Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / microwave risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    microwave risotto

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2011

      My microwave is a powerful one and the onions burned during the first steps. And all this liquid wouldn't fit into a pie plate, so I used a casserole dish. Then after the two 9 minute cooking steps, it was still very soupy, so I added another 5 minutes. It came out dark brown and gummy, not really the way risotto should look. But the flavor was still good. I was making for myself, so I was happy, but if it had been for company, I'd have been disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This is an excellant recipe! I do have to adjust the cooking time for the onions. I use shallots in place of the onions. I also add rosemary and marsala wine--no saffron. I served this with braised lamb shanks and it was a definite hit. T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This is a recipe I kept meaning to post, as I could never find the book when I wanted to make it - how great to find it already posted. Borrow the book from the library for conversions to different quantities and also for some tasty variations. I'm looking forward to lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Apparently my microwave must have different wattage because my onion overcooked and I had to add 7 more minutes at the end to absorb the liquid. My rice fell apart and was mushier than stove-top (or even oven) risotto. It was nice and quick and still has good flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      really good recipe. have tried microwave risotto before but never had it turn out as well as this. added chicken, spinach and peas and it was awesome. next time i'll throw a little white wine in as well. initially there was far too much unabsorbed liquid so i microwaved for an extra six minutes and all was good in the end. great stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      As I usually find with microwave cooking, the result wasn't quite a traditional risotto, but it was close, and this risotto is soooo much easier and faster than the stovetop method, that I think it is worth the tradeoff. Definitely you need to adjust the cooktimes to your own microwave as that varies greatly. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      How about that? It worked and the risotto tasted great. Next time I will need to adjust the amount of time I cook the onion as mine got a bit too done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Easy side dish to make! Taste is great. I had to switch the rice from the pie dish to a small casserole to hold the 4 cups of broth. Great flavor! Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Fantabulous to say the least. Next time I will add more saffron. Trick I learned from a Chef at a 5 star restaurant. . .always stir in some butter right before you serve it to make even more rich and creamy! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This risotto is delicious and so easy to do. At the end, there was liquid so I had to put it back in the microwave a good 5 minutes. Thanks Chia. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Wow! I am really, really love this recipe. I had to make myself put the spoon down so I wouldn't down anymore rice. Just great! I followed this exactly; including the times indicated. This was as creamy and yummy risotto as I had ever made. I added chicken breasts to mine (boneless, skinless chicken breasts that had been previously cooked) and it turned out absolutely perfect! Will use this from now on. So easy and no stirring. Hallelujah! Thanks so much, chia! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      This was very tasty and easy. I did not have to stand around and stir! Be sure to use arborio rice, as short-grain just won't turn out right! I cooked mine a tad too long, though and it wasn't as creamy as chia's photo. Remember, microwaves vary greatly! Made for Spring 2008 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Chia this was delicious and so easy, I used 1 small onion and also fresh garlic, I did add in the saffron, I love that stuff! thanks for sharing this great recipe!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I made this and ended up with a sort of acceptable pilaf, except made with short-grain rice. It's hard to imagine anyone mistaking my result with a traditional creamy risotto. Others may have had better luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      I have never cooked anything other than porridge in my microwave. So I was a bit sceptical about this. Especially when I saw no water at all in the recipe. However it is a good recipe that does the job perfectly. It frees up the stove, gets rid of the stirring and gives you a great result. Can't ask for much more than that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for microwave risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.4
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    37%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 532.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    saffron strands

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites