Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2009

    • on April 10, 2009

      These are great Biscuits. Usually my biscuits will turn out hard and flat, but these truly live up to their name. I made them with sausage gravy on top. yum!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Had never made biscuits before, DW always did, but she was at a hockey game watching my niece play. I made "my" beef stew and discovered this recipe for biscuits... DW no longer makes biscuits ;)... 'nuf said! Straighforward, and yummy results with this recipe. Only difference was that instead of cutting with floured cutter I rolled it out and cut in squares with a knife (quick, less hassle). Thanks Mysterygirl, you saved the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Easy to make and very effective, kids loved both making it and eating it. Plus tonnes of possibilities for modifying the recipe - I used mixture of wholemeal and white flower, cut sugar and added emmental, next time will try adding some oregano. I am also thinking of doing a rye-based version with cummin. Thank you for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      These are the best homemade biscuits I've ever made. The remind me of KFC's biscuits. I love eating them with honey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I know this really doesn't need another review but I just need to tell everyone that these are the BEST biscuits!! The only changes I made were to use 1 Tblsp. of sugar, patted out in rectangle, cut with knife and used parchment paper. The recipe was right on. Mine were done in exactly 12 minutes and were a picture perfect golden brown and had a nice rise to them. I served them with Fabulous Beef Stew posted by ratherbeswimmin'. By the way, if you haven't tried the stew yet, please do. I made it exactly as written and it was fabulous (just like the title says). Thanks for posting this Mysterygirl. I'll be using this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      These biscuits were light and fluffy...just lovely. When I make them again, I think I'll only use 1tbls of sugar. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Outstanding! As a novice baker I've tried other recipes and couldn't get them to work right, but this came out perfectly. Thank you so much. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This is one recipe I would rate higher than 5 stars if I could!! DD wanted biscuits and gravy and I forgot to buy the biscuits. I normally don't care much for basic baking powder biscuits, but said I would make some, so went searching for a recipe. I did replace 1/2 the shortening with butter, but that was the only change. These are so good, with such a great flavor. They were tender and a recipe that is sure to be repeated. My whole family said these were really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      While not mile high...these are a great biscuit. I made them as posted and got a biscuit with a wonderful taste and texture. The whole family loved them. We all did find them a little sweet though and so will probably cut the sugar by at least half next time and there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      If I could only give out one 5 star rating, this would be it. The biscuits were SO easy and my DH couldn't believe how tall the biscuits were. WOW!! Super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I have never made biscuits before, holy cow were these ever good! I am SO proud of my self its ridiculous. I keep telling everyone about these. Fantastic with Chili, stew or with homemade jam and butter. yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I absolutely love the texture of these biscuits. They were a bit sweet for me so when I make them next time I will cut back on the sugar. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Scrumptious!!! My family loved them...and they were so EASY to make. It's gonna be hard going back to refrigerated premade biscuits after these. My next step is to make sausage gravy to go with these. Thanks MysteryGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Delicious! I also substituted butter for the shortening. (We opt not to use shortening in our house.) The did tend to spread a little more instead of raising higher, but I think next time I will just refrigerate my mixed dough for a few min. before rolling out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I cannot say enough about these biscuits! I went by the recipe except I omitted the sugar. They were so yummy I did not want to stop eating them. They rose beautifully and were flaky on the outside and tender on the inside. I did as one reviewer said and patted the dough into a square shape and then cut the biscuits into squares. Less handling of the dough that way. Big thumbs up from my whole family! I will definitely make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      YUM! These biscuits are excellent. I replaced the shortening with butter because I don't have shortening. I also deleted the sugar because we were having them with dinner but I should have replaced it with something like garlic powder to put some flavour back in. Also didn't have cream of tartar. Despite my changes, they are a great biscuit to modify for your meal. Why do we all make so many substitutions?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      FANTASTIC. This is my new biscuit recipie. I used spelt flour and rice milk for these and they turned out great. Can't wait to have another.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I love these biscuits. This is my new favorite biscuit recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      These biscuits came out very good! I did cut the sugar down to about 1 tbsp, because we were using them for biscuits & gravy. They rose nicely and are very tender. I'll definitely be using this recipe again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites