Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Poached Egg on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Poached Egg on Toast

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2005

      Such a simple method for a quick meal. I used multigrain bread and found that 45 seconds at 60% power was almost too much time in my microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Worked well. I brought a piece of tast and an egg to work and was able to have a hot breakfast with little fuss and no mess. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      My bread got a little rubbery but not bad. You certainly can't get any faster or easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      Very quick and easy! Convenient for an in a hurry breakfast. I did one minute on high , turned out great just stuck a tiny bit on the bottom. thanks for sharing a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      Excellent!...I used to do my microwave eggs in a bowl, but the washing up is not so fun. This is a brilliant idea. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      This is soooo easy, no pans to clean up afterwards, truly my kind of cooking (that is if my DH would like me get by with it)!!! My microwave is 1100 Watts so 40 seconds at 60% power was just a little to long as the white bubbled. So I just adjusted the time to 30 seconds, worked fine. The kids really thought this was great. One little girl said, "This tastes just like moms egg sandwhiches". Silly kid. I can't wait for "MY" kids to get home from school to fix this for a snzck for them. Thanks for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      My 5 year old son loved this! I like how it melted into the toast, insured him eating both the egg and the toast without the egg sliding off the toast. A few quick swipes with the pizza cutter, all set and ready to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      This is sooo great. I also love egg on toast, but do not want to stand over a pan and watch it. I cooked it at 60% for 1 min 15 sec-perfectly over medium. I can't wait to try this with my 10 yr old DD to make fried egg sandwiches. We will cook a little longer and add mayo to 2nd piece of toast. Thank You for making life a little easier!!! Recipe Girl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      this is a great idea.....thanks for the quick & easy way to prepare breakfast ! patsy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      I poach eggs in the microwave all the time because it is so quick and requires no added fat. I would suggest putting the egg in a bowl with a T or 2 of water, pricking the yolk, and cooking for about 60 seconds or so. Just watch it until it is done, as each microwave is different. Meanwhile toast up the bread in a toaster and butter it up a bit (or not). When the egg is done, drain the water off and put it on top of the toast. You can also put the egg and some mayo in between two slices of bread for a to-go sandwich. Nothing fancy, but it is quick and tastes good enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      The problem with this recipe is that everyone's microwave is different, so its really hard to say whether or not your microwave will be able to cook this properly. Plus, people prefer their eggs so many different ways- I like solid whites, but a runny yolk like the other reviewer, Vina and I didn't find that my microwave would do that. I find, in general, and this is no fault of the recipe, that eggs that have been microwaved have a fairly undesirable gummy/rubbery texture. I guess maybe I'm just a texture snob, but if I'm going to make eggs, I'd rather go the whole way and make them stovetop. I did find, like the other reviewers, that the microwave was also not kind to my toast. It didn't get soggy, but it did get kind of gummy and tough. I'm sure many people love this, I just don't really think its for me and my microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I was craving something with protein and needed it quickly so I tried this. I found that the bread (even with toasting) got really soggy and my egg was always overcooked. That said, I think I may still come back to this if I am in a desperate pinch. Thanks so much for posting it, Trisha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      This was a great little breakfast for me this morning as I was running late. I don't like any runny yolk at all so it took one minute, 20 seconds on 70% power to get my egg just right. I used rye bread for the toast. Thanks for the recipe Trisha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      I loved this! My kids loved it! My only problem was that egg was just a little undercooked for my tastes at 1 minute at 70%. But no worries, it worth figuring it out! Thanks for the recipe Trisha W!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      BRAVO !! This recipe really made my day. I have a whole kitchen full of gadgets, even sold them at a retail store for awhile, but I have never been able to make the Microwave Egg Poacher work correctly. But now I don't have to worry about. Throw away the plastic, and make toast. One minute at 70% power in my 700 Watt oven worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      I have a pretty powerful microwave oven--I think 900W. My turntable quit turning also so I cooked this at med power for 20 seconds at a time and turned it about a quarter. I did that about three or four times and the last time I stopped it before the 20 seconds were up because I could see it bubbling up. You just have to keep a close eye on it. I do like this recipe though! Sprinkle salt and pepper on before cooking. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      I thought this was very good. Fast to make on a busy, easy to follow instructions. My egg came out perfectly cooked using the 70%, but I was also using a very low wattage machine at the time. My toast did turn a bit soggy, however, even though I toasted it first-although it was still enjoyable and I will make this agin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      I tried this out today because it looked quick and seemed like fun (besides the fact I had not eaten breakfast yet). I made it a couple of times- first at 60% power which made the yolk hard, then at 50% power, and the yolk was runny in spots and hard in others. I wll try this again, but will go for it at 40% power. It tastes great, but the timing needs to be fiddled with, as everyone's microwave will cook it slightly different. It is important to keep it rotating (I don't have a turntable) so I turned it after 20 seconds, then every 10 seconds, then about every 5 seconds as it was close to being done. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      I tried this three different times with three different power levels (60, 70, & 80) but did not get good results. I ended up with soggy toast every time and either overcooked rubbery eggs or ones that had uncooked whites (gaaa!). Eggs on toast should have runny yolks to suit my taste and there is no way to get that with this method. I sure wish it had worked, though, as eggs on toast is my very favorite breakfast and this sounded like a no-work way to make them. If anyone has a tip to share on what I did wrong, please email me. I'd love to be able to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      I can hardly wait to show my husband this little trick. He eats an egg every a.m. that he nukes in a little plastic thing designed for the microwave and half the time it is overcooked. The one I just made was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Poached Egg on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    36%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 198.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes