10 Reviews

I made this last night using a little 1 lb spaghetti squash from our garden last summer (they are easy to grow and keep really well!). It took about 7 minutes. I used a knife to puncture it on opposing sides. It looked scary-cool as steam shot out of both sides. I turned it twice, carefully repiercing when one hole stopped steaming. This was an easy, fast way to cook spaghetti squash. However, it's not for kids to make. Too much danger from steam and sharp implements.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf January 21, 2013

This is how we've been cooking our winter squash for many years. Acorn and butternut squash, too. Perfect every time. Tips: Be sure to prick the squash twice deeply with a fork, place on paper towels to catch any spills, and rotate the squash midway through cooking. Use caution when removing from the microwave, as squash will be very hot and will continue to steam and cook for several minutes more. When squash is cool enough to handle, carefully slice open and scoop out the seeds and any tough, stringy parts. Serve seasoned with salt and pepper and fresh butter. Yum! Thank you, Montana Heart Song, for sharing this most excellent recipe! :) Becky

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR October 17, 2011

I cooked my spaghetti squash this way and it took only about 10 minutes! My microwave does not have a "power" option, only a turn dial for time. I cooked my whole squash without vent holes, and I rolled it over halfway through. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissChiChi March 05, 2010

This method worked very well and saved dinner as my DH wasn't home in time to cut the squash! And while I would still rather cut the squash in half and bake it as usual, this is a great option to have. Cooking the squash did take about 15 minutes longer for me (still on 70% power), but still took less time than the oven! I also used a bit more salt and butter, then topped each portion with parmesan (our favorite way to eat spaghetti squash). Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie January 05, 2010

I gave this 3 stars. I'm rerating this recipe as I have since again tried it. The first time I made this recipe I cut my spaghetti squash in half and microwaved as directed. My squash never got completely done. This after baking it in the oven for 1 hour. Then taking it out mirowaving then returning to the oven for 15 minutes. Maybe it was my squash. After I added my ingredients from Low Carb Baked Spaghetti Squash With Garlic Sage Cream I then retuned it to the microwave another 5 minutes and it came out so tender and just perfect. This time I followed the directions but my squash didn't completely cook but enough that I was able to finish cooking it. Overall I will do my squash this way again. Thanks for posting a good recipe christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut September 26, 2008

This is a great way to cook squash but I cut mine in half. Put in a Microwaveble dish with 1/4 cup of water and cover with Saran wrap. Its takes about 12 to 15 minutes. Also try adding some Parmesan sprinkled on top. This way it dosnt explode and the wrap helps it to steam. Hard to cut but worth the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britgal January 28, 2008

So simple, so good. Obviously must observe caution about your own microwave, which truly cuts cooking time. Mine did fine according to directions. This is easy to prepare for BASIC, then dress up as you please. I added tiny bit of ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foggy Kitchen July 18, 2007

These instructions work well. I have a 1000-Watt microwave and I cook a spaghetti squash for about 15 minutes on 60%. I do check it 2 or 3 times and turn it over so the skin gets more evenly soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn June 01, 2007

I really wish I could give this more stars, but this didn't work for me. I was following the directions-- in fact I had poked a lot more holes in the spaghetti squash and I had cooked it at 70% power. So far so good. Three minutes into the high power cooking, the squash exploded in the microwave...or rather out of the microwave and all over the kitchen. What was left on the shattered shell pieces was great, but cleaning the microwave up (yay it still works!) along with everything else coated in squash strands kinda dampened my enthusiasm for dinner. If you want to try this, definitely proceed with caution!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darthlaurie September 13, 2006

This is the only way to fly....I mean cook squash. Love it, easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krsi Sue March 16, 2006
Microwave - Spaghetti Squash, Small Hubbard Squash