Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave - Spaghetti Squash, Small Hubbard Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave - Spaghetti Squash, Small Hubbard Squash

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2013

      I made this last night using a little 1 lb spaghetti squash from our garden last summer (they are easy to grow and keep really well!). It took about 7 minutes. I used a knife to puncture it on opposing sides. It looked scary-cool as steam shot out of both sides. I turned it twice, carefully repiercing when one hole stopped steaming. This was an easy, fast way to cook spaghetti squash. However, it's not for kids to make. Too much danger from steam and sharp implements.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      This is how we've been cooking our winter squash for many years. Acorn and butternut squash, too. Perfect every time. Tips: Be sure to prick the squash twice deeply with a fork, place on paper towels to catch any spills, and rotate the squash midway through cooking. Use caution when removing from the microwave, as squash will be very hot and will continue to steam and cook for several minutes more. When squash is cool enough to handle, carefully slice open and scoop out the seeds and any tough, stringy parts. Serve seasoned with salt and pepper and fresh butter. Yum! Thank you, Montana Heart Song, for sharing this most excellent recipe! :) Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      I cooked my spaghetti squash this way and it took only about 10 minutes! My microwave does not have a "power" option, only a turn dial for time. I cooked my whole squash without vent holes, and I rolled it over halfway through. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This method worked very well and saved dinner as my DH wasn't home in time to cut the squash! And while I would still rather cut the squash in half and bake it as usual, this is a great option to have. Cooking the squash did take about 15 minutes longer for me (still on 70% power), but still took less time than the oven! I also used a bit more salt and butter, then topped each portion with parmesan (our favorite way to eat spaghetti squash). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I gave this 3 stars. I'm rerating this recipe as I have since again tried it. The first time I made this recipe I cut my spaghetti squash in half and microwaved as directed. My squash never got completely done. This after baking it in the oven for 1 hour. Then taking it out mirowaving then returning to the oven for 15 minutes. Maybe it was my squash. After I added my ingredients from Low Carb Baked Spaghetti Squash With Garlic Sage Cream I then retuned it to the microwave another 5 minutes and it came out so tender and just perfect. This time I followed the directions but my squash didn't completely cook but enough that I was able to finish cooking it. Overall I will do my squash this way again. Thanks for posting a good recipe christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is a great way to cook squash but I cut mine in half. Put in a Microwaveble dish with 1/4 cup of water and cover with Saran wrap. Its takes about 12 to 15 minutes. Also try adding some Parmesan sprinkled on top. This way it dosnt explode and the wrap helps it to steam. Hard to cut but worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      So simple, so good. Obviously must observe caution about your own microwave, which truly cuts cooking time. Mine did fine according to directions. This is easy to prepare for BASIC, then dress up as you please. I added tiny bit of ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      These instructions work well. I have a 1000-Watt microwave and I cook a spaghetti squash for about 15 minutes on 60%. I do check it 2 or 3 times and turn it over so the skin gets more evenly soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I really wish I could give this more stars, but this didn't work for me. I was following the directions-- in fact I had poked a lot more holes in the spaghetti squash and I had cooked it at 70% power. So far so good. Three minutes into the high power cooking, the squash exploded in the microwave...or rather out of the microwave and all over the kitchen. What was left on the shattered shell pieces was great, but cleaning the microwave up (yay it still works!) along with everything else coated in squash strands kinda dampened my enthusiasm for dinner. If you want to try this, definitely proceed with caution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This is the only way to fly....I mean cook squash. Love it, easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave - Spaghetti Squash, Small Hubbard Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.9
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    10%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 632.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spaghetti squash

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites