Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Poached Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Poached Eggs

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2009

      WOW! Fast, easy, tasty and no mess. That's a five stars. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Yum! I had never made a poached egg before because I didn't know how. This is such a great way to have a quick egg in the morning. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      awesomely easy !! thank you for sharing - i didnt have a small cup/ bowl so i used a drinking glass and it worked out fine and i didnt have plastic wrap so i used a sandwich bag(the kind that you fold not with the zip top) and everything was perfect! I serve breakfast for dinner often(working mom) and this is a nice way to switch it up...thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      this turned out perfect. I used a little less then 1 min around 50 sec. I just moved and this makes an easy fuss free way to make poached eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Well, let me be the 112th person to say it worked :) I did try it twice and found that with my microwave I had to only do 45 seconds but who is going to complain about a recipe taking even less time! It worked great and gave me a totally healthy way to have an egg for breakfast this morning. Something which is usually considered a luxury due to the other cooking methods. Made for PAC Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Loved this one Paula and one minute was perfect in my microwave. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

    • on May 12, 2009

      The first time I made this my egg exploded. LOL. Note to self: Raise time in 10 second increments, not 20. Second time was PERFECT though. I've been trying to make poached eggs the old fashioned way, with no success. Finally a way that even *I* can do! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Very yummy and tender and easy to make. At first, I wasn't sure whether to start out with hot or cold water. I decided to use cold water (even though other online recipes use boiling water) and it turned out to be right. I used a small rice bowl. I didn't have white vinegar so I used basalmic vinegar, and I microwaved for 1 min 40 sec because I have a crappy microwave and I like my egg slightly less runny. It was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Thanks for the great recipe. Using 3oz souffle cups and the vinegar, I did get some water spillage when I added the eggs. I didn't pierce the yolks and the eggs came out perfectly at 1min30secs. Covering them was a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This doesn't need any more rave reviews but it certainly deserves one as it is a great method for poaching eggs! I've always poached my eggs in vinegar so was glad that you included it in the recipe. I did as you suggested and experimented with cooking times. Based on my love of runny yolks and the wattage of my microwave I will cook mine for 47 seconds. Oh yes, and a prick or two with a toothpick did keep it from exploding and did not compromise the yolk in any way. Perfect for a busy morning. Thanks PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      These are great, I can't believe how good they turn out. My only thing is that I will make use I use a slotted spoon to get them out next time to drain them totally. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      What a great way to poach eggs, thank you so much. My husband is the egg poacher in our house and laughs at me when I try to make them. I cooked the egg for 50 seconds and did not add vinegar and put a paper towel over the coffee cup and it came out perfect, we like the yolk to be runny. My husband said the egg came out perfect and was impressed that I made a great poached egg. Now I want to fool around and try to make 2 eggs at a time, that would really blow him away! Thanks again.....Debbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This worked very well for me. I like my eggs well-done, so one minute in the MW was perfect for me. DH likes his runny, so his were cooked in about 40 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This worked perfectly!! I am always wrestling with the old fashioned way trying to get it to come out well and this worked better for me! They actually looked good!! Its fast, no mess and you have breakfast ready without a lot of mess! Can't ask for more in the morning!! Thank you PaulaG for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      yay a quick way to poach eggs! They actually turned out better than any poached eggs i've had cooked in a saucepan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Just tried this today - the egg cooks faster than my toast! This is going to be great for quick breakfast on hectic get out the door to school and work mornings. I'm also going to tell my mom about this who lives in assisted living but has a small microwave in her apartment. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is the ONLY way to make poached eggs! I don't use the vinegar nor the plastic wrap. I only fill a coffee mug 2/3 full and microwave for 55 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Paula - thank you for reminding me just how easy it is to make those poached eggs! Many a poached egg made in my first microwave - not sure why I haven't been making them all this time. Unlike family members I have never managed to get my poached eggs looking all that great on the stove top. With this method I can add them to my weekend breakfasts. So quick and easy - the hardest part of this one was finding my 1/8 measure! Not sure what the vinegar does but I have been using it and getting perfect poached eggs - every time. In my microwave just a touch over 50 seconds makes for a lovely breakfast. The electric egg poacher has been scratched off my wish list. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      If you are in a hurry this is definately the way to go and cleaning up is a breeze. I did the first one for the DM and did 1 minute and then a further 10 seconds for a hard egg for her. I did mine for a minute but will cut this back to 50 seconds as I like it a bit runnier/softer than what it was. I have a 900watt microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Poached Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.6
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 73.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes