Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    212 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-212 of 212

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2004

      This recipe has now become my special breakfast secret. Everyone thinks I'm great when I make these. This is now my permanent biscuit recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

    • on September 28, 2004

      Although these are the first biscuits I've ever made they are without question the best any of us have ever tasted! Unlike the others at lunch, I found them a little too sweet with my soup but they were wonderful with a touch of jam along with my coffee at meal end. While I'm sure all that could be said about these biscuits has already been said ... one could not enjoy these biscuits and not thank the poster for this absolutely great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      This is an excellent recipe! The biscuits have a slightly sweet flavor and are very tender. They taste great the next day and the texture is still soft. I make them with my 4 and 8 year old daughters who love to use heart shaped, square, and triangle cookie cutters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      I have to go with the very few who had trouble with this recipe... the dough was VERY sticky ... I even checked my measurements twice before adding them... they didn't rise that much ... and didn't care for how dark they got... I handled the dough VERY little, but they still actually came out dense.... maybe I just don't know how to make biscuits..... :) I will try them again though, because I loved the flavor of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      These are great. I did have to halve the recipe as I only had 1/4 cup of shortening but I still ended up with 20 small biscuits. They were a great compliment to the soup that I served. I am glad that this recipe was your top recipe for "in most cookbooks" or I could have missed it! Thanks for recommending it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      These were good, but a little sweet for me. I will definently make again and cut the sugar a little, and add a little more salt...I wonder if I accidently left the salt out, because it definently needed more...huh?? Anyway, I will try again, I loved the soft insides, they melt in your mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      For the first time, I have made really good biscuits! This recipe is very easy to make. I was careful not to handle the dough any more than necessary, and patted it out rather than rolling it. I still think I may have patted it a little too thin, because they weren't a "mile high". Even so, for very little time and effort, you get some delicious biscuits. Certainly beats the ole' Biscuick drop biscuits! I have no idea why some of the cooks had batter that was too thin. Go on--give these a try. You won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      I made these and they are wonderful. I didnt even roll them out. I just used a spoon and dropped then right on the baking sheet. WONDERFUL!! Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      I cannot figure out how anyone could have a problem with these. They go together in a minute, taste great, look great and were a hit with my very picky family. I am at a loss as to how anyone came up with a poor review. These will become a camping favorite too -- better than the old Bisquick-beer bisquits. I didn't even roll them out. I patted them out. Next time, for home, I'll use half butter and half Crisco just to test the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      I'm glad to see I'm not the only one that didn't give this recipe 5-stars! I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with what looked like cake-batter. I had to add more flour just to be able to handle the dough, and the end result was a batch of flat biscuits that tastes like flour! Could everybody else have followed this same recipe??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      The recipe looks good, but where is the fiber?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes