they would be hard, but they were actually really tender! While they didn't rise a mile high, that would be my fault because I didn't have cream of tartar, I used 5 tsp baking powder instead. All in all, a pretty good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu December 04, 2011

awsome and easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobdavidsen November 11, 2011

Wonderful flavor and texture! And so easy! These were amazing with both strawberry preserves and honey. They didn't quite get "mile high" for me, but still a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 26, 2011

Very good biscuits. I think the nex time I would reduce the liquid a tad because the dough is on the wet side. Other than that, the flavor is awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB March 20, 2011

Killer! Absolutely killer! Just that hint of sweetness made it perfect for gravy, honey butter, jam, or fruit topping. Wish they had puffed up more though. Excellent taste and texture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco December 12, 2010

These are the lightest and fluffiest biscuits I have ever made. I made them with butter flavored shortening and they were amazing. The only reason they don't get five stars was that they were too wet. I had to add about half a cup more flour. But they did what their name said and rose extremely high. I had them with sausage gravy and they were to die for. Thank you for the spectacular recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aksingingbreeze December 09, 2010

These were super good, only I think you should have put in the ingredients that the shortening should be cold. Also, next time I'll be putting some butter in them because they lacked that buttery biscuit flavor. However, very, very good recipe. Also, extremely easy for homemade biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittneyHope November 17, 2010
Mile High Biscuits