Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    211 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 211

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      Judy waving a "high five" to Mysterygirl! Fantastic and outstanding recipe. I made these biscuits yesterday and didn't change a thing. My husband went crazy over these biscuits and he said they were just like his grandmother used to make. Wow, what a compliment, I've been trying to make a good biscuit for the past 15 years, finally, success!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      Oh Wow! I have my mouth full as I write! Yum! I followed the recipe exactly, mixed in my cuisinart, cooked on a dark pan for 15 minutes...beautiful golden brown and flaky. I too, will throw away my family biscuit recipe and will slip this into my recipe book. Good find Myterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      Made these to go with a batch of Bev's Chili and Charishma's Dal, two other Zaar specialties ! Omitted the sugar and added cheddar cheese. Yuuummy. Not supposed to eat to many carbs during the week but I could not resist trying these out. I cheated on my meal plan and had 1, ok 3.........rest are for weekend dinners when I do indulge in all the breads and potatoes my heart desires !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      These were the lightest scones I have ever made and a beautiful colour. This will definitely be my main recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      WOW!! I've made biscuits before, but they were never like this. I had to use butter (we don't have shortening), and they were still really wonderful and flaky. I liked the crispy outside and the really tender inside. Mine were done in 15 minutes, with the outside a little darker than golden but certainly not overdone. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, these are going to be the family standard from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      These biscuits are awesome! Easy and quick to make. Light and tender. Absolutely perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      Good buscuits, I just cranked out a batch. Easy to make and taste good too. From the Brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      These were really great biscuits. Everyone loved how flakey and brown they came. Maybe next time, I'll try them with half butter and half shortening and let you know how they came. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      Wonderful tasting and easy to make. My kind of recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      I made these when my dad was in town. He said they were the best biscuits he had ever tasted! They are very tender and velvet-like in texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      What awesome looking biscuits. I think this is my new "regular" biscuit recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      Really really yummy. I haven't had any success making biscuits untill this recipe, so that you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      Let me add my compliments to all the rest. These are really good biscuits!!! These are long the line of my Kansas Gal biscuits, but I think these may have them beat. I didn't have shortening (how can you run out of that), so I used butter, they were fabulous. Will make again with shortening to see if I'm throwing my old recipe out..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      I have made a lot of biscuit recipes, but this one stands head and shoulders above the rest! Very simple recipe with superior results!! I prepared exactly as directed by MG's excellent directions and produced exactly 15 biscuits. They were done in just about 10-11 minutes in my oven. Be sure to watch! Light and fluffy and just the right amount of sugar added for sweetness!! This recipe will become the standard biscuit recipe in my home. Thank you Mysterygirl for an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      Great tasting and easy to make. They freeze very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      My Mom made tea biscuits often when I was a kid. I have tried at different times to make them but alas could never quite get it right. Tried these Mile High and honestly "FIVE STARS" is not a high enough rating. The folks that had batter problems must have miss measured. I gently stired the milk in with a fork and did not knead the dough at all. Patted the dough on a floured board to 3/4" and cut the biscuits with a small wine glass. Used parchment paper on baking sheet instead of lightly greasing. My wife was amazed. Definetly, a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Okay I read all your reviews. All but two or three were aweful. I am not sure why they could not read insrtructions. I did EXACTLY what you said to do without missing ingredents. They are AWESOME!!!!!! My boys love them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Very delicious flavor. Don't make the mistake I did and try to get more than 15 biscuits out of the recipe - of course some were too thin - my fault! I also cut into squares to avoid working the dough too much. Will definitely keep this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      I've been wanting to try these for the longest time, and I did today. They turned out pretty good...the problems I had I believe were totally my fault. I think I handled the dough a little too much when kneading and then rolling it out...so heed the warning others have put on here about that!! I also think I rolled them out too thin, they were pretty flat. But the flavor was great, and I'll definitely try them again! My husband especially loved them...ate about 5 of them with dinner tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Thanks for sharing your biscuit recipe Mysterygirl. These were very easy to make and a nice treat. I didn't add sugar either as I am used to having them with jam and thought I should save on some calories :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites