Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Roux Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Roux

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2007

      I couldnt believe this worked! I am from New Orleans and thought that there couldnt possibly be a way for this to work? Amen! I will never stand in front of the stove for 45 min to make a roux.You would have thought I won the Lotto I called everyone I knew to tell them about this recipe.Thank You My life is changed forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I am excited to find this recipe and it works wonderfully if you follow the directions. I halved the recipe the first time, but did not cut cook time...BIG MISTAKE...I did not know so much smoke could come out of a microwave. Anyway, I trashed that batch and started over...it worked perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I'm giving this five stars on faith and out of respect to the others, who had better success---and I think I will, too, next time, IF I make sure that my glass bowl is indeed Pyrex! I THOUGHT it was, and I've microwaved in it before, but maybe not for 7+ minutes. Let me tell you, 'Zaar friends, you have NEVER seen a mess like a batch of exploding roux makes when the bowl cracks! Sounded like a shotgun went off in that microwave. I'll say this, though: the oozing swamp of roux was a beautiful golden brown, and tasted delicious, once it cooled enough for me to clean it off the bottom, sides, roof, and door of my poor oven! I guess my point is: check your bowl to make sure it's Pyrex!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I can't exactly rate the recipe - I used my own - but the method is dead on perfect. A real revelation. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I have a 900 watt microwave, and it took about 12-13 minutes. Next time I may try using a little less oil, maybe a third or quarter less. This works better than the stove top method. The flour cooks much more evenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I'd call this recipe more of a gumbo base than a straight roux, but I used its technique to make some roux for gravy. It's hard to give microwave directions without noting the wattage, but I used 3/4 cup AP flour to 3/4 cup peanut oil in a 1200W Microwave oven with turntable and cooked it for 5 minutes 30 seconds on high, and it came out peanut-butter roux, which is just what I wanted. I'm thrilled to never have to make pan roux again, so 5 stars, baby! Warning: the Pyrex cup (real old-fashioned borosilicate Pyrex) handle was extremely hot, as was the oil. Treat this with extreme caution, especially because you're going to be pouring hot roux into cold sauce and it will splatter at the interface.

      Also, there was too much oil in my recipe - I had to pour some off. I read elsewhere it's supposed to be equal parts by weight, not by volume. I'll try that next time with my scale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I was making cream of mushroom soup today for lunch and added WAY too much half-and-half. Being hungry, I searched for a quick roux on the internet and ran into this recipe. I admit that I didn't follow this recipe too closely (instead, I just used equal parts of butter and flour and had to cook it about 3min), but up to this point I had NO idea that roux could be made this quickly! I'll have to make it with the onions, etc. next time. Thanks for sharing a great technique, Leslie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      The last time I made a traditional roux for gumbo, I stood in front of the stove for 45 minutes. Using the microwave, it took about 10 minutes total (that includes the stir time inbetween). This actually works really well. And it's most likely the best roux I've made yet. The proof will be tonight when I get to taste the fruits of my labor in the Gumbo Gumbo that's in the slow cooker right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I was very skeptical when I saw this posted because I have literally spent hours in the kitchen slow cooking my roux until it was perfectly brown. I tried this and let me tell you it is awesome. I will never stand over the stove again! I did add Tony Chachere's creole seasoning and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This was very quick and easy. It came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      I am so happy to find this recipe,what a time saver and it is wonderful.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Roux

    Serving Size: 1 (859 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.8
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    74%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 29.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites