Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Peanut Brittle

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2003

      Outstanding peanut brittle recipe! This will now replace my tried and true recipe that I have used for 40 years. Why?...because it is much faster and since it makes about half as much it is easier to handle by myself when it comes to pouring and spreading quickly before it hardens. I cooked this in a 2-quart size glass batter bowl with a handle and pouring spout and it worked perfectly. I used 1 1/2 cups of peanuts because we like lots of peanuts in our brittle. It took about 13 minutes to cook in a 1000 watt microwave (probably took longer because of adding more nuts). I have found that the secret to very thin brittle is to stir the soda in very quickly and pour the mixture out onto the pan while it is still actively foaming, spread it out and then lift the edges and stretch even thinner. I spray my utensils with non-stick cooking spray, as well as my pan and the spout of my batter bowl so it slides right out. Thanks for a great recipe, Jellyqueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      This is absolutely the best. Talk about easy and fast. Everyone loves it. I can see that using raw peanuts is important. I think roasted peanuts would continue to cook and possibly become overdone. Thanks Jellyqueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      A delicious brittle. So simple and easy. I made this with walnuts, golden corn syrup and butter and had great results. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Thank you for posting this! I lost this recipe ages ago and have missed it greatly! I use butter instead of margarine, and spanish peanuts with skins on. This really is a no fail recipe, and you never even have to use a candy thermometer, yay! People think I'm utterly wonderful when I make this nut brittle LOL! Gosh no, I never tell them how easy it is to make! I'm like that lady in the old Rice Krispy Treat commercial who splashes water and flour on her face so she looks like she was slaving away in the kitchen LOL! note: it's just sugar, don't worry about it sticking to the bowl, just a hot water soak in your sink will dissolve the mess :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I made about 15-20 batches (I lost count!) of sunflower seed brittle this last Christmas, for gifts, and it was a HUGE hit! I got raw sunflower seeds from our local health food store. I found that with my microwave (1200 watts), seven minutes with the perfect timing. I made it in a glass Pampered Chef pitcher/measuring bowl and stirred each batch three times while cooking. When the nuts started to get a little golden, I pulled it out and finished the recipe. I LOVED the flavor, as did everyone else. I also did something a little different...I poured it out onto a (WELL-SPRAYED!) sheet of aluminum foil, placed an equally well-sprayed piece of foil on top, then immediately rolled it out with a heat-proof (metal) rolling pin. It created a very thin, crisp brittle that I could not have gotten if I'd just spread it out with the spoon. Make sure you protect the surface underneath from the heat (I used a large, thick, laminated cutting board). This is the first brittle I've tried that I've absolutely loved, and I have to say that it never would have occurred to me to use sunflower seeds instead of peanuts...but the flavors work EXTREMELY well together. Thanks for posting this, JQ...you rock!!! PS: I gave sandwich size bags of this away to a number of co-workers and others. The boyfriend of a co-worker RAVES about this stuff almost every time I see him. He says he still has some of the bag I gave him...and that he's been rationing it out so it lasts. He wants to know when I'm making some more! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      We made peanut brittle, sunflower seed brittle, and almond brittle for my dad for Father's Day. He's a big fan of (and very picky about) peanut brittle and loved all three. My mom even liked it and she normally doesn't enjoy brittles. The sunflower seed brittle was my favorite. We did burn the first batch - we found that the trick was to remove the brittle from the microwave before it looked done (very pale caramel color), as it seemed to darken and instantly cook as soon as the baking soda was added. Using that method, my husband and I managed to not burn the other 3 batches we made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Very good. I cooked for a total of 9 minutes, stirring every 3. It turned out very dark and almost had a burned smell...but it tasted fine! Next time I may stop at 8 minutes. Also, the leftovers in the bowl quickly hardened to a concrete mess. After a moment of panic, I filled the bowl with water and placed back in the microwave for 2 minutes. Everything dissolved and slid right out. Whew! (Also, I didn't have a 3 qt glass bowl, but a 2 qt worked just fine.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Excellent recipe! Very popular around the office. The only problem I had was with the waxed paper sticking to the brittle, so I switched to the non-stick Reynolds wrap aluminum foil. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This was so easy! I cooked it without the nuts for 8 minutes and then stirred in a heaping cup of dry roasted peanuts. Then I cooked it for another 4 minutes and followed the recipe from there. It worked out fabulously!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2003

      Wow, I too, will pitch the stove top recipe I've been using for 20 plus years. This was so easy and it's very very good. Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. We have a GE Spacemaker Microwave (don't know the watts)and I took previous reviewer's comment and only nuked 8 min. I sprayed my waxed paper with Pam and had no problem breaking it up. Thank you Jellyqueen for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2014

      So simple! This brittle tastes great. Great addition to my holiday trays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      Help!! I have an 1100 watt microwave so didn't think I would have a problem, but with just 2 min left it turned off. Has anyone else had this problem?? I put it on for 11 min and stopped and stirred every 2 min. I was able to get it finished, and it's delicious, but I am wondering how I might remedy this problem. I need to make another batch!! Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2014

      I did it 8 minutes and it burnt then even though I sprayed the wax paper it stuck to the bottom and what a mess in my bowl so throwing it out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      This was my first time making peanut brittle and it was FANTASTIC! I am super impressed by this recipe. It is the best peanut brittle I have ever tasted. I followed the directions completely and plan on making this recipe more often than I should. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Incredibly good and easy! Loved it! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      This was my first attempt at making peanut brittle and thanks to this recipe, it won't be my last. It was easy and the results were fantastic!! Thanks for sharing it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      This was outstanding!! So fast and easy, and DELICIOUS! My boyfriend LOVED it and had a hard time stopping from eating it all in one sitting! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Just like mama used to make! I love this recipe. So quick and easy. I have used both peanuts and almonds. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Made this for Christmas and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Very easy recipe and it taste so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Peanut Brittle

    Serving Size: 1 (541 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.7
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    34%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 288.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 31.4 g
    125%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes