56 Reviews

My recipe is exactly like this one. Also try this variation: Almond Brittle - Instead of peanuts and vanilla, add one (7 oz) jar dry roasted almonds and 1 teaspoon almond extract. Omit butter and add 1 cup (4 oz) shredded coconut with extract. I have also used pecans or cashews! Excellent!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W January 17, 2002

This is the same recipe I have - I must make 15 batches and give as hostess or gift toppers. It is the best.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn December 25, 2001

I made over 30 batches of this for the holidays, Everyone loved it I also made it with the almonds it was excellent as well. The comments I recieved were about the flavor and how easy it was to chew. I used the planters salted peanuts for the best results. I am looking for a good method to clean the glass pyrex measuring cup after each batch? Thank you, Big Eater

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Eater January 27, 2002

This will seem like an odd review, bear with me. I don't like peanut brittle but my parents do and this was made for them. It's very easy to make and not at all time consuming. I didn't taste this so until I hear how the folks liked it, the five stars are for ease of making. BTW, if you spray your measuring cup with cooking spray before you measure the syrup, it will clean up very easily. Thanks. Upadate: my folks said this peanut brittle was excellent. I will be making it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully December 28, 2011

Love this! I have an 1100w microwave and adjusted the times to: 3min, 2:15, 1:30. It was perfect! For one batch, I subbed coconut oil for butter to make it dairy-free. I'd love to experiment with sugar and/or corn syrup substitutes, too (real food only, like honey; nothing artificial). I spread my hot brittle on a Silpat to cool. I wanted to make peanut brittle with my kids but after melting through a plastic bowl the first time and realizing how stinking hot it was, I ended up making the brittle myself (in glass) and letting the kids crack it when it was cool.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner February 15, 2014

Whoa! This is lightning fast and so good! Lucky for me, this recipe does well halved or quartered (just reduce cooking times) because I've made it twice now and can't stop munching on it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP November 02, 2002

The cooking times are the key here. The best way I've found is to know your microwave's wattage and adjust the times accordingly, rather than the power level. Most microwaves only have one output level: full blast. They vary the "power level" by simply cycling on/off (you can hear it during reduced-power cooking). This isn't ideal. My microwave is on the low end of the range specified, so I changed the times to 3:48, 2:50, and 1:45. Got a bit lucky with the math, because it came out spot-on perfectly. Wow.

Totally agree with the review that warned against letting children anywhere near this recipe. It's fraught with danger, as is any hard candy.

I used a heavy nonstick cookie sheet for cooling the brittle. I buttered it lightly then salted it moderately prior to pouring the brittle mixture onto it. If you eat the brittle smooth side-down, the salt is then the first thing the tongue tastes and is immediately followed by the sweetness of the candy. Really nice!

Great, easy recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chadley25 January 20, 2011

I had this recipe from a friend & have made it for years. It is the BEST peanut brittle out there, way better than store bought! I use dark corn syrup to give it a richer taste & raw peanuts from the produce section. I use salted butter in the brittle & I also put the salted butter on a cookie sheet rather than foil, go green :) I have a high powered microwave, so only do it for 2 min & 45 sec on each round and I add the vanilla after the last round. Everyone keeps asking me for the recipe! Thanks for posting it Joyce! A great Christmas tradition :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha Ann December 22, 2009

Ten minutes door to door! Just like it said! Stole "I have an 1100w microwave and adjusted the times to: 3min, 2:15, 1:30" from Danny's Diner review and voilà! Might try a little longer on the peanut phase to achieve a little darker color, but 10 minutes are you kidding me?!?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darren M. December 24, 2014

I have make this a number of times and it's always delicious! People can't believe that it was made in the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auntiepatch January 27, 2014
Microwave Peanut Brittle