Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mile High Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mile High Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    212 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 212

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2002

      Mysterygirl, these are Fab-u-lous!! I just finished one off and you can be sure I will be making these again. Very easy to put together. I was worried about the high heat, and they were very brown but very flaky and moist. Delicious with strawberry jam. I totally agree with Yooper. You have a winning recipe here. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      Wonderful recipe! After kneading the dough, I pat it into a rectangle 3/4" thick and use a knife to cut square biscuits. This is quicker than rolling it out & using a biscuit cutter and it produces a more tender result, because the less you handle the dough, the better. These biscuits brown quite a bit, but are so moist and delicious. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      I'm a southern gal who has always believed that a biscuit wasn't a biscuit unless it was made with buttermilk AND I was a little apprehensive about putting an egg in a biscuit recipe. I've been making "angel" biscuits for years, (the ones with yeast in the recipe)and seriously doubted that any recipe could beat that one. Boy was I wrong!! These biscuits are wonderful!!! I made them without adding the cream of tartar because I was out of it and they still came out absolutely perfect. Very tender, delicious and easy to make. Thanks Mystergirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      I've never made homemade biscuits before except out of a can. Babs in Toyland rak'ed me with a bag of "White Lilly" flour so I thought I'd put it to work. These were so light and fluffy, they just melted in your mouth! Thanks Mysterygirl for the awesome recipe and thanks to Babs for the flour. When word of this gets around, the doughboy (Pillsbury) just might be out of a job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Hi Mysterygirl, well these a wonderful. Very easy to make and they rise quickly. I used a smaller biscuit cutter and got thirty biscuits. Everyone loved them. You are right store bought could never taste like these. Thanks so much, this was a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      Hi Mysterygirl; Made these biscuits yesterday afternoon. They were easy to prepare, turned out tender, and tasted so-o-o-o good. I made exactly 15 biscuits, had the first 2 just a few minutes out of the oven, with butter, and WOW. Also, I made my CRABMEAT AND CORN SOUP. These biscuits went so well with the soup. I make pretty good biscuits as well, but I must say, these are better than mine, thanks for sharing with us. Next time I will try and add some grated Parmigiano Reggiano or Padano cheese for a little different flavor and will see what happens. Also, might try and add some dried Oregano or Italian Spaghetti Mix. Will let you know how they turn out. Otherwise, these biscuits are #1 on the list now. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      YANKEE MAKES BISCUITS...SCORES BIG TIME. I finally got to make these biscuits with my best friend leading me through every step. I am not a baker and had no clue what the "destructions" meant. We patted the dough rather than rolling as my friend knows I am allergic to rolling pins. cut them with a biscuit cutter (her tool, not mine) We used butter for the shortening and the biscuits came out of the oven moist with a crispy outer shell. She told me to say that??? She also said this recipe was very easy, and is an excellent dough to work with. OK, all I know is that they were really good and I am going to make sausage gravy tomorrow morning to put on the biscuits and I am going to eat it all myself and not share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      OK, OK, I used buttermilk instead of real milk, but they were fabulous just the same. The temperature for cooking them with the buttermilk had to be a little lower. I crisped the first batch a little, but that was my husband's fault, he wanted chili with his biscuits (sheesh) and I got distracted. For me personally, I could have eaten only biscuits for dinner and been just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      These biscuits were so tender! I didn't add the cream of tartar and they still came out great. Next time, though, I might only add 1T. sugar - they were a little sweet for my taste. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. They browned beautifully - I added just a little more milk than the recipe called for and turned them into drop biscuits - everyone loved them. I'll be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      My very very first biscuit making was an absolute SMASH HIT, thanks to your wonderful, easy to follow recipe!!! They turned out perfectly..can't say enough good things about them...I ate one right out of the oven with some jelly..oooh, I was in biscuit heaven!! Then I had one with dinner..these things are perfect for sopping up gravy. Even my broken legged boyfriend, who btw, is NOT a bread eater by nature, said these were the best biscuits he's ever had...I about fell over! thank you for this recipe...I CAN make biscuits!!! woo hoo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      WOW! it worked, I have TRIED to make biscuits before and I got little stones, but after reading how good these are and from hearing how a certain respected Uncle Bill raved about them I decided to give it a shot... I can now say that I CAN make biscuits and really GOOD ones too! I served them with buttercup0009's Slowcook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy and wow! Thanks Mysterygirl, so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      AWESOME! These were the absolute best biscuits I've ever made. (I've won blue ribbons for my biscuits...I just threw away my biscuit recipes!) Tender, flakey, great taste....awesome! I made Sausage Gravy and topped them with eggs...WOW! Thanks so much for bringing this recipe to us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      I loved these biscuits, and that's saying a lot because I don't really like biscuits. Usually biscuits just taste dry and floury, but the sugar in this recipe gave the biscuits a slightly sweet taste that was out of this world. I've even been grabbing these for a snack. This has become a staple recipe in our house. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      MG, what can I say that everyone hasn't already said? Great biscuit! I made these for a breakfast supper with country gravy. They turned out perfect. I omited the sugar.....again must be a southern thing but obviously the recipe didn't need it. Just a personal preference. I cut them in squares so not to handle the dough too much and they turned out very tender and flaky. Ya done good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      yummy, yummy! i left out the sugar and added almost a cup of old cheddar. they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      I loved how easy these were to make, they did rise beautufully but they were a little sweet for my deep-south taste. Biscuits aren't generally made with sugar in the south. I'll try omitting the sugar next time and see if they still turn out. I'll add it back if they're not as pretty and high, it'll be worth the presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      These were very good and easy to make. I also just made a rectangle and cut them without cookie cutters (didn't feel like looking for one) and they turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      These were absolutely delicious. They reminded me of those Grand Pillsbury Biscuits. I loved them. I have been lookin for a recipe like this for a while, and now I have found one. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Great Biscuits! I was a little concerned that I over worked the dough, but they turn out perfectly. I can't wait to use this recipe with biscuits and gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      Would give these 10 stars if I could. Absolutely out of this world. Came out dark brown but perfect. My dh eats about 3 every meal. Some times more. Thanks for posting. Myrna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mile High Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (877 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites