20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent moist meatloaf with great flavour. DH loved it and he usually hates my meatloaf.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara October 10, 2002

I agree, an excellent meatloaf, but ours was dry because Dh likes it that way-thinks it makes better sandwiches. Cut the cayenne in half (and that was about right for us) and didn't add any milk. Dh is happy, thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 13, 2003

Absolutely delicious! The family said "the best meatloaf we've ever had!" Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 March 08, 2010

Not bad for a meatloaf. I feel that it may have deserved 4 stars, but we didn't follow the recipe exact, so I can't rate it less for altering it. We used ground turkey instead of beef & pork(healthier) and the BBQ sauce was sweet and tangy. I could have done without the BBQ sauce myself and instead used ketchup. I'm not a "twang" person, though my BH is. Otherwise, we followed the recipe as noted. I would have used a bit more sourcream instead of using any milk. We liked the way it cut and I did have a sandwich the next day...no complaints. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat March 07, 2009

This makes for a wonderful sandwich. Didn't use the cayenne, cause some don't like hot. Served with sliced pickled jalapenos for those that did. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ July 02, 2008

Awesome meatloaf. This was moist and full of lavor. If you like spicy this is the loaf for you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSAN N. February 10, 2008

There was so much to love about this easy recipe, we've decided to adopt it as our regular version. Like many other reviewers, I didn't find a need for any milk as it was absolutely perfect as it was, though I did cut the cayenne in half. Oh... and I also topped the meatloaf with 3 pieces of smoky bacon, then removed them for the last 10 minutes of cook time so the top of the loaf could brown up with a quick brush of bbq sauce, which it did beautifully. Thank you, Miss Annie, for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) July 11, 2007

This was a very nice meatloaf with a GREAT flavor. Next time I think I will use decrease the pork portion (or use meatloaf mix) since the pork seems to make the texture a little more fragile. We really enjoyed leftovers on a soft hoagie bun with horseradish sauce. Thanks so much Miss Annie! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 09, 2007

Ny family enjoyed this. I felt it was just ok. May make this again later. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 01, 2005

I suggest a basic BBQ sauce - I used a honey hickory BBQ sauce as that is all I had on hand and although I thought the sweet and hot flavors should compliment each other, they didn't in this recipe. This was a nice change from the basic meatloaf. A Must Try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady August 30, 2005
Milagro Meatloaf