212 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are hands down the best biscuits I've ever had. (and I've had plenty homemade biscuits). Not too dense, crisp on the outside, and fluffy on the inside. Tasty enough to eat with butter and nothing else!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I<3butter! April 28, 2009

These are great Biscuits. Usually my biscuits will turn out hard and flat, but these truly live up to their name. I made them with sausage gravy on top. yum!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 April 10, 2009

Had never made biscuits before, DW always did, but she was at a hockey game watching my niece play. I made "my" beef stew and discovered this recipe for biscuits... DW no longer makes biscuits ;)... 'nuf said! Straighforward, and yummy results with this recipe. Only difference was that instead of cutting with floured cutter I rolled it out and cut in squares with a knife (quick, less hassle). Thanks Mysterygirl, you saved the day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heat Freak March 17, 2009

Easy to make and very effective, kids loved both making it and eating it. Plus tonnes of possibilities for modifying the recipe - I used mixture of wholemeal and white flower, cut sugar and added emmental, next time will try adding some oregano. I am also thinking of doing a rye-based version with cummin. Thank you for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada February 27, 2009

These are the best homemade biscuits I've ever made. The remind me of KFC's biscuits. I love eating them with honey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne February 11, 2009

I know this really doesn't need another review but I just need to tell everyone that these are the BEST biscuits!! The only changes I made were to use 1 Tblsp. of sugar, patted out in rectangle, cut with knife and used parchment paper. The recipe was right on. Mine were done in exactly 12 minutes and were a picture perfect golden brown and had a nice rise to them. I served them with Fabulous Beef Stew posted by ratherbeswimmin'. By the way, if you haven't tried the stew yet, please do. I made it exactly as written and it was fabulous (just like the title says). Thanks for posting this Mysterygirl. I'll be using this from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY February 10, 2009

These biscuits were light and fluffy...just lovely. When I make them again, I think I'll only use 1tbls of sugar. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove January 29, 2009

Outstanding! As a novice baker I've tried other recipes and couldn't get them to work right, but this came out perfectly. Thank you so much. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes January 13, 2009

This is one recipe I would rate higher than 5 stars if I could!! DD wanted biscuits and gravy and I forgot to buy the biscuits. I normally don't care much for basic baking powder biscuits, but said I would make some, so went searching for a recipe. I did replace 1/2 the shortening with butter, but that was the only change. These are so good, with such a great flavor. They were tender and a recipe that is sure to be repeated. My whole family said these were really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 December 22, 2008
Mile High Biscuits