26 Reviews

These were amazing! I made this for a large Christmas dinner. I should have tripled the recipe because they went so fast. I was concerned since I had to leave out the paprika due to someone with severe allergy. I substituted fresh mushrooms and used onion soup mix. I made again later for myself and added the paprika. Both dishes were absolutely fabulous! Thank you for sharing! It will be my Christmas dish from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldsb67 February 03, 2010

I used fresh whole mushrooms and sauteed them and used 1 1/2 tsp Au Jus mix with water and milk. It cuts down on the saltiness of the Au Jus mix. Hungarian Paprika is great in this dish. And my husband could have a few bites. We love mushrooms and this is a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song August 10, 2008

Very tasty! Look wonderful. And , for me, so exotic! Extremely easy to prepare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae July 17, 2003

I spent most of my childhood up to mid-twenties hating mushrooms. I'm finally coming around to liking them and this recipe solidified that for me. I didn't have any soup mix so I used some homemade beef stock in place of the water. It was delicious. I do think I left it on slightly too long, the mushrooms were still moist but I had less actual sauce than I would have preferred. I served it poured over thick cut pork chops and white rice. Will be doing this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha W. June 28, 2015

Not impressed! Second recipe I've tried from this website and was disappointed with both. I tried the Neiman Marcus recipe for chocolate cookies as well. I tried these recipes because of the high ratings and great comments. I followed both recipes to the T and I don't know where the exceptional flavors are that were mentioned in the ratings. Took this dish to a Christmas potluck dinner and brought most of it home. Sorry, I tried but I think I'll stick to my old favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yolip December 14, 2014

These mushrooms went very well with a steak dinner. I used chicken broth and fresh mushrooms. The only comment I would make is to make sure that the mushrooms don't cook any more than 8 minutes or they will start to release their juices. Thanks for the posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl May 10, 2010

This is a wonderful dish! I made it as a stuffing for red and yellow peppers for my vegetarian family members at our Seder. I used two baskets of chopped white mushrooms and one of baby bellas. I parboiled the peppers and used a little of the flavored water instead of plain water and used plain salt instead of the soup mix. Looked beautiful and everyone thought they tasted great. They gobbled them up and asked for the recipe before they went home. Yummy, Mirj, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squirmmom March 31, 2010

These are some fabulous mushrooms! So easy to make, too. I used butter instead of oil, but that's all I changed. Thanx for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 28, 2008

Fantastic!! Quite possibly the best mushroom recipe I've tried. I skipped the oil, instead "sauteeing" the onions in water. I used four 4.5-oz jars of button mushrooms, and onion soup mix. This is officially a staple. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner October 16, 2008
Mifgash Mushrooms