Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwaved ' Baked' Egg Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwaved ' Baked' Egg Custard

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2010

      All I have to say is yum - I'm too busy trying not to eat it all in one sitting. I made six individual custard cups, so cut down the cooking time a little. It was very good - tastes just like the custard my mom used to make. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe. Just made this again for about the fifth time. I feel so bad for the few people who had trouble with this. I think maybe they cooked at too high a temperature. They are missing out on an easy to make, awesome custard. I pour this into six custard cups after heating the milk initially and mixing with the egg and sugar. I cook 4 minutes on medium, stir and cook for an additional 3 1/2 to 4 minutes on medium. Good luck to all of you who try this and happy eating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      The flavor was great but like others it was watery. I wonder if using 2% milk instead of whole milk or half and half makes a difference. I will try it again with a fattier milk and let you know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This is exactly what it is billed 'a quick easy egg custard'! Hit the spot when I was looking for some soft comfort food after dental work. This was plenty sweet for me although I admit my 1/4 cup was heaping. I need to tweak a bit more for my 1000 watt microwave - it was a bit watery (but I ate it all). I did the milk at 3:20 full power, the custard at 20 minutes 30% power - stirred at 6 minutes, and 15 minutes - more like whisked with a fork. Its not silky smooth like a traditional custard but the taste is all there. Perfect for a quick custard fix!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      OK in a pinch, but doesn't really compare to real baked custard. I added more sugar - definitely needs it. Mine came out a bit lumpy and watery in spots, but that may be because I stirred more than once during the cooking process. I doubt I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This recipe didn't turn out for me at all. It's lumpy and as it's cooling it's becoming more and more watery. The taste also isn't sweet enough for my liking, certainly not as sweet as my typical baked custard recipe. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I was so hungary for custard and didn't want to wait. I substituted Splenda for sugar. Then followed recipe. Did mine in 2 custard cups. One at a time. Cooked on 1/2 (50%)power for 4 minutes. Stirred, cooked another 1 1/2 min. Looked a little lumpy, but pulled it out and beat the h... out of it til it looked smooth. And hoped for the best. Wow it is so good. I just finished the one custard cup, was only going to eat half, kept going back for another spoonful. Saving the other for breakfast. After all it is milk and eggs, breakfast food. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      YUCK! It came out like watery lumpy scrambled eggs!!!! I followed the directions to a T. Will stick to real baked custard from now on! A waste of milk and eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      This hit the spot on a day when I needed comfort food. I used vanilla soymilk and splenda. It worked like a champ. My microwave has twice the watts...so I used 40%--checking every 2 minutes... Yum. Thank you Jen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      It does taste just like egg custard with much less fuss. I substituted soy milk for real milk. It works, but does make things tricky. I believe the soymilk separated as there seemed to be a lot of water which needed boiling off. I have 800w microwave, so cooked it at 40% power. I'd guess we ended up cooking it for 30 minutes in the end and it ended up being lumpy. I think if I'd stirred it more often from the start it would have been a bit smoother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      Having made this twice now, I'd say that because eggs are so sensitive, the temperature is more important than the time. I have an 800 watt microwave, so using the 1/2 power directions, the custard came out kinda lumpy. At 40% power, it took longer to cook than the directions say but did develop a nice silky texture. Do not cover the pan - not that it says to, but because my dish came with a lid I automatically put it on there, and it doesn't work with the lid on. I've been getting intermittent, inexplicable custard cravings in the summers when I really do not want to turn on the oven, so this is good for that. This would actually be quite healthy with the suggested berries. With maple syrup drizzled over it, it tasted a great deal like flan with much less work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      My family loved this! Very quick and easy to make. I did only cook for 4 min instead of 5 in the second cooking, other than that I followed the recipe exactally. Thanks Jen I will use this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      Tasted just like the egg custard of my childhood - the kind that had to be baked in the oven for an hour or more, sitting in a hot water pan. The texture was perfect. Hard to believe it took only 12 minutes. I have made it for very picky friends and they love it, too. I made mine with skim milk cause that was all I had, and it still tasted superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Lovely flavour to this; not too sweet, just right! I cooked it at medium setting. It was fine for the first half, but I needed to watch it more closely than I did for the second half. When it was supposed to be done, it was bubbled and overcooked at the edges, and still not done in the centre. I gave it another stir, and cooked it a little longer, but the texture did suffer a bit. I will make this again, because it is very quick and easy and the taste was great, but I will be sure to watch it more carefully, and probably stir it twice instead of just the once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      Enjoyed this! The texture and the taste was very nice. Made for a quick comfy dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwaved ' Baked' Egg Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.5
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    39%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 156.5 mg
    52%
    Sodium 113.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes