216 Reviews

What awesome looking biscuits. I think this is my new "regular" biscuit recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 04, 2003

Really really yummy. I haven't had any success making biscuits untill this recipe, so that you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Leigh April 17, 2003

Let me add my compliments to all the rest. These are really good biscuits!!! These are long the line of my Kansas Gal biscuits, but I think these may have them beat. I didn't have shortening (how can you run out of that), so I used butter, they were fabulous. Will make again with shortening to see if I'm throwing my old recipe out..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo April 06, 2003

I have made a lot of biscuit recipes, but this one stands head and shoulders above the rest! Very simple recipe with superior results!! I prepared exactly as directed by MG's excellent directions and produced exactly 15 biscuits. They were done in just about 10-11 minutes in my oven. Be sure to watch! Light and fluffy and just the right amount of sugar added for sweetness!! This recipe will become the standard biscuit recipe in my home. Thank you Mysterygirl for an outstanding recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 09, 2003

Great tasting and easy to make. They freeze very well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squeaky104 May 01, 2003

My Mom made tea biscuits often when I was a kid. I have tried at different times to make them but alas could never quite get it right. Tried these Mile High and honestly "FIVE STARS" is not a high enough rating. The folks that had batter problems must have miss measured. I gently stired the milk in with a fork and did not knead the dough at all. Patted the dough on a floured board to 3/4" and cut the biscuits with a small wine glass. Used parchment paper on baking sheet instead of lightly greasing. My wife was amazed. Definetly, a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatever November 11, 2003

Okay I read all your reviews. All but two or three were aweful. I am not sure why they could not read insrtructions. I did EXACTLY what you said to do without missing ingredents. They are AWESOME!!!!!! My boys love them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamurai Michaels November 03, 2003

Very delicious flavor. Don't make the mistake I did and try to get more than 15 biscuits out of the recipe - of course some were too thin - my fault! I also cut into squares to avoid working the dough too much. Will definitely keep this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou September 30, 2003

I've been wanting to try these for the longest time, and I did today. They turned out pretty good...the problems I had I believe were totally my fault. I think I handled the dough a little too much when kneading and then rolling it out...so heed the warning others have put on here about that!! I also think I rolled them out too thin, they were pretty flat. But the flavor was great, and I'll definitely try them again! My husband especially loved them...ate about 5 of them with dinner tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriyeargan September 22, 2003

Thanks for sharing your biscuit recipe Mysterygirl. These were very easy to make and a nice treat. I didn't add sugar either as I am used to having them with jam and thought I should save on some calories :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninna September 19, 2003
Mile High Biscuits