14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVE this method! Who would have thought you could put popcorn kernels into a paper bag and come out with perfect popcorn?! I have always loved microwave popcorn for the convenience, BUT hated the artificial ingredients and the amt. of salt in them. So, I usually air pop the popcorn or pop in a pot. This version gives me the quickness and convenience of microwave popcorn without the unwanted ingredients! I tried it with the parmesan garlic topping. The only thing I would change is to dump the popcorn in a bowl first, then add a little butter (instead of oil) and the rest of the toppings. I found that trying to mix it in the bag, the oil and toppings seemed to coat only the top layer. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 10, 2011

My kids love the kettle corn, I use icing (powdered) sugar. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom March 17, 2014

I tried the taco and really liked the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 18, 2012

I give 5 stars because this was awesome, but I did have to tweak it a little. I have a REALLY OLD microwave, which isn't your fault, so I had to make it work for me. Also I was unsure as to what position the bag should be (laying down or sitting upright). Here's what works for me: I put the popcorn only in a brown paper lunch bag and folded it over twice (1 inch fold each). I set it upright on top of an inverted microwave/oven safe pie pan, and popped the corn on high for 3 minutes. It popped beautifully! SWEET!! I tried the olive oil/garlic salt and Parmesan combination using my own taste as a guide. It was really good, but I think I prefer plain old butter and salt. I haven't tried the others yet, but I think I might dissolve the sugar in some coconut oil and try the kettle corn version. I usually make my popcorn on the stove and this is soooo much better for calories and cleanup! It's a win/win!! Thank KelBel! 8~)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJunkieGina November 13, 2011

Love this method of cooking popcorn! I tried the garlic parmesan topping but used garlic powder instead of salt. I used to buy the microwave popcorn but not anymore!!! Thanks for this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 16, 2011

Yahoo! This is terrific. My family stood looking critical of the whole process and then fought over the results! Thanks for the great snack. We will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian February 03, 2009

Great easy way to do popcorn, which I've been using for years. I find it so simple for one person. Only tried the kettle corn topping but didn't care for how the sugar didn't dissolves, so tried it with splenda and liked it much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMae October 01, 2008

Cant beilive i never reviewed this. My kids and I used this recipe as part of a science lesson and it has become a big favorite. the each make there own bags and mix up there own topping. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ang_can_cook February 08, 2008

I'm so glad to have tried this recipe. It's so easy to do. I tried the Kettle Corn Topping and I loved it. Sweet and salty mmmmm :p We'll try more different flavours later. Thanks KelBel :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 07, 2008
Microwave Popcorn Three Ways