Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Middle Eastern Green Beans and Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Middle Eastern Green Beans and Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      This was a terrific side dish and I didn't even add in the allspice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

    • on January 31, 2012

      Very good for DD1 (4 years old) and I but I did use Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix instead of allspice which is a common substitution I make, I also used a larger quantity. I omitted the sugar to be healthier and used frozen green beans and a bit of extra garlic. I did not add the pepper as there was already a significant amount in the spice mix and I added sea salt, to taste, not measure. I did not think the parsley would go well with this so I didn't use that option. Like others I had to add the additional water but that may be because I used drained canned tomatoes rather than fresh ones. I served this over rice as a main vegetarian dish. I would make this again for myself but not DH as he doesn't like green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was easy enough to put together and I really liked the flavors. Only thing I would do next time is not serve it over rice as recommended. I liked it better just as a nice green bean side dish. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      A very nice way to prepare fresh green beans. It was served over steamed basmati rice. I used roma tomatoes and did find that the dish required more than the 1/4 cup water that was suggested. Made for *ZWT6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This turned out surprisingly well, and was quite tasty. I do have a few suggestions to make about the actual recipe, though: unless you have very wet tomatoes, or are using canned ones, you will almost assuredly need the extra 1/4 cup water (and next time, I plan to use more). The recipe doesn't state how high to cook at during the final cooking phase -- we guessed it was low heat. Finally, keep an eye on it during that final phase -- we didn't, and the mixture got baked to the pan and was too dry (which is why we'll be adding more water next time). Still, it ended up being quite good tasting, despite all these problems! Edited to add: we've now made this several more times, and it gets better each time. I recommend using lots of extra garlic. Also, we like having it over pasta instead of rice sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This was easy to whip up and feels very healthy, but we found it pretty bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Yummy! This was so good. I can't wait to make it again. Even my 4 and 8 year olds cleared there plates

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Wonderful dish! We're not too familiar with Middle Eastern cooking so the combination of flavors in this dish were quite new to us. DH and I both enjoyed this and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Wow! This was delicious! I wanted a quick after work dinner for 2, so I used a can of Muir Glen organic diced tomatoes with basil and garlic (and one fresh, large tomato diced) and a can of organic french cut green beans. I also didn't have any allspice so I omitted that and the sugar. I served it over brown rice. I served it as a main dish with toasted english muffins (like Tomato on Toast). Some possible variations would be to add slivered almonds or shredded chicken. This was SO good and easy to make! I will definitely make again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      This was fabulous! I did serve it a bit differently so maybe that is why our review is higher. Instead of plain rice I served it over a Rice & Orzo Pilaf (#134294)as a side dish to Lebanese Chicken. The flavors complimented each other so well and it was an outstanding dinner. I am glad I gave this recipe a go!!! Thanks Kumquat and your friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      We had this for a quick and simple lunch. I did saute the onion and garlic together, the green beans were canned cut green beans and I used the canned tomatoes. The allspice was a nice flavor with the green beans and tomaotes over the rice. Will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      I made this as a main dish for our evening meal. Although initially I was a bit apprehensive about using allspice (the strong flavour can take over sometimes) but it worked really well and added a warm depth to the flavours. As a main dish this is a very pleasant, easy to make weekday dish. I imagine it will work great as a side dish too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      I ended up using italian seasoning and Mrs. Dash in this because for some reason my printed copy of this recipe did not include the seasonings. I also used about 8 cloves of garlic, roasted and coursly chopped, because we like roasted garlic, and larger pieces are not as harsh. My dh didn't care for this dish, but I think it would be better with the correct seasoning. Definately serve the rice with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Middle Eastern Green Beans and Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.2
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    29%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 310.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites