Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Nut Brittle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Nut Brittle

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2007

      I gave this as corporate gifts for Christmas and made 20 batches (plus about 5 more for the failed batches) that delivered enough to make 40 cute little Christmas jars of brittle. The recipe is a quick and easy one and that's why I chose it. For the nuts, I used pecans, honey roasted and regular peanuts and decided in the end that it is much better to use the food processor to chop up the nuts if you want to end up with a thinner brittle (because thinner is easier to bite and chew). Otherwise the brittle will be as thick as your nut. The type of nut honestly didn't make much of a difference. Here the less expensive nut is fine. About 1/4 of my batches ended up tasting a little burnt and after a few bites that little burnt taste seems to get stronger and stronger so I had to throw them out and make more. Seriously, watch that time and brittle color because at least in my microwave 20 seconds makes the difference between perfect and burnt. Pale yellow is a very very slight change in color so it is best to use a clear bowl when you microwave. Medium yellow results in that bitter or burnt taste. Once, I thought I would eliminate a step or two and added the vanilla and the nuts at the beginning. Don't do that. Because the vanilla colors the syrup, you can't get an accurate feel for whether it is done and the nuts burned big time. It is annoying to try and remove sticky brittle from my only clear bowl while the smoke alarm is going off:-) Also, make sure your bowl is cooled before starting a new batch. A hot bowl seems to cut the time needed to cook and it is important to be precise here, so I just took a few extra minutes to make sure my bowl was cool. I did get creative and try other extracts including maple and almond. In the end, plain old vanilla was the best and maple made the brittle too dark. I developed two techniques for saving time: First, I used a used dry breakfast cereal bag as a lining for my baking pan. I sprayed the bag with nonstick and poured the brittle on the bag. Then I placed another used cereal bag on top...did not spray that one though and using a metal meat mallot I smoothed out the hot brittle through the cereal bag getting it as thin as I wanted. My mallot stayed clean and so did my pan. While smoothing out the brittle, I ran hot water into my microwave bowl and by the time I was done smoothing out the brittle and getting that batch to cool, I was ready to wash out the bowl and dry well and start over. During the drying of the bowl it usually cooled enough to start over again. I used two baking pans so I could have two batches going at one time. It took about 3 1/2 hours to make 25 batches and break them up. I noted that with the batch that I kept for myself, after two days the brittle seemed to stick together and it started tasting stale. This was quick and easy and did make a pretty homemade gift, but it should be eaten fairly quickly so that it tastes fresh. Thanks for submitting and for anyone reading this crazy-long review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      this is just too easy and delicious. i've made micro peanut brittle before, but this time i used raw cashews, pecans, and almonds. i added a pinch of kosher salt. and this was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Quick, easy and oh so tasty! I make mine with cashews. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      This is a great recipe! I don't have an oven, but I do have a microwave. This was so tasty! I never thought that candy could be made in the microwave and taste this good! Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Fantastic and so easy! I made several batches so I could package them as gifts for neighbors during the holidays. I made some with the roasted peanuts and some with cashews. All of the batches turned out perfect every time. The only changes I made were in terms of timing. For the first microwaving time, I reduced it to 4 1/2 minutes instead of 7 or 8 min. For the second microwaving, I stuck 1 minute. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      OOPS! This recipe has the same ingredients as #47935 except with proper instructions. I rated the wrong one...this recipe is better. (The other one has you spray waxed paper with Pam which is a BAD idea.) Just wanted to adjust my notes to the proper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      The first time I tried this my sugar was black and smoking after 5 minutes! I knew my microwave was strong, but who knew? I am glad I tried it again though. It took about 3.5 minutes for it to get to the pale yellow color. It turned out wonderfully. I love brittle but am always intimidated to make sugar candy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Simply delicious and simple to make!! I have never made candy this easy before!! This is a GREAT recipe and a great time saver!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      attempt 1: burnt sugar after putting it for 5 mins in my 9oo watts micro (luckily i burnt is before step 4 so no nut wastage.) attempt 2: step 3 i put it in for 2 and a half mins as i was really anxious about burning it again. I then put it for a futher 45 secs for step 5. The result was a really nice candy, although i'm not sure it is brittle because it's reasonably chewy - but i love it like this, i think it's nicer then really hard nut brittle i've had fr om health shops. I used a mixture of almonds cashews and pistachios and the multicolouredness look nice and nothing like the picture above. I used golden syrup,but realized after starting to make it, I'd run out of vanilla! AND i can't believe I forgot the baking soda! Despite my stupidity, attempt 2 turned out WONDERFULLY, tastes REALLY good. Next time I'll try adding baking soda - I wonder... what does it do anyway?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      This was a great recipe for my first attempt at brittle. My microwave is 1200 watts so the first stage was ready at 5 minutes (perhaps 4-1/2; will have to check that next time) and the second stage only took 45-60 sec. LOL, when the instructions said "until foamy" I had no idea that meant there would be a chemical reaction ~ boy were dh and I surprised! :oP And when it says to spread the mixture quickly, it's not kidding! I got roughly a 9x13 sheet of brittle. I used cashews and sea salt and have to say that although I've never been a big fan of peanut brittle before, this recipe has won me over. Not only is it simple enough that a beginning candy maker was able to make it work, it has a buttery richness that I've not tasted in other recipes. Simple *and* tasty, what a great combination ~ thanks so much for posting, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      I had tried another microwave peanut brittle recipe and it failed miserably. I had to guess how long to cook it because my microwave wattage was different than what the recipe called for. When I found this recipe and saw it told what the mixture would look like when it was ready, I decided to try again. It turned out beautifully!!! That additional information was so helpful. I gave the brittle as gifts and took it to a party where it was extremely popular. Several of the older people commented on how they love peanut brittle but usually they can't eat it because it is too hard for them to chew. This is crisp but not rock hard and very enjoyable. I'll be making it again really soon. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Nut Brittle

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.0
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    47%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 279.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes