217 Reviews

great biscuits. we all loved them. I used butter flavoured shortening and buttermilk. baked them for 13 minutes, they are perfect. in fact i am making them again to have for dinner tonight. thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melsmom September 12, 2003

I am surprised at the reviews for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. First of all, the 1-1/4 cups of milk was way too much. When I added the milk the dough was the consistency of pancake batter. I added another cup of flour to save them. When done, the biscuits did not rise as expected (probably from adding the extra flour and overmixing to compensate). They tasted like flour. I'm sorry, I don't know how these rated so high with the current measurements. I may try in the future to adjust the milk and make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildhorse September 07, 2003

What can I add to all these reviews? They're normal, good biscuits, just what you'd expect of a normal, good biscuit. You can put a bit of glistening finish on the tops by brushing with a touch of butter as soon as they come out of the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea August 28, 2003

mysterygirl,i tried your biscuits.i thought with all the 5 star ratings they would be really special,but i found them just o.k..my son seemed to enjoy them,he had three.for him i would probably make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � August 03, 2003

These are Wonderful biscuits! I served them along with fried chicken and rice and gravy. The biscuits I had leftover I served the next morning with bacon gravy and eggs. I followed your recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. It made 12 biscuits, but I used a cap off a canning jar instead of a biscuit cutter to cut them. Thanks Mysterygirl..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB June 16, 2003

My comments will probably give one or two of you a major heart attack (literally), but I didn't have shortening, so I used lard. yikes! I thought I died and went to heaven, I've been trying to make decent biscuits for 36 years..I have now made the best biscuits I've ever tasted, thank you so much! (oh, and I forgot the sugar, didn't seem to matter) :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barnacle Princess June 07, 2003

These bisquits were not good. They tasted too much like dough and sugar. I followed the recipe exactly. Although they did rise quickly and looked good, they were not flakey. The first batch i cooked looked done but was a little doughy, so i cooked the second batch a little longer. Still wasn't all that good. I think i would add a little less sugar the next time. O yeah, i guess i didnt follow the recipe exactly. I added a stick of butter instead of shortening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmptrbuff January 26, 2003

I've tried several biscuit recipes now on here and this is one of my favorites. I used butter cubed into bits instead of shortening and mixed everything in food processor. Was a bit much for my processor so scraped it all out into a bowl and mixed a bit more by hand to make sure everything was incorporated. Kind of was worried because the dough looked dry to me compared to most other biscuits I have made, considered adding more milk but decided to try as is. Baked on a pizza stone 450 for just over 15 minutes, they did bake up just fine and the flavor was mmmm. I realized after the fact I had used White Lily bread machine flour which is higher in gluten, maybe that's why my dough looked dry? No matter, will make these again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 August 23, 2016

Made these for Christmas dinner, my families favorite. Requests for recipe. 1st time - all commented on our labor day barbecue how good the biscuits are! I rolled out in a rectangle and cut into squares, very easy & fast. This is a keeper, YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dessert Rose December 27, 2015
Mile High Biscuits