178 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you are in a hurry this is definately the way to go and cleaning up is a breeze. I did the first one for the DM and did 1 minute and then a further 10 seconds for a hard egg for her. I did mine for a minute but will cut this back to 50 seconds as I like it a bit runnier/softer than what it was. I have a 900watt microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 01, 2008

I love poached eggs but never made them for myself. My daddy always made them when I was younger but they seemed like they were time consuming to make. This method is so quick and easy. I had to adjust the time for my microwave. The first egg I cooked for 50 seconds and that was a bit much so I cut it to 40 seconds and that worked. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the vinegar. Now I can poached eggs when I want them! Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 01, 2008

I almost fest stupid for not thinking of poaching eggs in the microwave before. I love poached eggs on toast but making them the traditional way can be a pain. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan November 23, 2008

Easy and delicious. It only took 35 seconds in my microwave. Thanks. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) November 14, 2008

5 stars for quick and easy, but it does vary from Microwave to Microwave. Mine took about 90 seconds. You have to experiment. Couldn't taste the vinegar which I was curious about. They did come out a little "watery" I might try this in milk with a little butter next time. All and all - can't beat it in a hurry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma October 21, 2008

I thought poached eggs should have the yolk intact, if you make a hole you will end up with a kind of fried egg or something like that, I like my poached eggs with a whole and suculent yolk. What about you??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ramon September 30, 2008

Thanks for giving a mom an easy way to cook eggs on a time restraint! It really helps to know a different way to do things when I don't have the time to be getting out a pan and making a mess. This was so much easier and I'm just so appreciative! THANK YOU!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ohhmuffin September 15, 2008

If I could I would give this 10 stars, beyond awesome. I've been looking for something like this and finally bam I found it, thank you very, very much. Anyway it came out perfect with a plastic bag over a coffee cup and I had it on toast with butter on it and man was it delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrHwk September 07, 2008

This really deserves 5 stars for simplicity, but I held back because there is just too much fiddling to be done to get the timing right. I wasted a lot of eggs trying to get them done the way I wanted. FYI, 1 minute produces a thoroughly cooked yolk, a la Egg McMuffin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 18, 2008

Well you sure do not need another 5 star rating but I HAVE to put mine in. My DH has recenlty taken a job in Milan, Italy and the apt supplied does not have much of a kitchen. Breakfast has mostly been crossonts (sp) or cold cereal. This really came to the rescue and we BOTH thank you for posting. It was so easy and very good, I do have to work on the timing but think I got it with the second one. We placed on buttered toast, topped with fresh parmasain cheese and hot coffee. What a great and easy recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 12, 2008
Microwave Poached Eggs