Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    212 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 212

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2008

      These biscuits came out very good! I did cut the sugar down to about 1 tbsp, because we were using them for biscuits & gravy. They rose nicely and are very tender. I'll definitely be using this recipe again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I agree with Wendy S. I tried cutting the way she did it....just gently patting it down into a 3/4" thick rectangle and cutting it into squares with a VERY sharp knife so as not to crimp down the edges. Don't stir when you add the wet ingredients-- gently blend until dry ingredients are just moist and the dough starts to form. Don't handle the dough any more than you have to. You have to follow these directions to the letter about kneading only 10 to 12 times. They came out so high and layered and tender! I cut back almost half on the sugar and added a 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk to sour it a tiny bit and give it a slightly different flavor element. Great recipe, very quick and easy...we'll be having these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Great the recipe! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      These were okay. The biscuits didn't rise very much, and were very crumbly, after baking, which made slicing difficult. They were also a bit too sweet. They got the job done, but I don't think I will be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Although my biscuits were not mile high they were still good nonetheless. Next time I'll reduce the amount of milk as many of you have suggested (my dough was also very wet), and I'll also reduce the sugar from 1/4 cup to only one teaspoon. I had the biscuits for breakfast with the traditional items (eggs, gravy, etc.) and felt they were too sweet. If you're looking for a pairing with honey or jam, this IS the biscuit for you! This recipe has possibilities! Thanks for submitting mysterygirl. _______________________________ UPDATE: I tried them again this morning. I used 1 tablespoon of sugar and 2/3 c. plus 2 teaspoons of milk. They were higher and turned out a lot better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      My favorite biscuit recipe! i love how these are slightly sweet. That means the leftovers are used for strawberry shortcakes! The perfect recipe as is. i follow Wendy's advice below and form them into rectangles and cut them. Best advice ever! The biscuits are so tender and there's less of a hassle. Great biscuits!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This turned out great! I will use this recipe from now on. Next time I may try adding some spices or cheeses to it to kick it up. It was a bit sticky but I kept my hands and board floured and had no problems with rolling it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      A decent biscuit. Batter was much too moist to work with until much more flour was added. The flavor and texture were different than what I was wanting in a biscuit today, though I would make these again because they rise nicely. I will lower the sugar next time; I do like a sweet biscuit with sausage gravy, but these were so sweet they clashed with the gravy. I will also start with just 1 c of milk, perhaps. I think the egg changes the texture a lot from a normal biscuit, but not necessarily in a bad way, just different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

    • on May 14, 2008

      We liked these, but I had trouble trying to roll them out. The dough was quite sticky, more like dumpling batter. I ended up adding quite a bit more flour. They still ended up light and fluffy. Thanks Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      These were the best biscuits I've tried so far! Very light and fluffy. Also so quick, faster than picking up some at the market. It made 13 large biscuits for us, which we topped with melted butter before baking. This is going straight into my keeper file. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Quick and simple! I whipped these up in no time and served as a side to a Caesar chicken salad. Great recipe...similar to a Bisquick bisquit, but way more tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I have always had horrible luck with biscuits...i let my 4 YO help me, figuring they wouldn't come out anyway, so why not! They were perfect! DH was so impressed... Thank you for my only biscuit recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I loved these biscuits! I was looking through my cookbook and all of the others needed yeast or self-rising flour (which I don't have). So then I found these and made them. I had to add more flour (don't remember how much) because they were really gooey. I also needed a lot of flour to roll them in. I didn't have a cutter either so in my hurry I just ended up taking a handful and formed it. They still turned out fine though and my family really liked the sweetness (they even thought I had made honey biscuits). Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      These are the best biscuits I have ever had. My search for the perfect biscuit is finally over. My husband and kids all loved them. The dough was a little sticky instead of adding more flour, I just patted them out into a rectangle and made square biscuits. They came out of the oven, a beautiful golden brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      These turned out better than I had imagined they would. They taste delicious and have a lovely consistency. However, I thought they could use a little more flour as mine were quite sticky which made it impossible to use a cookie cutter. After adding more flour I was able to achieve a workable dough. I will be using this recipe regularly from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Oh Dear Lord. Never in a million years did I expect this recipe to be IT. True, the reviews were promising...but let's be honest folks *snickers* we're all just trying to "copycat" that KFC biscuit's recipe, right? NOPE! Not anymore! Well, that WAS me. Now, I am going to be the envy of all the wifeys! I have the golden ticket, and if you heed this rant and try this out, so will YOU! I want this Mystery Chef to know she just made my $24.95 a million times worth it. THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART (and empty pan) ! Will you marry me? LOL And for the review critic, I will add: These biscuits are not only golden brown beautiful delicious, they have the texture of CAKE, the flavour of perfection that will hold it's own when compared to store brands and win the taste test, and the versatility we chefs crave in a recipe. They rise very nicely, and are easy to mix. Mine were too sticky to roll because I added too much milk lol and even then, pouring them in a baking dish and cutting my finished product amazed me, because they cut SO FABULOUSLY! They lend themselves to presentation any way you, err, slice it. =P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      These are quite good, moister than my usual biscuits according to DH. Will likely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I made these tonight and was very pleased with how they turned out. I put them together with my food processor--oh so easy! Since I have to tinker with any recipe I make here are the changes I will make for next time. 2 TB sugar, 1 1/2 tsp salt, butter flavor shortening and buttermilk. That being said the texture and rising of these biscuits beats anything I've tried before. Yum!! Hi--an update! I made these with the changes above and decided to keep all changes but the buttermilk. The buttermilk for some reason seemed to take away some of the tenderness of the recipe. (Go Figure?!) The sweetness and saltiness were perfect for my family with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      A bit sweet for my taste, but high, flaky and tender. Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites