Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2003

      great biscuits. we all loved them. I used butter flavoured shortening and buttermilk. baked them for 13 minutes, they are perfect. in fact i am making them again to have for dinner tonight. thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      I am surprised at the reviews for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. First of all, the 1-1/4 cups of milk was way too much. When I added the milk the dough was the consistency of pancake batter. I added another cup of flour to save them. When done, the biscuits did not rise as expected (probably from adding the extra flour and overmixing to compensate). They tasted like flour. I'm sorry, I don't know how these rated so high with the current measurements. I may try in the future to adjust the milk and make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      What can I add to all these reviews? They're normal, good biscuits, just what you'd expect of a normal, good biscuit. You can put a bit of glistening finish on the tops by brushing with a touch of butter as soon as they come out of the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      mysterygirl,i tried your biscuits.i thought with all the 5 star ratings they would be really special,but i found them just o.k..my son seemed to enjoy them,he had three.for him i would probably make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      These are Wonderful biscuits! I served them along with fried chicken and rice and gravy. The biscuits I had leftover I served the next morning with bacon gravy and eggs. I followed your recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. It made 12 biscuits, but I used a cap off a canning jar instead of a biscuit cutter to cut them. Thanks Mysterygirl..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      My comments will probably give one or two of you a major heart attack (literally), but I didn't have shortening, so I used lard. yikes! I thought I died and went to heaven, I've been trying to make decent biscuits for 36 years..I have now made the best biscuits I've ever tasted, thank you so much! (oh, and I forgot the sugar, didn't seem to matter) :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      These bisquits were not good. They tasted too much like dough and sugar. I followed the recipe exactly. Although they did rise quickly and looked good, they were not flakey. The first batch i cooked looked done but was a little doughy, so i cooked the second batch a little longer. Still wasn't all that good. I think i would add a little less sugar the next time. O yeah, i guess i didnt follow the recipe exactly. I added a stick of butter instead of shortening.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Excellent biscuits. To keep mine from getting too brown on the bottom I bake them on 2 cookie sheets, one on top of the other.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      Absolutely the best! I've tried so many biscuit recipes - all were disappointments - not very tender and not very high. Begone hockey pucks!!!! This is the recipe to beat all others. I did not use a biscuit cutter - simply patted the dough into square and used a pastry scraper to cut it into squares. Worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      Perfect!! This is the recipe I've looked for all my life. Even though I forgot to add the cream of tartar, and also forgot to knead them, they were just wonderful. I baked them in my Breville toaster oven, and the top temperature selection is 450, so I just used the convection fan. They came out perfectly in 12 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I'll be making it over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      These were pretty good. One of my first times making biscuits from scratch. They were good, but crumbly when reheating. Maybe I handled them a little too much?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

    • on October 29, 2013

    • on September 22, 2013

      just a great recipe! easy and with items we always have on hand! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Love them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      The biscuits tasted good, and looked fine, they looked a bit like bisquick biscuts. The dough was a nightmare though. It didn't ball up, and it was horrible to work with. No way could I even try to roll them, I just dropped them on the the pan. I don't know what went wrong, the measurements were correct, but that dough was awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Light, fluffy, delicious and easy peasy with ingredients I had on hand. Went to the fridge for some Grands and oh no! Came to Food.com and found these, will never buy canned again. Thanks for the recipe! The only thing I might change is to lighten up on the sugar but we ate them with leftover Brisket - with something sweet they would be just fine as is.

      For some reason Food.com won't save my stars but I gave it 5 - great recipe, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      I loved these.. easy, quick, I was unsure about the sugar in it as i was making savory so I added less. It didn't interfere w/ my meal at all but plain I could taste it and I would probably omit in the future.

      May also try patting out and cutting as some suggested. The second roll of course was a little tougher.. however still very amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      pretty good. not sure the dough was supposed to be so sticky, but was hard to work with and added 1/2c flour. smelled like pillsbury biscuits when they came out of the oven. was hoping for a more buttery flavor. flaky and yummy though! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I was a bit skeptical when I saw how much sugar the recipe called for, but these taste the bomb digity and then some, they weren't too sweet as I assumed they would be. These are about as sweet as the refrigerated Pillsbury Grand biscuits just to give those who are contemplating trying this recipe.

      I did only use 1 cup of milk after reading the comments and the dough wasn't "wet" that I had to make drop biscuits.

      They taste delicious with or without your favorite jelly or jam. I will be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites