Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      Overall, this recipe is amazing. It has become our family recipe with two small changes. I only put between 1 and 2 tbs of sugar, and I add a whole tsp of salt. I have received lots of compliments on these biscuits. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I'm not so sure if it's my fault or the recipe's! But I know for a fact (b/c I went back 2ce) that I followed the recipe verbatim. The dough could not be kneaded or shaped because it was too moist. I went with it however, and turned them into drop biscuits. Although I enjoyed them, they were too sweet for what I was looking for. If I were to make them again I would probably omit the sugar. Still flavorful, but like I said, not what I had hoped for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

    • on January 09, 2010

      these are great but I was hoping they would get a little higher. I think the 10-12 kneads was too many. I will make these again...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Wow! These Biscuits were great! I changed the recipe a little. I only made a third of the recipe and I used butter. I also used most of the egg. Because of these changes the dough was too soft to knead and roll, so I dropped them unto my pan. It didn't seem to make a difference. They were fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I changed it a little: I used 1 cup water instead of milk, and added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 cup raisens, also topped these with a powdered sugar glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Excellent biscuits. My older grandson loves biscuits and these are his favorite. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I've been meaning to review these for a while. My family loves these biscuits! I use this for recipes that call for biscuits as well as stand alone biscuits. They have a wonderful flavor and are super tender. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I really didn't like these. They seemed very bland and kind of dry. Maybe adding another egg would help but I don't know if I even want to bother trying again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Never making these again. The dough was so wet it created a horrible mess in the kitchen. Made it very difficult to work with. The final product was severely lacking in flavor, yeast rolls had more personality than these biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      These are good biscuits. I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because we thought they were too sweet. I think next time I will use much less sugar. I will make them again, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Delicious! I mixed in only 1 cup of milk since others had said these were a bit wet. The dough seemed dry, so I added the 1/4 cup of milk all at once, and that wias a bit too much. I spread these out on the pan I baked them in, and drew a butter knife through the dough (it was too wet to separate before baking). The dough baked together, but the scores helped me to cut them. The flavor and texture is out of this world! I think I just might replace my old biscuit recipe with this one (Shhh, don't tell my mom!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      these biscuits were sooo good my kids just love them as well as the rest of my family. great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      In spite of my efforts to ruin these, they were wonderful - light, fluffy and tasty. We didn't need all these for just the two of us, so I tried to cut the recipe in half. Must have done something wrong, tho, as they were so moist there was no way to roll or pat out. Ended up spraying paper muffin cup liners with PAM and dropping enough to make 8 biscuits. We thoroughly enjoyed - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I didn't care for the sweet flavor. I didn't think 1/4 cup was going to be too much sugar, but evidently it was for my family and me. Otherwise, the recipe is nice, and if you like them sweet you'll probably love it. 5 stars because it's my own fault for having no foresight with sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Thanks for this recipe. It was easy to make and they have a great taste. Will keep making them. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      So I'm sure I beefed up the recipe a bit - I used butter instead of shortening, ended up needing more flour (~1 1/2 c or so). I have never been able to make a good biscuit until now, despite all my errors. These were fantastic, and foolproof (even for this fool!) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

    • on April 29, 2009

      Fantastic! My first successful batch of biscuits. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      These are hands down the best biscuits I've ever had. (and I've had plenty homemade biscuits). Not too dense, crisp on the outside, and fluffy on the inside. Tasty enough to eat with butter and nothing else!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites