Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Poached Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Poached Eggs

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-177 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2005

      After a moderately intense morning workout this was a fast burst of protein (as I was out of my usual hard boiled eggs). I needed 1 mine 10 seconds to cook 2 and I left off the plastic wrap with no problems. I also used smaller ramekins (4 oz) and I was worried but it worked just fine. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      This was a quick and easy way to make a poached egg. Only had to cook mine for 45 seconds. Only had one casuality. Guess I didn't pierce the yolk good enough. Thanks PaulaG. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      This is a wonderful way to poach eggs! My microwave is a 1350 watt so I had to loose a couple of eggs before I got it. (power at 6 for 60 seconds)But we have chickens so loosing a couple of eggs is no big deal.This is the only way to go from now on...Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      1 minute did it for me--a perfect poached egg, which I devoured on toast liberally peppered. What a great tip, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      It works. I used a paper towel rather than plastic wrap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      So simple and yet effective. Combine with this cooking turkey bacon in microwave oven for two minutes - and I'll have a perfect breakfast in the table under 5 minutes! I'm still looking for that perfect timing for a slightly runny yoke though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      A very special friend of mind tried these after I had mentioned them to her, and said they were perfect! Soooooo, I HAD to try them myself and with great results I might add! I had my reservations, as my micro is merely a warming device, but in 60 seconds, presto, a great poached egg! Thanks! :) I gave it 5 stars on simplicity alone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      I could not believe how easy this was to make! And to think I've been making soft boiled eggs all these years because I was so intimidated by the "old fashioned" way to make poached ones. Oh boy! I love this new trick! Thanks Paula!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      I almost feel like writing a press release so the world knows how to poach eggs like this!!! Poached Eggs are my all time favorite!!! This was so easy and so fast!! I will never use another method!!! Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Very easy to make and the eggs turn out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      Wow! How come the whole world doesn't know about this technique? (I guess they do now LOL) I just made myself a poached egg on toast and it was both tasty and lovely to look at, perfectly round; close to perfection. I'll just have to experiment a bit with timing, as I nuked my egg the full minute and the yolk was done a wee bit too much for my liking; no big deal, I'll just use less time next time. And there certainly will be a next time, and a time after that, etc etc. I have always prided myself on being able to poach eggs, but this simple microwave method is much easier and of course much faster. This is MY WAY from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Perfect. Here's how I adapted to be able to do these at work. No vinegar. I took a coffee cup and put the water and the eggs in it. I popped the yolks just to be safe and then microwaved them for one minute. I drained the water off really well and added a small amount of butter and enjoyed them so much. Thank you so much for a healthy solution to the breakfast at work problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      I thought this recipe was terrific! I bought one of those 4 egg, "set in a pan of boiling water" type egg poachers and generally made a mess. Also it was hard to judge doneness. One try with your method and I had the perfect poached egg in one fifth the time in a custard cup. Subsequent attempts at the same power level produced identical results! By the way, I found that gently pouring the cooked egg into a small strainer or slotted spoon was a lot easier than trying to scoop out the egg from the custard cup. I threw out the 4-egg pan and bought more custard cups. A big-time thank you for the nifty labor saver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      I was always afraid to try eggs in the microwave for fear of exploding. After reading the two reviews, I cooked my egg for 50 seconds and then let it sit in the hot water after removing from the microwave oven. The best part was that there was no pan to wash. Thanks once again, Paula for this great recipe and tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

    • on April 27, 2005

      I use a 'microwave egg poacher' dish....add some hot water, spray the egg cups with pam, and cover. Cook on 60% power for 35 SECONDS only....allow to sit for 2 minutes and VOILA! PERFECT soft cooked poached eggs! No need to prick the yolks when using a covered container, and on 60% power. Been doing poached eggs this way for YEARS. Less mess and fuss! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      It took me a third try to get this cooked the way I like it. The first one that cooked for one minute was hard. The second one cooked for 45 seconds was too sloppy and under done for me. The third try worked like a charm. I have a 1,000 watt microwave and cooked the egg for 53 seconds. Next time I think I can cook it for 50 seconds and then just let rest in the water for a few seconds longer to continue cooking it gently. This is SOOOO much faster and much easier cleanup compared to cooking in a saucepan. Although I love poached eggs, I've never liked the mess of poaching eggs, so I started cooking soft boiled eggs... but even then I couldn't get the timing just right or they broke when I attempted to get the shell off. This is THE way to go for me from now on. Thanks PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Poached Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.6
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 73.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites