Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2012

      Wow-- these are SO good. They are so soft and fluffy. They are a bit sweet, though, so if you are making them for biscuits and gravy or something savory like that (as opposed to being served with jam) I would recommend reducing the sugar by at least half. These were excellent! My new go-to biscuit recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I'm a retired chef Not a baker. We recently moved to a rural area and, on a Sunday morning, I realized I had no bread. These sounded just right. What a disaster. I followed the recipe explicitly. The FIRST batch did not rise more than a 1/2 inch and were similar to sweet crackers. Not to be outdone I threw them out and began again... horrible. Yes I'm a southern girl so I've a few biscuits. With 1/2 the baking powder, some butter and some semi sweet chocolate chips these would make mediocre cookies. I (and my family) was so disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      I was very apprehensive, as when I took the dough out of the bowl to knead it was very gooey still, and I didn't see how it would roll out. I added some flour when kneading, and rolling out. I ended up using a pizza cutter to make the biscuits, and baked them for the 12 minutes. When I saw them I again was worried they would be hard, but they were actually really tender! While they didn't rise a mile high, that would be my fault because I didn't have cream of tartar, I used 5 tsp baking powder instead. All in all, a pretty good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      awsome and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Wonderful flavor and texture! And so easy! These were amazing with both strawberry preserves and honey. They didn't quite get "mile high" for me, but still a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Very good biscuits. I think the nex time I would reduce the liquid a tad because the dough is on the wet side. Other than that, the flavor is awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Killer! Absolutely killer! Just that hint of sweetness made it perfect for gravy, honey butter, jam, or fruit topping. Wish they had puffed up more though. Excellent taste and texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      These are the lightest and fluffiest biscuits I have ever made. I made them with butter flavored shortening and they were amazing. The only reason they don't get five stars was that they were too wet. I had to add about half a cup more flour. But they did what their name said and rose extremely high. I had them with sausage gravy and they were to die for. Thank you for the spectacular recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      These were super good, only I think you should have put in the ingredients that the shortening should be cold. Also, next time I'll be putting some butter in them because they lacked that buttery biscuit flavor. However, very, very good recipe. Also, extremely easy for homemade biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was my first time to make homemade biscuits and it won't be the last. They were so easy and tasted great. I followed the recipe exactly only had to adjust the cooking time down to 8 minutes. Super Yummy! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      did these for supper with my 9 yr old guest... we just could not stop eating them at the table... wonderful will be making again and again... thanks for such a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I have made these before but never left a review. Made them a few nights ago and they were very very good. Even my dh asks if I made them from scratch and said they were the best yet. I even halfed because that's all the flour I had so I was kinda worried about that. I'm sure I will make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      delicious!!! flaky, crispy, yummy! dough is a bit wet, just used lots of flour on my workspace for the kneed. thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Too much liquid, ended-up making drop biscuits. Taste is fine,they tast like biscuits, I just prefer cut biscuits, I'm not fond of drop biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I noticed that the dough was a bit wet, even though I did not pour in all the liquid to incorporate, so I made these as drop biscuits and they turned out very well. I also used only 3 tbsp of sugar instead of 1/4 cup. It's an interesting change of pace to make biscuits on the sweet side. Thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I got a little distracted and forgot to knead my dough, however, the biscuits were very good! They were just "1/2 a mile high". Next time I will knead to get higher results. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Well, I have to join the ranks of the admirers. I used my food processor to mix together all the dry ingredients and shortening. After that I transferred it to a bowl and added the wet ingredients. Here's why it didn't get 5 stars - the dough was WAY too wet. I did end up having to add another cup of flour to make it something I could knead out. That being said, this is the ONLY time I have ever been able to make anything other than drop biscuits. And they DID come out mile high! I don't know about the too sweet comments from other people because I've only had them with strawberry jam. But wow, these are amazing!!!! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I can't tell you how many biscuit recipes I have tried...this is my favorite! This is a huge moment for me because I thought I would never be able to make great biscuits for my family and I've been trying for years (until now, only a recipe containing Bisquick even came close but it was really just a doctored-up mix!) This recipe is idiot proof and it produces just the most beautiful, moist, tasty biscuits. THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE!!!!!!! These biscuits do brown quite a bit on top so don't be tempted to take them out too early or they won't be completely done inside. But having said that, these are SO GOOD and so easy to make. I thought you had to have buttermilk in the recipe to produce biscuits this good but I stand corrected. Don't know if it's the egg or the amount of baking powder...but whatever the magic ingredient is, it works!!! GIVE THESE A TRY...YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

    • on April 02, 2010

      Quick to make but not very light. It was very moist to work with and I didn't know if this is how it should have been or it needed more flour. i added a minimum of flour when rolling it out. I'm looking for something flakier and fluffier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites